We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amidst the Giants

We enjoyed exploring the Newton B Drury Parkway. We were now in the Redwoods. It is fun to drive... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Robby G C
,
Toronto, Canada
Beautiful Drive Through The Redwoods

To best enjoy the Redwoods, get off Hwy 101. You’ll find some wonderful pull outs and hiking... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2018
glennm921
,
Fremont, California
via mobile
Read all 138 reviews
  
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
113
16
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
16
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful drive scenic route visitor center elk prairie south end parallel road many options speed limit drury parkway worth the detour pull over interpretive trail hiking trails beautiful area take pictures amazing trees take your time
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I left Crescent city,cal. We went off HWY 101 on to the Newton b.Drury scenic parkway & drove for 10 miles. It was a great wonderful driving trip thru some of the tallest trees in the planet Earth.

Thank R305POmichaelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed exploring the Newton B Drury Parkway. We were now in the Redwoods.

It is fun to drive in the Redwoods. We were surrounded by red trees.

We stopped a lot to take pictures.

Those trees are huge!

Thank Robby G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

To best enjoy the Redwoods, get off Hwy 101. You’ll find some wonderful pull outs and hiking trails. Stop at the Prairie Creek Visitor Center for a map and the opportunity to discuss with a ranger your many options to better explore redwood country. This highway rivals the Avenue of the Giants in enjoying the Redwoods.

1  Thank glennm921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Lots of beautiful short( under 1 mile) hikes that we found great with young children (2&5) Most are completely in the shade

1  Thank U7620IImichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

We drove through this the first day in the area. We came back two days later and walked the Prairie Creek Trail and then crossed over to the Big Tree and headed south back to the Visitors Center by way of Cathedral Trail. These were magnificent and shouldn't be missed. Given that it was part of Labor Day weekend and how mobbed the area was, we had the first trail to ourselves after the first 15 minutes.

1  Thank JimM-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

We tried looking for elk at Elk Prairie, but to no avail. Then we tried Elk Meadows and saw one, then a pair and followed them to a bridge at the end of a closed drive. There was a herd! And we found a stately male hiding in the bushes, standing in the stream!

Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

I visit this park regularly. There are clean bathrooms (almost all the time). Easy paths that can even be used by those who are wheelchair bound. Or more difficult paths for the avid hiker. The path around the meadow is low to mid moderate hike and had wild blueberries, huckleberries, etc. to pick in the late summer (about 4 miles total hike). Everyone stops to see the "Big Tree" but you can easily see big trees anywhere.

Thank 585janar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

The park ranger told us to skip the new section of Hwy 101 in favor of the Newton B. Drury Parkway. We had planned to drive both sections thinking there would be redwood trees on both. She told us that all of the redwoods are on the scenic byway, and it's young pine forest along the new 101 section. That's fine- keep the busy traffic on the new road, and keep the scenery for those who want to slow down and enjoy it. Road quality is great.

5  Thank mlm116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

A very easy parallel drive to Highway 101 that goes for about 12 miles. Beautiful forested drive with many pull outs. Bathrooms at the visitor center at the south end. The 45 mile per hour speed limit will only lose you about 10 minutes or less while providing you a tranquil and awe-inspiring appreciation of the world we live in and what makes California such a special state.

1  Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Put on your favorite tunes and be amazed by this ride through towering giants, at times lost in the mist.

Thank Irina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews