We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay in Oroville!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Oroville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 1, 2010

My son and I were visiting my family for the weekend. I was so impressed with the service I received when I made my reservation over the phone. When we arrived we were able to get into our room immediately, although check in wasn’t until 3:00. The room was spotless and the beds were so comfortable. My son and I both agreed that whenever we come back to visit our family in Oroville, we are staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARMYmom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 83 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed for two nights for a family reunion. The facility is nice and the folks working here were very friendly and helpful. The staff helped us use their breakfast room for the family reunion and it worked out very well. However, staff at a nice hotel such as this should be trained and ready with accurate local information. We were informed that the nicest local restuarant was open Sunday night; it was not. We asked how to get back onto the nearby highway since the entrance ramp nearest the hotel was closed; the desk clerk had no idea and no real interest in finding out. Did they never drive around their own neighborhood? Wouldn't the manager want to inform their front desk with updated directions on how to get to and from the hotel due to nearby major ramp construction? It's not that the staff was unfriendly, but just not informed and not really interested in the type of info that most hotels have at their fingertips.
Overall, it was a nice place to stay with comfortable beds, clean rooms, and generally worth the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This place discrimanated against me the minute I walked in. told me that no rooms were available . But when i called from the parking lot 3 minutes later, they told me that they had just the room I was looking for . Sorry I did not look like one of the beautiful people.
Stayed at the Feather River Casino and Resort where they treated me and my spouse like a king and queen. The night before we stayed in Grass Valley at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites and were treated very respectfully there. Getting back t o the Oroville one, I dont know what these employees or one specific employee had against us . But ill never go near there again. Bikers Beware!!!!!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank lenardPleasantonCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I travel a lot for work, typically staying 4-5 nights at the same hotel. As a female traveller, I have come to rely on Holiday Inn Express as a brand that I can trust for safety, predictability, and a sense of being at a home away from home. From the moment I walked into this hotel for a recent 4 night stay, the message I received was that my needs were secondary. Unlike most HIEs, where someone is always stationed at the front desk, finding someone at the front desk here was an exception to the norm. The absent front desk person became symbolic of many other failings: Bathroom amenities (shampoo/soap/lotion) were not refilled the last day of my stay (which I realized after I'd packed up all of my own bath products), the condiments for the coffee maker - including cups - were not replenished on two occasions, there were no "extras" like one typically finds at HIE - no lemonade (thank you, Willows), no coffee (while I wasn't there during the day, at night the breakfast room was locked & I got the impression that happens as soon as breakfast ends) (Woodland, Willows have access to coffee ALL day/night), no free drinks (thinking fondly of Nevada City) and the ONLY time I saw cookies was at breakfast (just what I need at 7am!). If you are health conscious, the only fruit available at breakfast = bananans. When I originally checked in, I had to argue with the front desk person about my status as a new platinum elite member (he insisted I was still registered "gold" and while he said he'd upgrade me, I got a noisy room facing the freeway of the same variety I registered for). I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel. While it is true that it's new and the rooms reflect the "newness" (though upon entry mine had a funky smell - again, atypical of most HIEs), I'll take less new for conscientious, thoughtful, friendly service - the kind of service that makes me feel safe and valued. On the rare occasion that I encountered staff - at breakfast, in the hallway - no one ever smiled at me and said "hello" here. The last straw came at check-out when I was told (after, of course, having to ring the bell to summon an attendant) that I couldn't check out because the machine was down (and, as it turned out, not expected to be fixed until the following daty). No suggestions were made re: how to accomodate this problem and no apologies were offered. Instead, when I pointed out that I'd be leaving either way, I was more or less scowled at and asked if I reserved online at Expedia (somewhat insulting). This is the first time I've called customer service over a problem at any hotel, and based on all of my travel, I suppose I should feel lucky that it hasn't happened before. I will say that despite my fondness for every HIE I've frequented before, I won't stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hildagarde2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Excellent place! The room was very nice, having one on the 3rd floor with a lovely view of the region. The service was very courteous and the whole facility was very clean. The only downfall I realized was the location, it's placed infront of another motel, and the backside of the hotel shares a parking lot with the motel behind it. Otherwise, A- overall for everything!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearearchitects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

This place will impress you. Luxurious all the way around. Flat screen tv's, plush beds with extra pillows, modern decor that is warm and inviting. I loved this place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idreadnought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Our room was beautiful and comfortable! We stayed for 3 nights. The staff was helpful, the entire hotel was kept very clean. We used the fitness center and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast every morning. We had a peaceful and quiet stay. The microwave and refrigerator were a plus. Would definitely stay there again and recommend the Holiday Inn Express in Oroville to family and friends. It is the nicest place to stay in Oroville!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norcal213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
3.6 mi away
The Lodge at Feather Falls Casino
3.4 mi away
Gold Country Casino & Hotel
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Oroville
Super 8 Oroville
#6 of 11 in Oroville
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Oroville
Days Inn Oroville
#7 of 11 in Oroville
103 reviews
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
22.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest

Address: 550 Oro Dam Blvd E, Oroville, CA 95965-5717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oroville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oroville
#3 Business Hotel in Oroville
Price Range: $141 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service offered at southwest Oroville, CA hotel. Conveniently located off highway 70, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Oroville, California is a short drive from the nation's largest dam, the Oroville Dam and only 2.9 miles from Oroville Municipal Airport (OVE). Families can enjoy a variety of outdoor activities such as fishing, swimming, boating and hiking at Oroville Lake, only 4.5 miles from our hotel. Oroville, CA is home to the Salmon Festival and the Gold Rush Car Show, as well as Feather Falls or Gold Country casinos, where you can try your luck. You'll find several shopping, golfing, dining and wine tasting opportunities within a short drive of our Oroville hotel. Business travelers will find local companies, such as Xtreme Builders, Sierra Pacific Packaging and Grey Fox Vineyards are easy to reach. Business travelers looking for lodging in Oroville, CA can benefit from our 400-sq ft meeting room, 24-hour business center and the free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. We take care of your needs with our excellent service and amenities. The friendly and knowledgeable staff at our Oroville, California hotel invite you to relax in the heated, indoor pool and whirlpool. You'll sleep well on a triple-sheeted bed and start your day off right with a complimentary hot breakfast. Stay Smart at our choice Oroville hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Oroville Southwest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing