We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Americas Best Value I've ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Oroville
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Americas Best Value I've ever stayed at”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Just finishing up a stay here for work we were doing in Gridley.
When I first saw we were staying at an Americas Best Value, I was a little concerned. I've stayed at a couple back in Texas, and they were terrible. This one was a pleasant surprise.

Rooms are slightly dated, but big enough that my "roomie" and I weren't encroaching on each others space. We had a tiny cube refrigerator in our room when we first checked in, but the staff were more than willing to bring in a larger one on Monday. Room came with a microwave, so I could heat up all my frozen stuff.

Beds were comfortable enough. We were on the back bank of rooms, so we never heard any road noise.

As other reviewers have said, the towels here are thin, but I managed to dry off, so no biggie.

Breakfast was cereal and sweet rolls, with orange juice, milk and coffee. Nothing fancy, but it did the job.

Wireless internet seemed pretty slow, so I plugged an ethernet cable into the port in the wall and all was well.

Laundry room has two washers and two dryers, and you can get all the change you need from Kiran and staff at the office.

Overall, since they changed out the fridge, I've got no complaints. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffari-al-texani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvioroville, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
15
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Just remodeled...very pretty and clean and comfortable and a great value. Can't beat this place for the price...$59 for the three of us. Great location and they even have a BBQ area. And while you're in Oroville, check out the Chinese Temple. $3 admission, which includes a short guided tour. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akullberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvioroville, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
We appreciate your business and want to insure that your stay is comfortable we hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We were in town for the W.E. Rock event at Surplus City. We called twice to let them know we were arriving later than expected. It was never a problem with them. The room was large, spotless & the bed very comfortable. Restaurants, coffee & WalMart near hotel. Continental breakfast was pretty standard as with most hotels. Will definitely stay there next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGMomFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvioroville, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments we pride ourselves in providing you with clean, comfortable lodging accomodations and want to be sure that your stay is a memorable one. We look forward to your return here at Americas Best Value Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I travel a lot and stay in a wide range of hotels. I repeatedly choose this hotel because it has the most comfortable bed and pillows as well as a clean, comfortable room. The next night of my weekend trip, I stayed in a hotel that cost more than twice as much. It had the same room features only a little newer and the bathroom was bigger. Unfortuneatly, the bed wasn't nearly as comfortable and the pillows were terrible. I barely slept. Cleanliness and a good night's sleep are my two most important requisites for a hotel room. This place has the added bonus of a friendly, helpful staff. I will stay here every time I'm in this area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandoratoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Traveling with kids and a dog can be challenging, but the front desk here really worked to help us. This is an older motel that's had some updating. The room was very clean and quite spacious, and extremely quiet even though the motel is right on the "main drag." The weather was very hot but the room air conditioning was very good. The included breakfast was rather sparse, but restaurants (and donuts!) are very close. The kids were disappointed that there was no pool, but we got in so late and left so early that they couldn't have used it anyway. My only complaint would be that the towels were even thinner & rougher than those in high school P.E. class. This is not a Resort Destination motel, but very good for the weary thru-traveler.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights for a competition that we were attending. Although it was OK for a place to crash, the staff were nice and helpful, we probably could have found something better for the amount paid. We were woken up at around 2 a.m. every morning with early morning arrivals. The parking lot is right outside your door, and the walls are thin, so you can hear everything. The first thing we noticed when we got into our room is the odor of stale food. We did not make a big deal about it, because as I said, it was just a place to crash.

  • Liked — the staff was nice and helpful
  • Disliked — thin walls, stale food odor
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank garnetbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2007

I'm an entertainer who travels constantly. Knowing that I had an upcoming gig in Oroville, I decided to check out the motel where the Casino puts us up. The America's Best Value Inn lived up to it's attractive web site. The property has some miles on it, but it's kept up well. The furniture is all new and in good shape. The rooms are large, with vaulted ceilings. There is free wired (very) high speed internet available in the rooms. I don't know if they provide an ethernet cable; I always carry one. The AC/heat and plumbing works well. Satellite TV with 3 channels of HBO.
My only quibble is that the walls are kind of thin. I heard TV and conversation from the room next door. The fan doesn't run constantly, so that could be a problem. Noise from outdoors is minimal (the property sits back from a busy street). The location is convenient to just about anything you'd want. There is a free breakfast (didn't try it) and a small laundry room.
There are cheaper places to stay in Oroville (although I got a good deal on the net) but I doubt you'll find a better value.

  • Liked — Too much to specify
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Roaddog702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Oroville
Super 8 Oroville
#4 of 11 in Oroville
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest
3.3 mi away
Gold Country Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lodge at Feather Falls Casino
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Oroville
Days Inn Oroville
#8 of 11 in Oroville
100 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 580 Oro Dam Blvd E, Oroville, CA 95965-5717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oroville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Oroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located and close to the freeway. We offer Clean, Comfortable and Spacious Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing