We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was way better than other reviews would indicate. I checked in with a bit of trepidation because of what I'd read but the value and location were perfect for me and the room was fine. I work at a five star hotel and this certainly wasn't that. But it is what it is which is OK by me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We are pleased to hear you gave our hotel a chance and that we met your expectations for your room. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 377 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
1
Reviewed June 29, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotels.com has not refunded my money. The mattress pad and clean sheets covered up fresh blood stains and s*men stains. The desk clerk has photos, as do I. Carpet was ripped and dangerous as a trip hazard, the mattress was filthy. I stayed for less than 10 minutes and my money was not refunded because I "cancelled" my reservation. There was no way I could sleep in that bed. Another room was not offered. This was the worst hotel room I have ever seen. And Hotels.com will not refund my money, even for a room that was too horribly disgusting to stay in. Room 117. June 2013.

Room Tip: Hotels.com has not refunded my money. The mattress pad and clean sheets covered up fresh blood stain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We are sorry to hear you had to experience these issues while staying at our hotel. We strive for our guests' to leave happy and return to our location for future stays and are sorry we fell short of that, we hope you will give us another chance so we can show you we have fixed all problems and instructed our desk staff as what to do if this arose again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel could use some updating, the bedspreads were old and needed updating, the carpet in our room was so dirty our feet were black from walking on the carpet, eck!! Also the bed needed to be updated, not comfortable. The desk manager said they just took over a few months ago and are working on rooms, we'll see!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing our location for your recent travels and we would also like to thank you for being a Wyndham Rewards member. We take all our guests' comments and concerns seriously and will make sure we take a look into all that you brought to our attention. We hope to see you again soon so we can show you we are doing our best to update our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bev L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Micaela W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojoorange, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
2.4 mi away
Best Western Orange Plaza
4 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
ALO Hotel
ALO Hotel
#2 of 15 in Orange
1,597 reviews
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Santa Ana
Red Roof Inn Santa Ana
#9 of 23 in Santa Ana
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange

Address: 1930 E Katella Ave, Katella & Fwy 55, Orange, CA 92867-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: $75 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Orange takes pride in making you feel at home. In the heart of Orange County, the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Orange is centrally located in heart of orange; near all local attractions like Disneyland Resort, Knotts Berry Farm, Anaheim Convention Center, Edison Field and Irvine Spectrum. Within minutes of Irvine Lake for great fishing. Theaters, nightclubs, restaurants, and shops are all within walking distance. Newport Beach is within driving distance for those interested in surfing or just taking a stroll. Golf Course and Tennis just minutes away.Newly constructed Howard Johnson Inn & Suites has an outdoor pool. For guests' convenience, the hotel offers free parking, free local calls, and a 24-hour front desk.The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the Orange County airport.There are 40 rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites. Non-smoking rooms are available upon request. Standard amenities include a separate dressing area, refrigerator, hairdryer, high-speed Internet access for a daily usage fee, iron, ironing board, microwave, television, HBO, and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - Orange
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - Orange Hotel Orange
Orange Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Orange
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing