We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Ayres” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great stay at Ayres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I couldn't recommend Ayres Inn Orange more highly. The staff is so courteous. The room are clean and well furnished. Our housekeeper made the beds every mornind and tucked the kids' stuffed animals into their bed. The free breakfast had plenty of good food. The pool area isn't huge, but it is clean and the hot tub is nice. The location is far enough away from Disney not to have chaos and traffic, but a close shuttle ride to the park. The ART picks up every 30 minutes and cost our family about $14 for 2 adults 2 children.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We love reading our guests had a great experience at our hotel! We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for sharing with our reviewers how great our breakfast is, how clean and comfortable our rooms are and how easy it is to get to and from Disneyland. Thank you for recommending us to others. We look forward to your next stay at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    428
    108
    45
    31
See reviews for
694
236
60
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff was refreshingly accommodating and helpful. We had a few problems with the room: A/C wasn't working, ceiling fan was off kilter, light bulb burn out; however the staff got on it right away and took care of the matter. The outdoor pool is chilly when not in the sun yet the hot tub is pleasant. Breakfast is consistent daily with scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, croissants, fresh cut melon and either bacon or sausage. Peanut butter and jelly is available to make a sandwich. The workout room is smll, however it had a decent elliptical machine, recumbent bike and treadmill. A TV and fan were available in the room. Fridges in all rooms and a microwave on the second floor for use. Hotel is near the Orange Outlet Mall and Red Robin.Starbucks and Wendy's next door.
Easy ART shuttle to Disneyland for $5 each RT daily. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing Wendy's lets you see the Disneyland fireworks on the weekends at 9:30 pm, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 81skate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Your review was a pleasure to read. Thank you for sharing about your wonderful experience at our hotel. We appreciate you recommending us to our other reviewers! We look to seeing you next time you visit the Anaheim/Orange area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect when visiting this hotel as none of my colleagues or friends have stayed here before, but I was pleasantly surprised and cannot say anything bad about my stay. When we walked in, the lobby was clean and beautiful with an accommodating and friendly front desk staff. The lobby bathrooms were clean and close by which was appreciated after a long travel while we got our paperwork in order.

The room we had included a king sized bed and sofa bed (not used) which was comfortable and had really nice sheets. Not sure if they are in every room but ours included an iron, ironing board, single cup coffee machine, hangers and an open wardrobe, a large sized TV, and a writing desk. A card was left on the bed giving you an option to reuse your sheets if desired, which is a cool option for Eco-consious guests. There were always more than enough towels in the bathroom and every evening when we came back to our room after a day at Disneyland, we appreciated the upkeep the staff did.

As other guests have mentioned, there were cookies in the lobby at around 8:00PM on our way to the hot tub (open until 10PM!) which was a nice treat, and always fresh lemon water. Breakfast was fresh, filling, and a great value with scrambled eggs, (salsa, cheese optional), sausage or bacon (switched every day), pancakes, hashbrowns, bagels, toast, cereal, orange juice, milk, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, croissants, and coffee cake. Amazing!

We didn't hear any sort of noise from the construction, and rarely anything from the hallway or other rooms. We took the ART from the hotel to the resort and it arrived promptly every day right in front of the doors which was nice after a long day walking. Since the hotel is a bit farther out compared to the other ones, the shuttle was rarely crowded which was also a bonus. The "constant fan" setting on the A/C in the room took care of any outside noise.

If I HAD to pick one thing I could change it would be that on weekdays breakfast is until 9 - one day I wanted to sleep in and almost missed it but the early bird gets the worm ;)

Hotel front desk staff were friendly and helpful while the cleaning staff were professional and careful. I cannot stop telling my colleagues about this hotel, and I'm sure I'll be staying again very soon!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator and facing the Best Buy, as high as you can go - you can see so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladypickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for comments! We are happy to read you found our rooms to be comfortable, our quality of our breakfast to be great and our Front Desk staff to be friendly. Thank you for staying at Ayres Inn Orange. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The work out room is tiny, windowless and depressing. If you want to go outside to run or bike... the "bike path" near there looks like a nuclear holocaust has swept through... pebbles sand concrete... depressing. The path gets better a few miles away.
Also, the hotel is located off the highway between giant street X and giant street Y. No place to run or enjoy around there at all.

If you eat even mildly healthy, the breakfast is.... less than marginal. soggy pancakes stacked in a steamer... your basic eggs and fatty meat and greasy potato, cereal choices ok (they had raisin bran). Bagels that were really just round pieces of white bread.. nothing actually like a bagel. Fruit salad, yes. Mediocre sugar pastries of some sort. I would have appreciated ANY hard boiled eggs, Greek or low sugar yogurt... some source of protein that wasn't fatty salty stuff. But there were lots of giant families visiting Disney that were running around the overcrowded breakfast area... so if you are a giant Disney family that likes this kind of food, then this is a good choice.

That said, this place was just a few feet from Starbucks -- where you can get things with egg whites... so there IS an option.

The service was good. They all meant well.. it was just

Room Tip: We faced the parking lot... which at least didn't face the highway... for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanarsieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear CanarsieGal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a candid review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent experience at our hotel. Our sincerest apologies if you felt our hotel was not agreeable to your lifestyle. We truly strive to offer the best possible accommodations, including a fitness facility, and are saddened to see that we did not meet your expectations. As for the breakfast, we do try to offer some health conscious options but are so sorry if they did not satisfy. Again, we truly apologize for any inconveniences during your stay and hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Christine Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel for your out of town trip to Disneyland, business trip or a weekend with friends. Very accomodating staff. Great location. They are currently adding on to the hotel; but it poses no problems for guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our staff took great care of you.
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you the next time you visit the Anaheim/Orange area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from Ayres Inn. We were quickly greeted and were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was large, very clean and had a fridge. We enjoyed the free breakfast each morning which helped us save money. After a long day at Disney, we loved the big container of ice water with lemon and free cookies available in the lobby. Even though the Ayres Inn is a little further away from Disney-it is well worth the drive. It also has an Wendy's next door which was convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wllsmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We love reading our guests had a great experience at our hotel. Thank you for sharing with our reviewers the great value our hotel has because of our breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms are of course because our cookies! We thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you the next time you visit Disneyland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is a good place. My husband and I stayed and our stay was good. The parking is safe and free. The complementary breakfast is good but make sure you are there at least 30 minutes before close as the food runs out about that time and they don't refill it. The beds are good and we had good sleep. The bathrooms are also pretty clean. The only constructive feedback would be that they have only two ice machines in the hotel for customer and one wasn't working when we were there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveller1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a good stay and that you enjoyed our complimentary Full American breakfast buffet and our clean and very comfortable rooms. We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the ice machines. Both ice machines are in service now. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the Orange/Anaheim area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
5.9 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
1.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Property: ALO Hotel
Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing