We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice cabin”
Review of Elk Meadow Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Meadow Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice cabin”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We loved this cabin, wich had everything we needed. Fully equipped, with wahing machine, dryer, dishwasher. Very clean. And the owners are very helpful. We had problems watching the TV, and Donna came herself in the evening, a few minutes after we called her, to help us ! The place is really nice, we had elks just near the cabin !

Just one thing : you've better buy your own food, because there are very few restaurants in Orick, and you have to drive minimum half an hour if you want another place to eat !

We loved the Redwood national and state parks. We visited the Tall Trees Grove (a code is required, you get it at the visitor center in Orick), and the Fern Canyon. There are lots of nice trails.

We definitely recommend this place, a great one to stay at !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SwissChipmunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is by far the best lodging option between Crescent City and Trinidad. I did not see anything else comparable. We stayed in the Gold Rush Cabin. It was nicely appointed. All six cabins have identical layouts and amenities. From the outside I would pick The Bear's Den, it had the cutiest exterier but I am sure they are all nice inside. My only complaint was that the Refrigator was not as clean as I think it should have been. In fact I had to clean it before I would put our food in it, other than that the cabin was very clean. It was great to have a washer/dryer after traveling for 10 days and it was nice to have room for everyone to spread out. There is really not many dining options in the general area at all, so definately bring your own groceries and make sure you stop in Crescent City if coming from the North since that is the last option for a large grocery store, we stopped in for a few forgotten items in what was called the Orick Market and they were extremely limited and their prices were really expensive.

The Cabins are located in such a perfect location for visiting Redwoods National and State Parks. The road to Fern Canyon is literally the next street over and Lady Bird Johnson and Tall Trees is just down the road as is the Newton B Drury Parkway.

Also we were visited by Elk twice during our 4 day stay and that was an awesome site. They were literally right outside our cabin in our yard! They also have a shared hottub and an assortment of lawn games to borrow, there is also a nice firepit stocked with firewood, lighter fluid, matches etc.

If you are heading to the North Coast Redwoods this is the place to stay, you won't be disappointed. The people who run the cabins are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A group of us rented five of the houses and everyone I've talked to had liked their cabin and had a great time. The owners have included just about everything you'd need. If I come back (and I'd like to) I'd bring a couple extra pots/pans, a colander, and some spices. But, all in all, they provide just about everything you'd need in a kitchen, including coffee and tea.

The walls were a little thin, so I could hear people talking in the living room while I was in bed, but it was easy to ignore. And the internet connection didn't work too well. I was there for almost two days before I could access it and it frequently was very slow when I did have it. Outside of that, I can't think of anything that wasn't perfect.

Also had a great time watching the elk in the meadow across from the cabins. They're not there all of the time, but when they are there, they are very comfortable being around humans as long as people don't approach them too closely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaimexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed at the Redwood Vacation Village in July for 3 nights. The cottages are really comfortable, well equipped, and clean. Our cottage had 2 queen beds, 2 singles and 2 bathrooms. On our first morning we were thrilled to see a herd of elk in the meadow beyond the back of the cottage, only to be even more thrilled when they wandered right past our little deck out the back of the cottage! We kept expecting them to return other mornings but didn't see them again. We felt very lucky. The owners of the cottages are friendly and helpful and even have a box outside filled with balls etc for kids to play with. Our boys really enjoyed kicking a ball around with their children on the large grassy area outside the cottages.
Just be sure to pick up groceries before Orick as there is only a small shop in Orick. We used the cottage as a base to travel up to Klamath and Jedidiah Smith SP and then to drive south to Trinidad and Patricks Point. Only just down the road is beautiful Fern Canyon and the Miners Ridge trail.
We sould definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Our cabin at Elk Meadow was beautifully situated for our family gathering. The large rooms, deck, kitchen, dining and living area gave us lots of room for comfortably relaxing after the day's hiking, horse back riding, or whatever. Anything we needed, we found in the cabin. Very much enjoyed the campfire area, stocked with wood, and the hot tub. It was great to have such comfortable accommodations located so close the forest trails and remote beaches.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seawolfe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is a very nice place to stay if you want to explore the northern California coast and the redwoods. We stayed two nights in the Lady Bird Loft. The pictures you see on the website are very accurate. They did a great job when they renovated the houses and they are well maintained. Everything was spotless! The kitchen was well stocked with necessay cooking untensils. Grant was a wealth of information. We told him some of the things that we wanted to see and do while in the area and he gave us tips on which trails to hike and places to visit. His suggestions were right on target for our group.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I stayed there with my family from August 18th through September 17th 2008. We loved our extended vacation there. We are from Florida so the many different animals were AMAZING! I don't remember the exact name of the cabin we stayed in but it was the very last one with the wheel chair ramp. The Elk were AWESOME! I had never seen one let alone a whole herd. The Bull would walk up to the picture window in front and stare at us. We will be going back to stay for another month at the end of 2010. The owners were Extremely nice! The house keeper was VERY trust worthy! I will never stay any other place while we are in that area. My daughter was 3 when we visited and there was no shortage of things to do. I would recommend to anyone that is in Northern California or heading that way. I took so many pictures of our vacation. It was an extremely comfortable stay there, WELL WORTH THE MONEY! The whole trip in one word was Amazing!

The Blanes Family

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBlanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orick
14.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
15.3 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
197 reviews
18.3 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Historic Requa Inn
Historic Requa Inn
#1 of 1 in Klamath
404 reviews
24.9 mi away
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
15.3 mi away
The Lost Whale Inn
The Lost Whale Inn
#1 of 5 in Trinidad
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Meadow Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Meadow Cabins

Property: Elk Meadow Cabins
Address: 7 Valley Green Camp Rd, Orick, CA 95555 (Formerly Redwood Adventures Vacation Village)
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Orick
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Orick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overnight, for a week or for a month, you'€™ll find all the comforts of home in these recently renovated beautiful 1200 sq.ft. 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, fully furnished vacation rental homes with everything you need (internet, phone, TV, games€) for your visit to the Ancient Coast Redwoods and majestic Roosevelt Elk of Redwood National and State Parks, bordered by Prairie Creek and Elk Meadow, with regular visits by herds of Roosevelt elk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redwood Adventures Vacation Village Hotel Orick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing