We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't expect much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“don't expect much”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

matresses are lumpy, shower okay did scold our teenager, no fruit english muffins or cups even though menu stated there would be muffins. one old pillow per person. although we were near the freeway, we didn't hear it through the night. also our blowdryer did not work, and they did not have an extra.

overall it was an okay stay for the price of the night. wouldn't want to stay here for a prolonged amount of time

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazerinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    75
    87
    60
    60
See reviews for
147
70
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I asked for decaf 2 times. It showed up on the last night (3rd time). Don't know if it ever showed up in the (meager) breakfast room. I asked for a sewing kit (advertised in the room under "Ooops" for forgotten things-no luck. When I tried to take a bath, there was no tub stopper, so I was stuck with showers. I got one bath towel after asking (didn't want to share the only one in the room).
It's clean, very cheap and pretty convenient once you figure which is the right turn off to use (by the gas station).
I'd recommend, if a friend couldn't afford anything better!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orange hotels

Visalia, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Our room was somewhat clean, the rates were cheap so didn't expect much. They have a different definition of "suite" than I do. The "extra bedroom" was barely big enough for the bed...I could just barely open the door without hitting the bed with the door. They have motion sensors on all lights and even the TV, which kept shutting off after 5 minutes or so. The breakfast was a joke, and you had to hunt for the staff to check out.
If you want cheap lodging and don't care much for the type of room,. I guess this was okay. Personally I'd rather spend a little more and stay in a decent place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valleygal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Initially, we got a room that was cramped with two beds and the room was not clean meanin had lot of foul smell, may be from humidity. Later after 4 or 5 days We got a room change. That room was good.

Maid service was good. We got all the towels changed everyday. Cleaned the whole room, bathroom.

One morning we had some problem in Breakfast room when supplies were not taken care off even after bringing it to the notice of the person at the desk. That was about it.

Over all was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirugaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Dirty room. Only two working lightbulbs in my room and one randomly shuts on and off...ALL NIGHT LONG. No heat, no iron and when I requested one nothing happened. I finally tracked down the maid and had her stop watching tv and smoking cigarettes long enough to bring me one. When I went to use it, it didn't work. Had to call clerk 3 times to get a new one.
There are actually shoe prints on one wall in the bathroom and some stain I hope is coffee. Ugh!! A nightmare!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLamb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I went to the Honda center for a game and had a great time. The new remodelled rooms are nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and directed me to many restaurants in the area. The mall was just minutes away which was great for my daughters. We stayed 2 nites and will be back again soon

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My stay here was very comfortable. My son and i were visiting the Chapman University and im so glad that it was only on the next exit. The staff was very helpful and gave me good directions for restaurants. The hotel rooms were very nice and remodeled with a nice big lobby. This is a great location although tucked away behind a gas station it was very quiet and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artadvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
3.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
3.6 mi away
ALO Hotel
ALO Hotel
#2 of 15 in Orange
1,449 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave.
2.4 mi away
Best Western Orange Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange
Address: 1930 E Katella Ave, Katella & Fwy 55, Orange, CA 92867-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Orange takes pride in making you feel at home. In the heart of Orange County, the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Orange is centrally located in heart of orange; near all local attractions like Disneyland Resort, Knotts Berry Farm, Anaheim Convention Center, Edison Field and Irvine Spectrum. Within minutes of Irvine Lake for great fishing. Theaters, nightclubs, restaurants, and shops are all within walking distance. Newport Beach is within driving distance for those interested in surfing or just taking a stroll. Golf Course and Tennis just minutes away.Newly constructed Howard Johnson Inn & Suites has an outdoor pool. For guests' convenience, the hotel offers free parking, free local calls, and a 24-hour front desk.The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the Orange County airport.There are 40 rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites. Non-smoking rooms are available upon request. Standard amenities include a separate dressing area, refrigerator, hairdryer, high-speed Internet access for a daily usage fee, iron, ironing board, microwave, television, HBO, and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites-Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - Orange
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - Orange Hotel Orange
Orange Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Orange
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing