We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Quiet and Well Located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet and Well Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, even bigger than we thought it would be. It was quiet too, which is not what I can say about most other hotels we've stayed in recently. The staff was polite.

Being on the intersection of I-55 and Katella, you can't ask for better access to Orange attractions: there are restaurants and shopping 5 minutes to the North (Panera Bread, Walmart, In-N-Out, sushi bars, etc.), Disneyland is a few minutes West on Katella (great food there too, at Downtown Disney), and the Orange beaches just 15-20 minutes South on 55.

On the negative side, this hotel is behind a gas station, kinda shady looking, and there's only one small car entrance/exit that was being used by a construction crew when we stayed here. One day, it took us 15 minutes to get out of the hotel because the construction workers parked their heavy equipment right on the exit. Not the hotel's fault, of course. Another negative was the breakfast: not many options, unless you're good to go with only a toast and a cup of coffee. But there are great options nearby.

Overall, a good deal in Orange County.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs. The lower level rooms get all the glare from the cars arriving at the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiGtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your most recent stay with us, we are happy to hear that our location and rooms met your expectations and that you had a great overall stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future at our Days Inn location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    66
    80
    56
    56
See reviews for
131
68
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel was perfect for what we needed on our trip - close to our destinations and everything was easy to get to. The only negative thing was that the carpet kind of made my feet dirty so I just wore my slippers and it was fine. I guess people must just leave their shoes on and walk around the room like that so the carpet gets dirty. The customer service was really great by Samuel and Jennifer - and other then the carpet, the room and bathroom were super clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Danell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We at Days Inn we would like to thank you for being at Wyndham Rewards member and for choosing our hotel for your most recent traveling needs. We are pleased to hear our hotel location fit your needs and that everything was in close proximity. We will make sure to take a look at your room and possible get it deep cleaned to make sure other guests do not have this issue; we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I've stayed here quite a few times. The staff is very courteous to help anyway they can. The housekeepers are always helpful on getting what you need. Compared to other places I have stayed at. This one I recommend because it is easy access to hwy. And the staff will always greet with a smiles on their faces.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotfox45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you have chosen us for your hotel needs on a regular basis and that our staff is always courteous and helpful with any questions or concerns you may have. Thank you for letting us know where we have exceled with our customer service, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Definitely a great hotel to stay at for the price. Staff was friendly and helpful being that it was my first trip out to California. Although I checked in towards the end of the day (After 6PM), I was expecting the staff to be cranky, annoyed, and tired but I was greeted with a warm smiley and friendly attitude. Told me places that were worth visiting in the area as well as places to eat and places to shop. They had no problem assisting me when I had questions or certain requests. They definitely made a huge effort to accomodate me to the best of their abilities. Room was very nice and clean. No funky smells or stains. Rooms were also very comfortable and pretty spacious. Nothing was wrong with the room. Their pool was also very clean and well maintained. The water was clear and blue and nothing like dead bugs or leaves was floating in the pool. In addition, the water was heated to a pretty comfortable temperature where it cooled you off in the summer but need cause you to freeze if you stayed in the pool for a very long time. Housekeeping was also very friendly and do a very good job cleaning our room. Like mentioned before, for the price of the rooms, it was definitely a bargain. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone if they are looking for something fairly priced but yet of very high quality in the Orange area. Obviously don't expect top notch, five-star resort kind of quality but is a lot nicer for the same price and room you would get at a Super 8, Motel 6 or Red Roof Inn. It is definitely a must go and stay. Would definitely stay here again without a doubt when I come back which will be fairly soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wok1tout2823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for most recent travels to California, we are pleased to hear our staff was helpful with any questions or concerns that you may have had. We at Howard Johnson strive for high customer satisfaction and are glad to hear our staff, housekeeping and grounds staff met those standards. We are happy to hear enjoyed your time and look forward to seeing you again when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff is great they let us go into our rooms 2 hours before our check in time, at no extra charge. ...it's behind a gas station convenient just incase you need snacks in the middle of the night. ... Freeway entrance is around the corner. ...breakfast was as usual, but no waffles. I also really loved the pool it was clean.. But they do need some beach chairs they are broken. .. over all I'm happy I booked this place .. And will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetie_812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your most recent stay, we are pleased to hear our location met your expectations and that you were able to enjoy our amenities. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
2.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave.
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Orange Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
2.1 mi away
Orange Tustin Inn
Orange Tustin Inn
#12 of 15 in Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange
Address: 1930 E Katella Ave, Katella & Fwy 55, Orange, CA 92867-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Orange takes pride in making you feel at home. In the heart of Orange County, the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Orange is centrally located in heart of orange; near all local attractions like Disneyland Resort, Knotts Berry Farm, Anaheim Convention Center, Edison Field and Irvine Spectrum. Within minutes of Irvine Lake for great fishing. Theaters, nightclubs, restaurants, and shops are all within walking distance. Newport Beach is within driving distance for those interested in surfing or just taking a stroll. Golf Course and Tennis just minutes away.Newly constructed Howard Johnson Inn & Suites has an outdoor pool. For guests' convenience, the hotel offers free parking, free local calls, and a 24-hour front desk.The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the Orange County airport.There are 40 rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites. Non-smoking rooms are available upon request. Standard amenities include a separate dressing area, refrigerator, hairdryer, high-speed Internet access for a daily usage fee, iron, ironing board, microwave, television, HBO, and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - Orange
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - Orange Hotel Orange
Orange Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Orange
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing