We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Salt Lake City, UT
1 review
“Friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ayre's Inn Orange has become my preferred choice for frequent visits to the area, not only because of the reasonable rates, convenient location, and clean rooms, but for the staff's attentiveness and caring. On my recent stay, the driver arranged was considerably late, and the hotel compensated me for my troubles. I was grateful that they remedied an otherwise unpleasant situation. I'll continue to stay at this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CallaLily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    429
    108
    45
    31
See reviews for
695
236
60
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights & although the rooms were nice & the beds were comfortable, we got hardly any sleep because the walls were so paper thin we could hear our neighbor snoring & it even vibrated through the walls. It was miserable. great location, close to shops & Disneyland & the breakfast was nice, though. would contemplate staying at an Ayres again, but I'm not sure about this location. it looks as though they renovated an older hotel, maybe that's why the walls were thin? Love the decor though!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Air88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The price was great. We were really surprised about how good the hot breakfast was. So nice! The cleanliness was great. You could tell the hotel is wearing a bit, but it was still fone.
We did have a really noisy family next door. They had a late night and very early risers. You could hear every word they were saying about Disneyland. Kind of hard to sleep past 6AM when we ourselves got in late from traveling. Not sure if it was because we we're put in a joining room or not, but I would hope the insulation is better in a regular room?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrightfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was a guest of Chapman University, a few minutes away by the free hotel shuttle, which was much appreciated. The 4th floor room had everything I needed: free wifi (fine for emails, too slow for streaming, a desk to work at, leather sofa and coffee table for relaxing, fkat screen TV, fridge, super-comfortable bed , good bathroom.

The air conditioning was a little noisy and woke me up once or twice.

Front desk staff very efficient and friendly too.

Breakfasts (included) were fine. Good scrambled egg and bacon.

The room you eat them in was not pretty: sticky dark brown wood tables, big plastic bowls into which the well-trained guests would stack their used crockery and cutlery - it all felt a bit like an old fashioned school canteen, an impression reinforced but eh presence of large school paties of well-behaved teenagers on two days of the week I stayed. But what the hell, you could help yourself to as much coffee and orange juice as you liked.

No bar, but a great-value liquor store five minutes walk away!

All in all: not the Four Seasons, but it does the job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewdaviesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice service and old world touch but no on-demand movies, terrible concierge parking experience, old and uncomfortable beds/bedding, furniture and thin walls.

Disappointing one-night stay and would definitely not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed there for a meeting at the Anaheim Convention Center. It was a little out of the way, but only 5 minutes by car. The hot breakfast was much more than the usual cold cereal at most locations. The free parking and free Internet were a definite plus. We are planning another visit to take our Grand kids to Disney land.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverRat1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba - Parana - Brasil
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed 3 nights from April,17th till 20th. I did 2 requests when I booked the hotel that it was my at the highest level of the hotel and facing disneyland fireworks, but they put me on the ground level, facing the entrance of the pool....lol

I arrived at the hotel at 2pm but they said the hotel as full the night before and my room would just be really ready at 4pm. I went to take a walk at Orange Outlet Mall that is just in front of the hotel and when I came back my room was ready.

I had a car and I never had any problem on parking it. The never heard any noise from the street too.

The room is a little bit dark and they never replaced the amenities, so everytime I needed to go to the lobby and ask for shampoo and soap.

The breakfast is till 9am during week days and till 10am on weekends. The room is a little bit small for such so many people, but they have good choices, except for the yougurt that I never saw any there.

The hotel is perfect for who is visiting Disneyland and Knott Ferry Farms. From the hotel I found fast access to malls and supermarket and there is a Best Buy just in the corner. So cool!

I would stay at this hotel again for sure, but its not a fancy property.

Room Tip: Try to wake up early so u wont get stucked between so many people at the line to have breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We truly appreciate our guest feedback.
I'd first like to apologize for not having your room preference available. Although we do try to fill all our guests’ requests, at times we are unable to due to our high peak seasons.
I am glad you were able to experience how close we are to so many attractions, shopping malls, restaurants and convenience stores.
We thank you for your stay at our hotel and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
5.9 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Property: ALO Hotel
Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orange
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing