We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great discovery!!!”
Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Very convienent location and the staff was wonderful!! Room was neat, clean and very nice! They served a free breakfast that was delicious and a nice variety of food! The only thing I wish was different, that they served decaf coffee at breakfast!
All in all it was a wonderful stay and we will stay there again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

We are glad you found us! Thank you for your kind feedback. We are delighted to read our staff exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next stay at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for ALO Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights for our visit to Disneyland. At first the location wasn't what we expected, right off the freeway and across from a hospital and next to a Best Buy but that would be a forgotten thought! The front desk employee was very friendly and welcoming, check in was quick and simple. Our room was on the third floor and was very spacious, the bathroom was a tight squeeze but that was the only downside but it's not even worth complaining about. The beds were so comfortable, so easy to fall asleep after a long day at the theme parks. The breakfast was great! Eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereal, fruit and juice. We took advantage of the ART shuttle for disney and paid $5 for an all day pass, the shuttle was very punctual and the drivers were all friendly as well. We will definitely stay at this hotel again and any other Ayres location when we return to California!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristyByr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you sharing with our reviewers how much you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, our great Full-American breakfast, the convenience or the ART shuttle. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit the Orange/Anaheim area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We booked AYRES INN ORANGE, because we needed a stress free weekend away. My girlfriend was taking a very important class over the weekend & we thought from past experiences Ayres would be the best choice for us. HOW WRONG WE WERE ! We contacted the hotel with a request of a king bed, when we showed up on Friday at 6:00pm we were told we would be getting a single queen. We went to our room, & it was about half the size of what was pictured at the front desk. The room was at the end of the hallway and was cut nearly in half because the stair well was running in front of it. We went back down to tell the front desk this was nothing like the picture, he laughed ! My gf said that's not funny, so the girl "Amy" at the front desk moved us. She moved us 4 floors higher to a room with the stair well behind, cutting of nearly half the room again. Once again I go back down stairs and request to talk to a Manager. I was told there was NO MANAGER, really 6:30pm on a fri night & there is NO MANAGER ! Saturday, I go back to the front desk at 2:00pm and ask if we can be moved to a King, I am told we can for $30. I ask after all the requests & problems you want to charge an extra $30, I'm told yes, they want their $30. So I ask to speak to the Manager. I'm told there is NO MANAGER ! REALLY NO MANAGER, on a sat at 2:00pm. I ask for the Manager name & number, so I call Sandra (who I later find out she is the assistant manager), she give's me a call right back "NOT" ! I receive a call back at 4:00pm Sunday, 26 hrs after I called, 46 hrs after the first time I ask to speak to a Manager. What poor customer service, they didn't make us feel welcomed & they certainly didn't care about our concerns & we did not have that stress free weekend we so needed.
The hallways were dirty, pieces of small trash were left for days. There were 3 starbucks cups that sat in the hallway for nearly 24 hours.There was still debris from Friday in the hallway when I left on Sunday. Maybe when you don't have a Manager on duty, the overall place suffers the consequences. I know the overall attitude of the employees, certainly seems to be well below average, ie., Laughing when we were not happy with the size of the room compare to the photo, moving us to the same size room, asking to speak to a Manger & not hearing back for 46 hours !
To add insult to injury ! We realized we left my gf's pillow behind. She got on the phone, after her class was over & called the hotel to let them know her pillow was left behind. While she on the phone I'm driving back to the hotel at 7:00pm on Sunday night. I pull up to the AYRES, I go to the front desk & speak to Amy (once again) ! She tells me, that she cant give us anything that might have been left, only a Manager can do this. Big surprise there is NO MANAGER ! She tells me I need to come back tomorrow !
As a customer, a "GUEST" you chose how you want to be treated. If you want to be treated by employees that just don't care, dirty hallways, small rooms that don't represent what they are showing, a lack of concern by Management for your needs or wants, then spend your money here !
IF YOU WANT TO BE TREATED BETTER, LIKE YOU DESERVE TO BE, I SUGGEST YOU TAKE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY SOMEWHERE ELSE, ANYWHERE ELSE ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaywest44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Ayres Inn Guests

This review and the review titled "tiny room...nothing like the photos" are both by the same guest. Below is my emailed response to the guests. The initial issue was the size of the room the guest had booked through Priceline. When my employee did not identify and then resolve the issue, the situation escalated and the guest's natural frustration and disappointment became evident in the two reviews.

"Between the 2 Trip Advisor reviews, lengthy messages to Sandra and myself, voicemail messages back and forth, calls to corporate and the time that it is has taken to investigate and interview all involved, I would like to cut-to-the-chase and get this incident resolved.

• You booked a Queen room through Priceline; you called the hotel in advance and requested an upgrade to a King room, hotel was full and we were unable to fulfill your request
• The key words in your email that struck me were “it was half the size of the room that was pictures at the front desk.” The room pictured at the Front Desk was a King room, but I went further and looked at the Priceline website.
• On the website, Priceline has used the same picture depicting it as a Queen size bed and room. I have contacted Priceline regarding their error.
• I am very sorry that you did not receive the size of room that you thought you were booking through Priceline. I have called them and asked them to refund the credit card you used when booking for a full night’s room and tax.
• I take serious note of your other comments regarding guest service and will be resolving those issues on an internal basis.

Please let me know if there is anything else I may do for you and your girlfriend."

I am very sorry that my staff did not understand that there was a misrepresentation of rooms through the pictures shown on line. I have scheduled a meeting with the entire desk staff to go over this incident and to use it as a learning tool to prevent future incidents from occurring. The hotel as evidenced by our high Trip Advisor rating take Guest Service very seriously and I again apologize for this incident not being handled quickly and correctly.

Christine Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We requested a king bed and got a small queen. Our room is next to the stairway. We asked to be moved to a larger room, as the stairway cuts of a portion of tge room. They moved us to a higher floor, on the other side of the stairway, which was the same room..just a different floor!!! They said we booked a queen single, which we did not do.We called ahead and requested a King bed. We booked through priceline and maybe that is why we can't have a king bed. Very disappointing. The view is of Best Buy parking lot. I have stayed at other Ayres and the customer service and charm was always wonderful. Not here. I will go to a different brand from now on.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine S, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest
I am very sorry that you found the Queen room too small, unfortunately when you booked the room through Priceline that is the type requested as shown below. You did call the hotel in advance to request a larger Sofa King room and as was explained we did note your request and let you know the request would be honored based on availability. Unfortunately we were sold out of King Sofas rooms on the date of your arrival and were not able to offer an upgrade. We did offer an Executive King room at $30 more per night the following day when we had a cancellation (normal rate $189.00) but you declined. We make every effort to upgrade our guests who book through 3rd party sites when the hotel is not running full and do so more often than not. I received your voice message this morning and will call you to further discuss this situation in person.

Christine Smith
General Manager

Reservation Information modify resend email rate overwrite
Confirmation No: WWW-193708892
GDS/OTA PNR No: NQIVXG (WORLDSPAN)
Arrival Date: 02/21/2014
Depart Date: 02/23/2014
Room Type: Deluxe 1 Queen Pillowtop (SQ)
Rooms: 1
Rate Plan: Priceline Package (PLPK)
Sell Code:
Sell Code Rate Type:
Business Channel: WORLDSPAN
Market Segment: DISC
Adults: 2 Children: 0
Book Date: 02/18/2014
Comment: PIN79604337159039$IKXXX0615519039$PHR17345037393$NSM RM PRFD
Cancellation Reason:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I booked this hotel through hotwire.ca and for the price this hotel was awesome.
clean, beautiful and confortable. If you go to the parks, I recommend this hotel as a first option.
It offers shuttle to disneylan for 5 buck a day...

Room Tip: Make sure if you want two beds, that you get two beds and not a bed and a Sofa bed... That happened...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RenierHurtado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to read our hotel met all of your family needs. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Disney parks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Comfortable, Clean, best staff that cares for its guests. Yes, there is more Disney families staying here, but I have been staying at this hotel over 15 years for business stays. I bring others I work with from all over the world to stay here. It is a hotel that all would and do return to for its comfort and friendly staff.

Room Tip: West side of building on bottom floor has car traffic noise.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WmDCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel Mr. Cook! We are thrilled to read that our staff provides you with outstanding service every time you visit. We thank you for taking the time to write us a review amd we look forward to seeing you again next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I probably wouldn’t have picked the Ayres as a preferred hotel but we arrived in Anaheim a day earlier than initially intended and needed a cheap overnighter before moving to a hotel that we had already booked and paid for that was closer to Disney. The Ayres was a bargain – one of those secret deals. And. Free parking + breakfast +Wi-Fi (winning!)

We were kind of surprised when we arrived. We expected a bit of a roach motel but the Ayres was anything but. It definitely ticks the box on all of its three stars and perhaps a bit more.

Rooms have been refurbished in recent years and were more than comfortable. Great bed and a modernised bathroom. Not fancy but definitely more than we’d expected. The pool didn’t look amazingly appealing but was clean and there was a whirlpool. Enough to keep kids happy I’d suspect.

To be fair the breakfast was a bit gruesome as the place was packed and definitely caters to the family on a budget market. A sort of public feeding trough if you will. That said. The breakfast was free so really you can’t complain but I definitely wouldn’t be paying for it.

Our only gripe is the Wi-Fi – they really need to make sure that the reception is good in all of the rooms as ours was hopeless.

Prior to heading to Anaheim we’d read reviews that had said that this hotel was quite a way from Disney but, to be honest, I disagree. No matter where you are in Anaheim there are shuttles a-plenty going to Disney. They are cheap too. The difference in travel time between a hotel on the edge of the suburb and one on the main strip is negligible. At least you get free on-site parking at the Ayres and the shuttle will take you right to the door of Disney. You could drive to the parks but then you’d have to pay for parking and would, inevitably, end up catching a car park shuttle as the Disney parking lots are enormous and not all that close to the parks themselves. The hotel shuttles are definitely the way to go and being a little bit further out at the Ayres wouldn’t be a problem.

If we’d known that the Ayres would be as good as it was then we would have happily stayed there the whole time we were in Anaheim and saved our hotel dollars for hotels that we were actually going to spend time in.

Cheap. Cheerful. Positive experience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Drew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review. We are happy to read you experienced the great value or hotel has because of the complimentary breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. We are delighted found our rooms to be very comfortable and the ART shuttle to be just right for your needs.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range: $116 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing