We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Globe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed at the Ayers Inn Orange for 3 nights and 4 days. We had room 316 during our stay. The check-in was fast and very professional. Check out was the same. Each time we passed by the reception area we were always greeted with a smile and a warm good morning or good evening. The free breakfast was always fresh and very good. Our room was always clean when we returned from Disneyland each day. It wasn't a problem going down to the 3rd floor for ice. Our room was very quiet, no neighbor noise. The only time we heard road noise was when we opened the window slighty. We used the free shuttle to and from Disneyland on 2 of our days there. Both drivers were very nice. Due to the cool weather and time we didn't use the pool. We did look at the pool area and it looked very inviting. I normally stay at the Disneyland Hotel, but I really liked this hotel and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCramGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    435
    108
    46
    31
See reviews for
711
238
61
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

My boyfriend and I checked out of the hotel yesterday after a three-night stay. I found a great deal at getawaytoday.com so we got a very reasonable rate.

Initially, I was planning on booking our stay at the Ayres Hotel on Katella (across from the Honda Center) due to the glowing reviews on TripAdivsor, but getawaytoday.com only books with this Ayres site on Chapman near the Block at Orange and the UCI Medical Center. I forgot to verify the addresses when we arrived at John Wayne airport, so when I told the cab driver at the airport that we were going to the Ayres, he took us to the one on Katella. Once there, I realized we were at the Chapman location and felt completely stupid for the mix-up, but the staff at the Katella site was extremely friendly and promptly arranged for staff at the Chapman site to pick us up in the shuttle and bring us to their location.

Our room was a decent size with a huge (and VERY comfy bed) and a leather sofa bed. As other reviewers mentioned, the bathroom is small and lacks a ventilation system, but it was very clean and the showerhead was nice. They have room service available through their in-house Cafe (Three Palms) but we did not utilize it and previous reviewers didn't seem very impressed by the food offered. As another reviewer mentioned, the sheets are quite thin and so we did request another blanket, which they left for us on the bed after cleaning the room.

The staff at this hotel were quite youthful (all appearing to be in their 20s) but they were extraordinarily helpful and very professional at all times. The shuttle drivers were prompt and we had great conversations with them en route to Disneyland. The hotel is about two miles away from Disneyland so the trip is quick, and although the shuttle does run only in the mornings and evenings (no shuttles between 11am-5pm as mentioned in previous reviews) it is still a great service to utilize. For those times that the shuttle doesn't run, you can take a cab from the hotel to Disneyland for $12.

There is also a OCTA bus stop directly in front of the building. The 47 will take you to the intersection of Anaheim Blvd. and Katella Ave. about a block away from GardenWalk (lots of restaurants and shopping that are within walking distance to Disneyland). Fare is $1.25 and the buses run quite frequently - we found the OCTA system quite easy to use, though we only needed to use it once during our stay.

We liked the pool and spa in a gated area in the back of the hotel, as well as the computer and printer in the lobby for guest use. The free wireless throughout the hotel was extremely convenient! There is coin laundry on each floor and they sell detergent and fabric softener at the front desk. The hotel is located directly next to a Best Buy (which I thought was sort of random), a Quizno's, and a Starbucks. About three blocks away down Manchester is The Block @ Orange which was a nice, newer shopping mall with a good selection of stores and restaurants. A couple blocks down Chapman is the Crystal Cathedral, a small restaurant called Hof's Hut, a liquor store, and an express Chinese restaurant.

The free complimentary breakfast was mediocre at best - I didn't have the highest expectations after reading previous reviews, but like everyone else said, it's free and hot so there's not a lot of room for complaints. I will agree with previous reviewers who bemoaned the lack of selection and the occasional questionable preparation of some of the food (the "hashbrowns" available on our last day resembled mozzarella cheese that had somehow burned on the ends).

We did take advantage of the "Manager's Reception" from 5-7pm which featured some snacks (cheese and cracker-y things) and both red and white wine. It was nothing fancy but we appreciated this extra service!!!

We took a cab to and from the airport that cost $38 both ways.

Overall we had a great stay here and would definitely recommend it to other visitors looking for someplace reasonably priced and away from the madness of Disneyland "good neighbor" hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngwheezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

The place is great. They have shuttle service to Disneyland. It's a 10min ride. And if u wanna go back to the hotel earlier than the time agreed, just give them a call. And it's a walking distance to The Block at Orange!! Love that place. Breakfast was gd. Not much variety but gd enough. This is not a 5 star hotel but their service is! And with wifi available in the rooms and lobby, i couldnt ask for more. I need internet!! If only they could lower their rates slightly, it'll be great.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

Ayres Inn is conveniently located to UCI Medical Center, however some room features miss the mark. The toilet is the lowest we have ever encountered, and appears to be designed for people under 5'2". With a seat just 14" from the floor, it makes it very difficult to use for those of us over age 65. There is a small refrigerator, but no microwave. The blankets and bedspreads are very thin; it was necessary for us to ask for additional blankets.

If you stay at the Ayres Inn, be sure to have the Country Breakfast at Hof's Hut, just down the street on W. Chapman.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CNUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

First time guest here. Worked well for our family with two teenage boys but we did bring out own foldout cot so they could each have their own sleeping space (sofabed + cot).

Shuttle to DL is convenient that it doesn't stop by any other properties, but doesn't run 11 am - 5 pm and does run 7:30 to half hour after the park closes. The 7:30 start means you can't get there for a magic morning early opening when that is 7 am.

The bathrooms don't have fans but they will be added in the next remodel.

There were not enough electrical outlets, good thing we brought out own power strip.

The refrigerator was good to have and used the laundry almost every night. They do sell laundry soap box for a $1 at the front desk.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — no fans in bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Runs4Cache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

I booked this hotel after much research for a family trip to Disneyland with my 3 daughters. Prior to booking, spoke with the hotel manage for at least 15 minutes and he answered all my questions. I booked through getawaytoday.com because I love their package deals. I wanted a clean, comfy, family friendly hotel that offered a free hot breakfast, free parking and free shuttle to Disneyland. Why? Because all those extra things can add up to high dollars quickly! Ayres Inn Orange was wonderful! The food was yummy every morning (nothing like starting off a day before Disneyland with a nice hot breakfast and a good cup of Java) and it was offered in the attached restaurant so there was always plenty of room to sit. The food was REAL, not powdered eggs and previously frozen french toast sticks! (yes, some hotels will actually serve that and call it a full hot breakfast!) The staff was always courteous and readily available to answer any questions I had or to book my shuttle to Disney. The rooms were not huge but very tastefully decorated. The bathroom was small and slightly outdated, but clean. The lobby was very pretty and during the manager's reception (Mon-Thurs, I believe) my kids enjoyed cookies while I sipped a glass of wine and ate cheese. I would DEFINITELY take my kids to Ayres Inn again when visiting the Anaheim area. One thing, it's a little tricky to get into the hotel the first time because it is on a corner and you are not allowed to make a U turn....don't panic, just go down a block or so where you can make a U turn and you are good!

  • Liked — Free Shuttle to Disneyland and hot breakfast every morning
  • Disliked — Orange County should allow patrons to conveniently turn into parking lot, I know this is not Ayres Inn's fault.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveMyFamilyLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

Last October we stayed at the Ayres in Orange and had the best time. However, it was really windy and the pool was closed the whole week we were there. This October we were there again and the first three days the pool was closed. Wednesday it was open, my girls were in the pool 30 minutes and told they need to leave, they were putting chemicals in the pool. Tuesday we get a call front the front desk that we need to change rooms on a different floor, well that was a little disrupting but made the change. It seemed everyday after the maid made our room we had to call for something she forgot to leave. Bathroom paper, soap, clean cups, and coffee. Some of the guests seem to forget that there were children present, somewhat loud drinking and inapproprate language. I have to say I was really disappointed this time.

JD San Jose, CA.

  • Liked — Very Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Having to more to a different floor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjosecountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csmith_9, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Dear Guest
I apologize for overlooking your review. I am really sorry that the Hotel had to close our pool due to the Santa Ana winds during your stay. It is definitely something we only do when absolutely necessary and per the local Health code. When we get these especially high winds, we are unable to keep the debris from getting into the pool and in turn clogging the filter system. In October of 2007, our entire area dealt with the fallout of the Santiago Fire and high winds and in October 2008 we again experienced the high winds. I also apologize that your daughters had to leave the pool when we had to treat it for a "kiddie accident". I would also like to apologize for the maid service, your experience was not our normal exception service we are so proud of.
Christine Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Property: ALO Hotel
Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing