We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff and Conditions at Ayres Inn Orange CA”
Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Staff and Conditions at Ayres Inn Orange CA”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for a period of 3.5 Weeks due to my Husband being an Emergency Patient at UCI Hospital across the road. Being from Australia we had no Family or Friends , hence no where to stay .The Hospital Staff recommended Ayres Inn , and we were so blessed to have the Fabulous Hotel so close by. The Staff and Hotel were just what we needed in our Situation and we recommend it to all who visit Orange CA ,. Disneyland is very close and they have the Shuttle Bus pick up's every hour. A very Family friendly Hotel. Grace and Bob Baile. Australia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review Mr. & Mrs. B! We miss you around here, but we are so glad Mr. B is doing much better and that you made it back to Australia safely. We were glad to be your home away from home for those four weeks. We thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    456
    118
    48
    31
See reviews for
748
252
64
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slc
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is a very good hotel. Then the day my family got woke up by people hammering and moving beds out of the next room.
Also the lobby was very nicely decorated and the cookies were great! The free breakfast was yummy,my favorite part of the breakfast was the sausage and eggs! Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for comments. We are glad to read you were able to enjoy our great breakfast and our cookies in the evenings! I'm very sorry for the inconvenience caused due to loud noise on the morning of your check out. We thank you for advising us that morning, we are glad we were able to address your concern immediately. We want our guests to have a relaxing & enjoyable stay. We thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We thought it was a fantastic hotel. We stayed for 4 nights for our Disneyland trip for a family reunion, all 24 of us stayed there. We loved the breakfast, the shuttle service was awesome, the staff was friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay. We will make sure if we plan a return trip to book this hotel and I will be and have already been recommending it to others that might be planning a stay in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We are thrilled to read that all 24 members of your family found our hotel to be fantastic! We thank you for your kind feedback, we do our very best to make our guests’ stay enjoyable, and accommodate our guests needs. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to having the opportunity to serving all of your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed there from Oct. 23rd-27th. The staff at the desk, the cleaning crew & the breakfast crew were excellent! Our room was very nice. Our decision to stay there is based on proximity to Disneyland, tripadvisor reviews posted for this location, parking and breakfast included w/in price. All benefits provided w/in price is Not something easily found w/in the entire area unless you want to pay a lot more. The breakfast turned out to be a LOT more than what I was expecting and very good. This Inn is family run and they definitely care how their guests are treated. They made fresh sugar cookies every day for all guests....a little extra touch....We definitely recommend this place and would easily stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We are very happy to read you had an excellent stay at our hotel! We appreciate you recommending us to others. We thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed for one night so that we could attend the Disneyland Halloween party, the room itself was pretty nice, it was clean and pretty well appointed. We arrived really early and the room wasn't ready yet which was sort of expected, they said they would call us when the room was ready, (which they never did) but when she looked at our reservation to get the phone # so she could call us to tell us the room was ready my husband said she was condescending when she saw we booked through Expedia which was disappointing. She also needed a credit card to put a hold for expenses which was fine except for the fact that she didn't say anything about the fact that it was twice what we paid for the reservation, it would've been nice if they had advised us of that. Like I said though besides the poor service at the front desk the hotel was nice and if you don't mind those types of issues than I would recommend them because everything was clean and pretty and they also have a complimentary breakfast, (I can't review that because we woke up too late to partake in it) but a nice feature.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honest feedback. I would like to apologize for any miscommunication that may have occurred between you and our staff. We do our best to accommodate early check-ins as best as we can. We apologize if you felt we treated you unfairly because you booked through Expedia. Please be assured the amount of early check-ins we are able to grant correlates with how busy our hotel is. I would like to personally apologize that our hotel did not exceed your expectations.
I invite you to please contact me directly so that we can discuss your stay in further detail. You can reach me at szuno@ayreshotels.com. Here at Ayres Inn Orange, we take pride in our hotel as we strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations. I regret that we failed to provide you with anything short of excellent customer service. Thank you for your time. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Clean rooms and very friendly staff that were willing to help with any and all questions. The breakfast was pretty good and the staff their were also terrific. Over all it was a pleasant stay and I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that our front desk and breakfast team were very helpful to you during your stay with us.
It is great that you enjoyed our complimentary Full-American breakfast buffet that is served from 6:30am-9:00am Monday through Friday, and 7am-10am Saturday and Sunday.
Thank you again for your review of our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Disneyland and had stayed at Ayres Inn Orange. It was a decent place to rest at night but there's nothing "wow" about this inn. It's old and dated, and personally I'm not a fan of the decor. The plus side: breakfast was included (scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon [depending on the day], potatoes, pancakes, cereal, croissants, toasts, fruits) and plenty of parking available. There's a parking structure onsite and construction/expansion of the inn currently underway. The housekeeping also did a great job during our stay!

There were a couple downsides during one of our nights. The walls are thin and you can easily hear conversations from next door. Friday night of our stay, there was a large wedding party staying at the inn. Those guests were rowdy and disruptive (it was a celebration, people were drunk...they had a good time... I get it...) and despite numerous complaints from several guests to the front desk, things didn't calm down until after 2:30am. Several rooms were supposed to be evicted (that was what we were told), however, I'm not sure if they really were. We stayed adjacent to one of the rooms that was supposed to be evicted but I don't think that was the case. We stayed on the first floor close to the side exit (that leads directly to the parking structure) and could hear constant slamming of the side door as the wedding crowd was coming and going. If possible, I would suggest asking for another floor. My parents stayed on the sixth floor and it was a much better location--complete with a great view of Disneyland fireworks! We booked via Hotels.com but my father booked directly with Ayres on the phone, not sure if we were given an "inferior" room because we used a third-party website. [We paid about the same price, so it wasn't like we paid significantly less for it...]

All in all, it was a good place to catch up on rest between our fun-filled, tiring days at the Diseyland Resort and surrounding SoCal. I doubt we will be coming back to Ayres Inn though.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter Avoid Room 120 if possible; the exit door to the parking structure is rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear K Y,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a candid review of your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is nice to know that we were your haven to recuperate after your fun filled days. However, our sincerest apologies if one of your nights was disrupted by fellow guests. We truly strive to make every one of our guest's stays as pleasant as possible and are so very disappointed we did not succeed in that goal with your visit. Also, we do apologize if it seems that we did not give you a preferential room because you booked with a third party website. Typically, rooms are given based upon availability on arrival. Please be assured we would have given you a room right near your parents had it been available. Again, our deepest apologies if your stay was anything less than exceptional. We do hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Christine Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
786 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,097 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Property: ALO Hotel
Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orange
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing