We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quite possibly the best ribs I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rib Trader

Rib Trader
Ranked #169 of 457 Restaurants in Orange
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best ribs I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

This place is interesting. Has a simple, relaxed African decor, friendly service and the most awesome ribs around.
I love BBQ and I love ribs. If you find yourself in Orange County (CA) - you owe it to yourself to check this place out. The ribs are Barbecued with a dry rub and served in a sauce to die for. They are moist and succulent - they literally "fall off the bone".

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westminster,Ca
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A really great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

There were four of us and as such there were a variety of menu items ordered. A rack of ribs for one,a salad for another, barbecued half chicken for my Wife and prime rib for me. Everyone at the table was extremely happy with what they ordered. It all was excellent! And the service was top notch. I don't remember the name of the waiter that took our orders, but he was really great, personable, and the food got there fast.
We all would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel2565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
550 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Plenty of parking, but baby back ribs are really nothing special!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We went on a Tuesday evening, and found that there was practically no crowd at all. There is plenty of parking, so going in was no difficulty. We were quickly seated, and soon got the hot corn bread. But it was mealy and gritty, which some folks like, of course. The sauce used on the baby back ribs was sweet and had a bit of a kick, but were not the best I've ever had. This is one of the restaurants of the world that publishes coupons for "one dinner half off" if you order another entree. To do that, the restaurant just charges more for the other dinner! Without a coupon, I think that their charges were high. This place rates as a good, sure "average"!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time, Rib Trader”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Just wasted 45 minutes of my life at this dive! Waited for a few minutes to be seated, busboy brought the water-corn bread and we placed our order.....Never say the waitress again, she was everywhere but our table, after about 45 minutes she asked us "will there be anything else" I said nope, she went to get the check and then realized she never brought our food!
Save yourself the trouble and go to Tulsa Ribs, Thats where I went!

Helpful?
2 Thank serrano7503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Have eaten here on a couple of occasions, both times there was little to no wait, and the service was friendly and fast. I enjoyed the ribs but have had better. We went with the entertainment guide coupon so one meal was free, but I think the portions were typical for a BBQ place. We enjyed it so give ita try.

Helpful?
Thank weluvtotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rib Trader also viewed

 
Orange, Orange County
 
Orange, Orange County
Orange, Orange County
 

Been to Rib Trader? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing