We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic drive not to be missed”

Newton B Drury Parkway
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Orick
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Scenic drive not to be missed”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Beautiful scenic drive and must see when visiting the Redwoods. Also, be sure not to miss Cal-Barrel Rd. - it is an unpaved road that winds it's way deeper into the grove.

We drove through the parkway and stopped along the way for pictures and shorts walks. Traffic was light the first week of October so we had no problems pulling off to the side when we wanted.

There are a number of trails in this area but we were unable to take full advantage based on time constraints. We would do so in another visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mini6322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
471 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Best Drive Among the Ancient Redwoods”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This "Scenic Bypass" is a must, especially for RV and Campers as it is on a relatively smooth road with no steep grades like Hwy 101. It's the most scenic, serene, close-up, easy 10 mile drive to see and smell the trees, moss & ferns with plenty of pull-out space, even for large a RV/toad. Kids really love it & the visions that will be etched in your memory are priceless.

It's easy to take a short walk and soak in the majesty of these giants, then jump back into your car to continue. The "big tree" is not to be missed as words or photos will not compare to being there. I was very surprised at it's size, and have seen many huge Redwoods, Sequoias, etc. in most CA parks. There is also an Elk Prairie and I've seen elk near the campground on several occasions during my 4 trips (2 in each direction) on the road recently.

Morning or evening fog may add to the hobbit-like experience, but try to avoid mid-day. The glare thru the canopy makes it difficult to see. If you like to hike, be sure to stop at a visitor center for maps and suggestions on the dozens of trails in the Redwood Parks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Take the extra time to see this remarkable road. It is a brief sojourn into one of the most magnificent forests on earth. The enormity of the place is only matched by the tranquil atmosphere; such quiet is rarely found.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
223 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in the world”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

In any weather, any time of year, this is one of my favorite places in the world. Beautiful in every sense, visually, temperature, smell, it is a happy place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashlandbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a must for every body visiting the area. I regret the fact that we did not do many trails in this area. Best Redwood experience for me :-).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fremont_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newton B Drury Parkway also viewed

 
Orick, Humboldt County
Redwood National Park, CA
 

Been to Newton B Drury Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing