We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here as it is close to Disneyland. It takes about 10 mins on the bus which picks you up directly outside. The hotel itself is lovely. Nice and clean with good rooms. Irving on check in was super helpful. The breakfast was very good. Proper plates cups and cutlery! So much nicer than plastic! The young lady who attended to he breakfast room really did a great job. I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are ecstatic to hear that Irving made your experience at our hotel memorable. We will make sure to celebrate his exceptional service. We are glad you were able to enjoy our breakfast and the transportation service to Disney. We thank you for your recommending us to other reviewers! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Free breakfast and late checkout upon request and for a price. Nice clean conferrable rooms. Not all Ayers Hotels have room service but this one dose. Close to the Block in Orange and lot to do in walking distance. But stay for your hard earned dollar

Room Tip: all rooms are the same no upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocstay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Thank you for sharing with our reviewers how clean our hotel is and the great features our hotel offers. We'd love to have you visit us soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great stay and I just love the pillows! Every staff person is friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning offers more than the usual continental affair.....every time I visit southern California, I stay at an Ayres!

Room Tip: I was on the fourth floor in a room with just one queen and it was cozy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to the Ayres Hotels! We are pleased to read that you love our pillows, breakfast buffet and most importantly, our staff's service! We thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A clean and new-feeling hotel, priced reasonably, near Disneyland with an extremely friendly staff

Room was spacious enough and well laid out, though it would have been nice if they had taken some space from the entryway to add to the bathroom.

Some gotchas that are typical of many hotels in this price range. Drinking cups are crumply plastic, wrapped in plastic - an actual glass would be nice. "Free Wifi" worth its price (i.e., essentially unusable) - very spotty coverage throughout the hotel, and the speed very slow even when a connection is made. Fitness room a tiny afterthought with ceilings so low you bump your head from the elliptical. Free breakfast edible enough, but served in a tiny cafe room far too small to handle the capacity crowd (and the several signs pleading with people not to take their food into the lobby imply this is a common situation).

And suffers from a very common design mistake in the modern prefab hotel - meager elevator capacity relative to demand at peak times. With six floors, there's not much option to use the stairs. One weekday morning I waited almost fifteen minutes for an available elevator on the sixth floor, and of course it took another five minutes to reach the ground floor, stopping at every floor too full to accommodate the children eager to go to Disneyland.

Convenient to various highways - though in Orange County, what isn't? - and overall a fair value for the price. Just not going to wow you with any special wonderfulness.

Room Tip: Ask at the front desk if they know of a room with strong wifi coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talisker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas we need to improve on. In regards to our breakfast room, I do want to advise you we anticipate the expansion of the restaurant to be completed by the end of January. We will also re-visit ideas to better our fitness center. We are pleased to read that you found our hotel to be clean, new-feeling and that our staff provided excellent customer service. Please feel free to contact me at szuno@ayreshotels.com to further discuss your concerns. Thank you in advance for your time, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I am not one to travel and stay in hotels very often since my husband and I have a motor home.. but when I have and because of seeing family or actually a family emergency, I've chosen Ayres. I've stayed at an Ayer's in Yorba Linda many times and of course have nothing but great things to say.
This time I drove to CA. alone for a family emergency and stayed at the Ayers in Orange close to St. Josephs Hospital in Orange.
I was alone and am a 63 year old gal. I am always so comfortable at Ayers.. The rooms are always very clean and I'm a VERY picky!
For whatever your reasons are I would highly recommend Ayers. I would go to this hotel or the one in Yorba Linda in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SegwayKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to the Ayres Hotels! It is wonderful to read that our hotels are your favorite choice. It has been our pleasure to be your home away from home during your visit to the Orange area. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

One of my relatives had surgery at the UCI Medical Center across the street from the Ayres Inn Orange. The location is excellent and with the free parking, I was able to leave the car at the hotel and walk to the hospital daily. The hot buffet breakfast was very good and they changed several dishes daily, so one would not have to eat the same thing every morning. That staff was very very accommodating and very friendly. One delightful perk was the chocolate chip cookies they had at the front desk in the evening! Unfortunately, sometimes my stay at the hospital didn't allow me to return until later in the evening, so I missed the cookies :-(. However, after a couple of missed cookie evenings, I asked the front desk if they could save some cookies for me...which they did...and boy, was I a happy camper that night. Good price, good breakfast, good beds, and good cookies. What more can you ask for? I'd definitely stay here again!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank AroundTheWorldLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing with our reviewers about your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to read that our hotel was an excellent choice while you visited family at the UCI Medical center. We are happy to read our staff took well care of you and that we even saved you some cookies! We do aim to please, here at Ayres Inn Orange and look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Excellent hotel. Normally stay across the street from Disneyland, but this hotel was far superior. Clean, modern rooms with lots of shelf space in the closet area of the room (much more than most hotel rooms). Very bright, modern bathrooms. Free parking (hard to come by in the Disneyland area) with 2-storey parkade on site. Quick trip to Disneyland available every half-hour on ART shuttle with only 1 stop between hotel and Disneyland. Next door to Wendy's and Best Buy. Close to Outlets at Orange and 5 minute drive to other nearby restaurants, Target, Von's, etc. Only 1 complaint which is beyond the hotel's control: cable company programs in-room TV's so that additional devices cannot be connected. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We take pride in our hotel as we strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations. We are so pleased to read our hotel exceeded yours! Thank you for highlighting the great features our hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Disneyland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
860 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range: $130 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing