We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long weekend to DLR and SoCal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Long weekend to DLR and SoCal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was a quick trip down to the Disneyland Resort and SoCal. We needed a home-base for our adventures and this fit the bill perfectly. It was clean and comfortable with large rooms. Parking is free which is a HUGE plus, especially if you plan on driving to Disneyland. We didn't try to breakfast so can't comment on it. The staff are professional and courteous. There is a Starbucks within walking distance, though, which we definitely took advantage of. I highly recommend the Ayres Inn and will likely stay there again on future visits to Disneyland.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCW8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that our hotel featured the amenities to provide value to your stay. We look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to DLR and SoCal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    430
    108
    45
    31
See reviews for
696
237
60
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

always a great stay- price, comfort, location to Disneyland is excellent with out all the resort zone fees!! Hotel provides discount to Disney Pass holders= Bonus- free parking and cooked hot breakfast= Money saver-- Loacation to the block- food and great BBQ up the street at Lucille's another Bonus

Room Tip: Rooms facing west you can view the fireworks from Disneyland
See more room tips
Green Features: very friendly, low flow toilets and awareness to our water issues in southern calif.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UgaSanDiego_cal_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while celebrating your Birthday! It is great to hear that we lived up to your expectations. As you mentioned, one great thing about our hotel is our proximity to the shopping mall Outlets at Orange, with many great restaurants, a movie theatre and even bowling alley, making for an easy 10-15 minute walk. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit Disneyland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernCalifornia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Ayres is great Hotel!. I have stayed at the other one on Katella Ave before, which is also a great hotel. Arrived late on Thursday night and parking was plenty, as they have parking structure, and area seemed safe. Check in was fast and easy made it to our room and it was perfect. Clean, clean, clean...Beds were clean, bathroom was clean, carpet was clean. Never made it to breakfast in the morning as we like to sleep in, but hotel has a restaurant on site. Front desk was awesome and housekeeping was on it. Free Internet that actually works, free parking, free breakfast ( if you get up early enough), great service, great area. Right off freeway I-5 makes it easy 5 mins back and from Disneyland and also a Wendy's, Quiznos, Starbucks within walking distance. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tc316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. As you mentioned, our hotel is a great value for our guests because we offer complimentary amenities such as a Full-American breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking- just to name a few! Thank you for staying at Ayres Hotels when visiting Disneyland. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Excellent facilities, staff, almost everything. A family run hotel that shows a personal touch in all areas, and a good value.
The exercise room is a bit small and limited, and the only elliptical machine had no arms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very pleased to hear you had an excellent experience and were impressed by our facilities and level of guest service you received from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our stay was very nice and the room was large, comfortable and clean. The staff sets them apart from the cookie-cutter chains.
One hour after checking out of the hotel, I realized that I had left my 2 diamond rings(one of them had belonged to my recently deceased Mother) in the bathroom of our guestroom.
I called in an absolute panic and Sandra the supervisor called me back within 5 minutes. The rings had already been turned in by the room attendant. My relief was unbelievable and I cried tears of relief. Even prior to this incident the staff was so personable and caring.
This is our new "go-to" hotel. The staff makes all the difference!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SScott5927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for recommending us to other reviewers. We thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to read we provided you with outstanding service! Thank you for becoming a loyal Ayres guest! We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

checked in very late (2am) from almost 7 hrs drive..went tothe front desk and the guy looked like he just woke up and does not want to be disturb.. no smile but a smug! i asked him a little question regarding disneyland but all answer i get was buy a ticket at disneyland.. asked for the hotel map and he said you wont get lost just got tp the elevator and ur room is at middle.. parking was huge and he never mention there was a door near that to enter the building so we have to walk all the way to lobby from the back parking.. we're so tired i dont want to argue with him..morning reception was way better.friendly and more informative.. alos breakfast was good and the location is great..

Room Tip: there's a construction. ask to be located away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinnita_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Even though you found our hotel to be disappointing, we truly appreciate constructive feedback.
I would like to apologize for your encounter with our Night Guest Service Representative. We sincerely value guest service at our hotel and never want our guests to walk away feeling the way you did. As you can see in many of our guest's reviews on Trip Advisor, the service our team provides is normally one of our greatest strengths, so it is very surprising to read that you did not have the same experience.
I would very much appreciate if you would contact me so that I could gather more information in depth from your past stay. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at (714) 978-9168 or by email at szuno@ayreshotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a great, clean hotel with wonderful staff. We stayed here to visit Disneyland. The rooms were clean and so was the outdoor pool. The breakasts were great, lots of hot items and a good selection. The shuttle to Disneyland is not free but was inexpensive. There are several locations and stores nearby and it is close to highways.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your exceptional review of our hotel! It is excellent to read that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We appreciate you mentioning our great complimentary breakfast buffet, the ART shuttle service and the Outlets at Orange shops and restaurants. We are also glad you enjoyed our outdoor heated pool and our comfortable rooms. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Disneyland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
5.9 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Property: ALO Hotel
Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing