We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“organic, hospitable, quiet”
Review of Sandy Bar Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Bar Ranch
Madras, OR
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“organic, hospitable, quiet”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Find this place if you are in Orleans! Not much else in Orleans, except for nature. Comfy, very well equipped cabins. The cabins get hot by day, but cool down for easy sleeping at night. I loved being able to purchase the organic garden produce and other local treats (sausage, frozen meals for 4-6 people). Some decent bicycle riding around if you really like steep hills.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We just returned from our 2nd annual trip and we are already looking forward to next year, but we plan on staying for two weeks next time.
The setting is very relaxing and is a great escape from living in San Francisco.
The cabins have everything we need to be comfortable during our stay, without being too fancy and elaborate. The river is perfect for our family and the water is cool and refreshing.
Lots of hiking, cyling, and exploring for hours and hours with stops off at the market for ice cream. The fresh fruit, veggies, and black berries make dinner and snack easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElyRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have been coming here every summer since our first child was born in 1997. We know no better place to completely relax and recharge in a beautiful, peaceful environment.

Built from old-growth redwoods in the 1930s, the cabins are simple, clean, and well-maintained. The best feature is the covered back porch where you can spend hours listening to the river and the rustling of oak leaves.

There are usually fresh produce, eggs and goat cheese for sale, all grown and raised on the property. The kids love exploring the extensive garden with its fruit trees, berries, veggies and flowers. They have also enjoyed helping collect eggs and milk the goats.

There are lots of trails and swimming spots in the area, but we spend most of our days on the sandy little beach just below the cabins, sunning, swimming, catching toads, and watching the occasional bald eagles, ospreys, river otters and salmon.

We also like to pick blackberries, watch for shooting stars, and chat with the owners and other guests. Oh, and dogs are welcome. It's pretty close to my idea of heaven.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Beat_of_New_Wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Located deep in rural Humboldt County, Sandy Bar Ranch is a little gem for those who can look past the funky accommodations and appreciate it's considerable charms. The pace of life in this part of the world is slower, and the service, while warm and hospitable, will likely frustrate visitors who arrive with tight schedules and other city expectations. I heard it described as a "dude ranch for hippies," and, while we definitely are not hippies, it's an apt description.

The Ranch has several one-bedroom rustic cabins, which can sleep up to four people (2 in the double bed and 2 on daybeds in the main living area) and a bathroom with a shower (no tub). The cabins are decorated in what I'd call "thrift store chic." They are generally clean and well-equipped, with a stove, fridge, sink, pantry and the bare essentials of cooking equipment. If you are a gourmet cook, you'll want to bring your own knives and any special pots and pans. There is a picnic-style dining table with room for four and a couple extra chairs, but the living area is not well suited to lounging for long.

Each cabin has a nice deck facing the Klamath River, which you can catch a glimpse of through the trees. You can hear the river as you sit on the deck, or from your bed. Very pleasant. There is a short trail down to the river's edge, which is where the kids spent untold hours "fishing" and building rock structures in the edge of the water.

This being the edge of the wilderness, there are critters. The cabins had ants and bees buzzing about and the occasional mouse (the owners were happy to set a trap). One night, a bear wandered nearby, attracted by our food waste (which was locked up, but still interesting to the bear). The four working dogs on the ranch treed the bear, but it was a couple hours of ruckus and lost sleep, while they dealt with the unwelcome visitor.

The ranch itself is a busy place, with huge organic gardens, goats, chickens, and straw bale houses under construction. Staff at the ranch offer massage therapy, African Dance classes, homemade soap, wreaths, and every other sort of craft to make ends meet in this remote locale. My nine-year-old daughter loved helping to milk the goats in the morning, and harvest the peas in the afternoon.

The river when we were there in early June was high and fast. Too fast and cold for swimming, but rafting was great fun! The local raft guides ("Pirate" and "Animal") were truly colorful characters.

Our group was there for a family reunion, and we took over the whole place. Since none of the cabins was large enough for the 12 of us, we set out a couple of picnic tables in the middle of the "lawn" and ate al fresco every evening. We brought our own Weber grill and charcoal, as the Ranch had only little hibachis.

You do need to pack in everything that you might need or want. The nearest market is several miles away and quite limited (plenty of alcohol, though...). The nearest ATM is 35 miles away, at the casino run by the local tribe. We did manage to get a tour of a couple local almost-hidden wineries that were quite good. And there is some hiking in the area, although the trails are often steep in the beginning. A good day trip was driving to Redwood National Park and seeing fields of blooming lupine along the way!

There are no phones or TVs in the cabins. Cell service was spotty at best, but Wi-Fi was available near the office, and we often would sit out on the lawn to check email as needed throughout the week.

All in all, I'd recommend this place, if you come with the right expectations and enjoy a laid-back, rustic, earthy experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BldrJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandy Bar Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Bar Ranch

Property: Sandy Bar Ranch
Address: 797 Ishi Pishi Rd., Orleans, CA 95556
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing