We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover Place For Lunch”

Farwood Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Orland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Stopover Place For Lunch”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Like other reviewers, Orland seemed like a good place to stop for lunch. What a surprise to find this place. The perfect spot for a small salad and soup or burger for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    63
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

For many folks traveling I-5, Orland is just another little Northern California town. The road is long and tiring and from time to time one needs an oasis. We needed a lunch stop and found our oasis in Orland: the Farwood Bar & Grill.

Like many I-5 towns, Orland is a little "worn" so we didn't expect much from its eating establishments. We were happy to have had our expectations turn out wrong. The Farwood was comfortable and hospitable. The employees were friendly and efficient. And the salads we ordered were excellent!

When we take our trip home, we will make another stop at the Farwood!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YayoNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great place in a little town.”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Met up with family traveling along I-5 and a friend recommended we connect up at Farwoods for lunch. It's an old bar that has been renovated into a very nice bar and restaurant. Our waitress was very friendly and seemed to know everybody by name. It's a good sign when the lunch crowd is a lot of locals and they all seem to come for the food.
There's a menu with great options like hamburgers, salads, sandwichs all from basic to elaborate. There is also a buffet that has one main option that is different each day and it's all you can eat. My Aunt and Uncle who are over 55 ate for $5.00. You can't beat that!
The chicken salad sandwich on a crossiont was excellent, coming with a very large salad that was not just iceburg lettuce, rather good greens, tomatoes, onions, and more. The tomato bisque soup was wonderful and the beef stew was hearty and thick with LOTS of meat!
Great little place to stop if you are traveling through Orland or along Highway 5!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ccinchico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another delighful Orland Eatery”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Farwood bar and Grill was an old haunt of mine 20 years ago..when it was a Bar. The total renovation has provided a warm and "historical atmosphere".
The food is generous and well prepared.
Since i used to grow vegetables in the area, I am pleased to see the use of LOCAL produce

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckBartok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor City, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best in Orland”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Best eatery in Orland. Good menu selection. We had dinner and the restaurant also catered my high school reunion. Prime rib was excellent.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JDP626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Farwood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing