We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jobie Reunion at Connie's”
Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stockton, California
1 review
“Jobie Reunion at Connie's”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

All was really nice with a couple of exceptions. The lack of full room service was an issue for us as we travel with our small old dog and dont ever leave him alone in the room. I asked prior to booking if there was room service and was told yes but it's limitations were not explained. A second issue was the overnight desk clerk told me we could not sit on the outside patio with our dog for our complementary breakfast. I had been told at the restraunt the night before we COULD eat outside with the dog. He also stated we could not take our breakfast to our room so we could eat together. I questioned why and was told they didn't want food in the rooms to draw rats! I questioned this as there was limited room services (food in the room!). he had no real answer. When I spoke to the morning desk clerk is apologized for the incorrect information provided by his overnight associated.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor by choice. An interior view of the garden area would have been much ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csmith_9, General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel, the Ayres Inn Orange. I was very embarrassed when I read you had been given incorrect information regarding allowing your pet in our patio area. We pride ourselves on being a Pet Friendly hotel and know how important pets are to their owners. Yes, we do allow pets in the outside patio!! We will be using this incident as a teaching moment for our next front desk meeting and I will discuss with my staff the correct information that should have been provided to you. It is correct that we do not allow breakfast food to be taken up to our rooms, but not due to wanting to prevent "rats." My face is now double "red" with embarrassment. The reason we do not allow food upstairs is strictly a housekeeping issue. Due to the high number of families with kids we found too many rooms with syrup in the carpets, eggs accidentlydropped, spilt beverage trails in the hallways and overflowing piles of dishes. Breakfast is served and meant to be consumed in our dining room, outside patio or overflow room.
Again, thank you for bringing this to my attention and please accept my apology for our miscommunication.

Christine Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    456
    118
    48
    31
See reviews for
748
252
64
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

When I booked our Disneyland vacation, I was expecting a not so great hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. We were able to check in early and the Front Desk staff were overly accommodating. Other than the construction noise and dust, the pool, garden area and hot tub were well used by my family. The breakfast was good, hot and fresh. I was expecting a microwave in the room based on another Ayres property. Would have been a nice thing to have since some families are on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are close to ice and vending machines and the only microwave in the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VCKSUTGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are glad your family enjoyed our Full-American breakfast buffet, pool and spa.
We are very happy to read our staff exceeded your expectations!
As you stated in the room tip, we do have a microwave available in our 2nd floor vending room. It is accessible at all times to our guests. We also have a few additional microwaves that are available for our guests. We ask that our guests inquire about one prior to their stay to check for availability.
We thank you for choosing the Ayres Inn Orange during your visit to Disneyland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently went to Disney for a quick weekend getaway and wanted to stay somewhere reasonably close for a good price. Using the fantastical name-your-own-price tool from that hilarious Canadian who used to fly the USS Enterprise, we achieved a great two night stay for $75 a night. A+ for cost. After leaving the Parks, we quickly jumped onto the 5 South for a quick half mile drive and once we exited, the Hotel is directly on the Right off Chapman. A+ for accessibility. We arrived around midnight and the only downfall was that their parking garage is under construction however a quick chat with the front desk agent resulted in them allowing us to park directly in front under the overhang. A+ for customer service. After checking in we were pleasantly surprised how spacious the room was (fold out leather couch) and equipped with a medium size mini fridge (great for keeping your kids chocolate milk cold or bottles of water for the middle of the night "i'm thirsty" moments). The wife was a huge fan of the incredibly clean and what looked like newly upgraded bathrooms. A+ for accommodations. In addition, zero noise from the highway. Great hotel and can't wait to go back. Also, free breakfast was offered from 6am-10am although we didn't get a chance to try it, still a great perk.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be great choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this hotel for a trip to Disneyland. Check in was good, the only little snafu was we were given keys to the wrong room by accident. But, it was a busy time and the clerk had a lot going on. We got it fixed and checked it. Rooms were a little small, and it became apparent after about an hour that we would rather have a separate room (adjoining) for our kids to keep everybody's sanity. So we reserved a second room and got two adjoining rooms. Breakfast each day is excellent! Buffet includes eggs, bacon or sausage, pancakes, hash browns, cereal, melon, and other pastries. Very filling and a good start to our days at Disneyland. We caught the ART shuttle each day at the hotel entrance and rode that to the Disneyland and back. Takes about 10-15 minutes even though it's just a couple miles away. Traffic is slow. Pool area was good in the hotel, though it is situated in kind of a strange area and it will be in the shade after about 2pm, which was cold for us in early April. Hot tub could use a little more heat as well. Overall the hotel was very clean, felt more upscale than what we paid and I always appreciate that. The soft chocolate chip cookies at the front desk after a long day are a nice touch! Excellent service staff, all were very friendly especially Luis and another girl whose name I did not catch. We may be back for our next Disney trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KATB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I chose this hotel based on the great reviews for cleanliness and service. They were great with that. The air conditioning worked wonderfully!

However, their low flow toilets took a good 3 flushings just to get TP down and the bathroom fans were not very good. We were glad we had a blow up bed because the pull out bed in the couch was very uncomfortable. I had also picked this place for the free breakfast, but it turns out that it was only served until 9 and there wasn't much food and you had to eat it in the room provided...couldn't take it up to your room, which for us, meant that we only at breakfast there one day because not all of my family was up and ready early enough.

One major compliant is parking. Their parking garage was under construction...they offered free valet parking, but only during certain hours. One night we had to circle around several times before someone happened to leave and we took their spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chooe this hotel based on the reviews on this site. The reviews on the service are spot on; It is top notch. That is where the positives end. The pictures of the lobby are very deceiveing. The rooms and the rest of the facilities are outdated and small. The breakfast was not good and the room you dish up and eat in is small and dirty with horrible furniture. You can eat in the restaurant when it's open for overflow, but the buffet is so overwhelmed with people it's difficult to get in and out. The coffee is very bad, I went to the Starbuck next door after the first day. There was a group of teenagers with the car stereo's booming in the Best Buy on Staurday night and you could hear them unitl 4:00 am. The parking is miserable with the slots on the east side dangerously too small. I might try anohter Ayers due to the service, but not this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtahBrowntrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our first stay at the Ayres Inn and we could not have been more delighted. The hotel is just a few miles from Disneyland which puts you far enough away from the crowds, but just a few minutes away by their shuttle. We usually stay at the Doubletree across the street but for the price difference and the free breakfast and parking we got a GREAT bargain.

Our room was very large with a king, a sparkling clean bathroom with modern fixtures and a granite counter. The bed was comfy and warm. In the morning the hot breakfast was delicious and plentiful. There were eggs, pancakes, bacon or sausage, fruit, yogurt, cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, coffee, tea, juice and water. There were also delicious cookies at the front desk! Although parking was limited, they always had complimentary valet available and parking was FREE which is rare in the area. The folks at the front desk could not have been more pleasant. Each time we came or went we were greeted warmly.

We got our reservations through Priceline on a Name-Your-Own-Price bid at $79 per night. This was a fantastic deal -- highly recommended.

If you are going to Disney and want a nice, clean, not-too-far-away place to call home, you should consider the Ayres Inn. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsneymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
789 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,096 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Property: ALO Hotel
Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing