We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never open”

Channel Islands Maritime Museum
Ranked #6 of 39 things to do in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum’s collection is a treasure trove of maritime paintings, ship models, and artifacts that rival some of the finest European and U.S. collections. Sumptuous seascape paintings by 17th century Dutch masters, 18th and 19th century English Romantics, French Impressionist painter Boudin, and unparalleled contemporary maritime painters complement the finest museum-quality ship models on the West Coast, including the Marple Models: nine exquisite, highly detailed scratch-built warships; and intricate “bone models” carved by French soldiers held captive during the early 19th century Napoleonic wars. The Upper Deck hosts interactive contemporary exhibits, featured temporary exhibitions, art receptions, and engaging Third Thursday lectures. Museum windows look out over the Channel Islands Harbor’s passing sailboats and gorgeous views. The Channel Islands National Park sits just offshore, and the sea lions on the dock out front add tremendous character to the traffic stream. Visitors are invited to view the art on their own or take advantage of the museum’s knowledgeable, free guides. If your idea of a maritime museum is limited to rusty anchors and old salty sea dogs, come and discover a vibrant cultural venue in the Channel Islands Harbor that celebrated local maritime achievements through contemporary interactive exhibits and displays outstanding examples of centuries of fine art from around the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
oxnard
Level Contributor
224 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“never open”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Never open can't ever get in. the sign says the hours and they are not their. There is nothing else to do in the area everything is closed. it is a goast town.

Helpful?
Thank steve and lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene H, Manager at Channel Islands Maritime Museum, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
The Ventura County Maritime Museum, dba Channel Islands Maritime Museum is open every day but Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and New Year's Day, from 11 to 5. The problem is probably that our old location in Fisherman's Wharf is in Trip Advisor. On June 23, 2012 We moved to 3900 Bluefin Circle, off So.Harbor Blvd on the West side of the Harbor. We are trying to find and correct all listings and working with public agencies to improve signage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
1 review
“Horrible experience !!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I went in June 2012 to this museum and they wanted $5.00 each and second floor was not open due to construction, we primarily wanted use bathrooms that
were not working and they wanted our $10.00 but NO working bathrooms !!!!
we were told if we needed to use bathroom to go next door at Whales Tail,

Stay Away from this museum !!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene H, Manager at Channel Islands Maritime Museum, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
The visitor primarily wanted to use the bathrooms and criticized the Museum on those grounds alone, This is absolutely not a review of the Museum, its art or its ship models.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recently re-located, few hours open”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We went to the location the signage indicated and found it had re-located. We went to the new location and found it opened at 11. We had a tight schedule so gave it a miss.
Signage/publicity need to improve!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene H, Manager at Channel Islands Maritime Museum, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Our hours are substantially the same as all other museums in the County. Since the person did not visit the Museum, people should look at the reviews by those people who actually visited the Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Ran into it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We visited this place by chance, just ran into it and totally enjoyed our visit there, all the information was so amazing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank HotLatinBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Charming place filled with paintings and models. Staff was friendly and led individual tours explaining history of the artifacts. This place is a gem, you will be delighted.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tkbc130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Channel Islands Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Channel Islands Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing