We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Southern Hospitality!!”
Review of Palm Cafe & Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Cafe & Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orick
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I stayed at the Palms in February I had no problems with getting a room. The price is not that bad considering how close you are to the ocean and the Redwoods. I am from Tennessee and to come to find out the owner is origianlly from Tennessee. She and her husband was extremely kind to me and my friends. The rooms are a little out dated but they were cleaned. The bed was soft. I had to let the water run just a little while to warm up and I had plenty of hot water. The resturant served great breakfast meals and also our dinner meals were great. I was only going to stay a couple of days but we ended up staying seven days. I did enjoy the convience of being close. I must say the only problem I had was the loud noise coming from that biker bar. I could have done without the noise or even looking at it. It looked like it was possesed by the devil

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jluches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Palm Cafe & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2010

Terrible, unclean, and we got BED BUGS that ended up coming home with us!

Then to top it off they charged us for 3 nights when we only stayed for 2. When we asked if we could get a refund for one night they said sure, but when I get my bank statement I found out the charged me for an addition night.

SO ENDED UP PAYING FOR 4 NIGHTS WHEN WE ONLY STAYED FOR 2. Trust me you don't wan to stay here, you're better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sdgoienh999ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Our car broke down, only hotel available, they charged up $80 for one room. The room smelled like mold, no hot water, the rooms are old and in desperate need of up dating. The toilette leaked as a result the bathroom floor was always wet. When I brought these issues to the manager/owner the next day, her language was abusive and angry. She told me I was wrong and she did us a favor by checking us in late. Needless to say, Don't Stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamiemclaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I have stayed at The Palm several times and eaten at the restaurant during my stay. Sure, it is an older establishment but that is not all bad. My rooms were always clean and I had no problems with bad smells. I am making plans to return this summer and plan on staying at The Palm again. Our service has always been friendly and efficient in the motel and restaurant both. Our meals have been very good food with generous servings and priced right.
Short distance from the motel we could see elk, walk through the redwoods and visit many beaches. When I travel I want to be able to relax, staying at The Palm provided me with that luxury.
Thank you to the owners and staff for your outstanding service.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKG1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

An older motel, but kept very clean. The restaurant was great for some home cooking, instead of all that fast food. Great service and friendly staff. Loved it and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

This place is beyond words, really. First of all, for nearly hundred bucks You expect some quality. Especially in a drive through town, as small as Orick is.

The stairs to the second floor are wobbly and probably rotten. Be carefull where You put Your foot. Room was stinking, damp and mold here and there. Promised wifi didn't work in the room, only outside.

It was a mistake afterall. Won't do it again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peteiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Made reservations to stay one night. The owner was very pleasant and nice over the phone. When we got there and checked in, we went to the room and there is no other words except for the fact it should be "Condemmed" Stinky, floors, and steps rotting. There is no way I was going to sleep there. So went right back up to the office, and said I am sorry but this is not what we were expecting and that I could not stand the smell. So she gave us our money back and we left. Went back to Crescent city and stayed there instead. I just cannot beleive this place is allowed by the county to stay open.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichardsonKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orick
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
12.7 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
210 reviews
15.7 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express
17.8 mi away
Historic Requa Inn
Historic Requa Inn
#1 of 1 in Klamath
419 reviews
16.6 mi away
Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Cafe & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Cafe & Motel

Address: 21130 Hwy 101, Orick, CA
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Orick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orick
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orick is a great little town with lots to offer. We're just a couple of mils from the Pacific Ocean, where there are several local beaches to walk up and down. We have several wood carving booths and a score of gift and specialty item stores to find the perfect memento of your visit! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Cafe And Motel
Palm Cafe Hotel Orick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing