We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST visit”

Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 470 Restaurants in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: S Glassell St
Description: GABBI PATRICK is dedicated to integrating moderngastronomy with the indigenous and traditional recipes of Mexicancuisine. In her pursuit of preserving the rich culinary heritage ofMexico, Gabbi has adopted an eco-gastronomic approach in herinterpretation of “Old World” recipes. Her passion and vision arereflected in every detail of her craft, from supporting local farmsto her extensive travels throughout Mexico.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A MUST visit”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We leave on the East Coast and always eat here when in LA area! It is not a traditional Mexican
restaurant all at. The chef/owner is culinary trained and the menu and food clearly show it.

They don't have a sign, but don't need one it is always busy. Make a reservation you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    75
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow! Not your run of the mill Mexican food place!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was really so pleasantly surprised at the up scale offerings from Gabbi's. The food was not only impressively delicious, but varied from any other Mexican restaurant I have a patron of. Their special last Saturday night, was pork tenderloin in a negre mole sauce, spicy argula with a lovely champagne viniagrette, and squash blossoms stuffed with goat cheese. Umami. Everything was perfectly prepared, perfect temperature. They make their own tortillas right behind a large glass window, open viewing from the bar area. The servers/bartenders were really knowledgeable, and we tried a few new tequilas and margaritas. For the comfortable atmosphere, and wonderful food and drinks, this is a place I will GLADLY return to in the very near future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lunch date”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Atmosphere was nice. No air conditioning, food was ok but not to die for. hard to find and my friend was telling me on a phone the exact location no sign.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great offerings from a culinary-academy trained chef/owner. Interesting old-town atmosphere, no sigh outside, and evidently they don't need one!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeteL92833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food but no A.C. inside (Eat elsewhere if hot)”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We loved Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen. The food is amazing. Real authentic flavors, pricey but well worth it.

Although we fell in-love with the place, the fact that they didn't have AC completely ruined a great meal. I would advice to eat somewhere else if it's a hot day. I was literally sweating as I was eating my meal. I overheard the table next to us complaining that it was hot. The dude in front of us, his forehead was dripping with sweat.

It's unacceptable for a restaurant with a pricey menu to not have AC.

Food: 9 out of 10
Tacos De Rajas - Simple but bursting with flavors. The tortillas are authentic and and the yucca fries are soo soo yummy.

Chicken Enchiladas - Delicious!

Drinks 10 out of 10
Must try the Guava Mojito. It's amazing! My new favorite drink.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen also viewed

Orange, Orange County
Orange, Orange County
 
Orange, Orange County
 

Been to Gabbi's Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing