We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sliced meats” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mattern Sausage & Meats

Mattern Sausage & Meats
Ranked #50 of 467 Restaurants in Orange
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Great sliced meats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

They make their own in-house sausages. They have dozens of varieties, and everything is very good. They also have a good selection of imported German food items.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok food; service not good if you are not a "regular"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have tried two or three times to like Mattern--I really have. But each time I have gone in and gotten a number for service, it always seems like there is someone who comes in after me who is recognized by the staff and gets waited on first. To have it happen once--ok. But three times? I guess I will never be a "regular" because I won't be back. The sandwiches are ok but not that spectacular to overcome the feeling that you're not an important enough customer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank toocherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Authentic German Butcher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is the only place in town to get authentic German sausages and meats. They make their sausage fresh on the premises, and also have a selection of German deli type items. We've been going here for over 20 years - excellent quality!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CalBeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

There are few places that come to mind for a great place for lunch. This is one of them. The sausages are fantastic. They create their own meats, an art of its own. You often start talking to someone next to you and feel at home. A must for anyone in the area, or just to make a trip to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HavingFunTraveling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great German food. Authentic. Many of the patrons are Germanic. Inexpensive too, but probably not the most healthy.

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattern Sausage & Meats also viewed

Orange, Orange County
Santa Ana, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Mattern Sausage & Meats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing