We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for our family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay for our family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our recent Disneyland vacation. Room was clean, breakfast was free, shuttle to Disneyland came regularly and was a pleasant, short ride. Starbucks and fast food was nearby when we needed it, and outlet shopping was just a block away as well. Overall, a great experience at this hotel!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for leaving us your review. We are glad to read you and your family found the great value our hotel has because of the complimentary breakfast, proximity to restaurants, outlet stores and Disney. We are happy to have given your family a great experience. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    400
    101
    44
    31
See reviews for
645
218
56
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno County, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Access to the hotel from Interstate 5 is extremely simple. The offramp leads straight to the portico.

I am always treated like family here. Staff is friendly, caring, and capable.

The lobby daily newspaper is most welcome.

In addition to the staff the other guests are quite friendly.

Room Tip: no tip needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your short and sweet review Mr. O. You know you are family to us! Thank you for letting our reviewers know the close proximity to the 5 freeway. We would like to also let our reviewers know that the 57 and the 22 freeways are less than half a mile away as well. We thank you once again for your feedback and we will see you here next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stay here mostly because of the great location. It is across the street from UCI Medical Center where I have to have a medical procedure performed about every 3 to 4 months so we try to make it a romantic getaway and mix business with pleasure. The only thing I require at a mid level hotel like the Ayres is a good night sleep due to having to get up very early for my medical procedure at UCI across the street. Its always very stressful. My only complaint is the excessive amount of noise in the hallways at all hours. I realize this hotel is near the theme parks in the O.C. so a lot of families with small children will be staying here but the staff need to make an effort to stress to the adults that they need to keep their kids in check. They run rampant up and down the halls all night. We never let our children act like this. We have always taught them to show respect for others. Due to the fact that the human race is losing all natural respect for its fellow man, I think the least the Aryes management can do is sound proof the rooms so regular customers can get a good night sleep. I stay here 4 to 6 times a year so I spend a lot of hard earned dollars here. All I ask is that I get a good nights sleep. Other than that the hotel is clean and comfortable. The cafe is average and over priced. The pool is nice when not over run by small children and diaper aged infants whose parents seem oblivious to the fact that they could be peeing and pooping while in the water so be careful. If Ayres can do something about the noise from inside the hotel and from the street noise outside, and get a handle on the disrespectful families I would gladly give it a 5 star rating. Its clean and the staff is very professional and friendly and the free breakfast is really good! I know I'm asking too much... But I can dream right? I'm considering trying the Double Tree hotel across the street next time. It's slightly more expensive but maybe I'll be able to sleep through the night.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and run a small fan to overcome noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S0CALNATIVE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your thoroughly written response. We would like to apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. Please know we try our best to routinely check the hallways and pool to avoid noise complaints. We also highly encourage our guests to contact us without hesitation, when there is a concern. We want you to have a relaxing & enjoyable stay, so we are more than happy to correct what we can as soon as possible.
We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Feel free to contact me at szuno@ayreshotels.com for future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 4 were greeted with a very friendly front desk staff....and cookies! When arriving into our room we were happy to find a very clean updated room. The swimming pool was warm and the kids had fun. My wife said the Disney shuttle bus ($5.00 each person) was nice and driver was very friendly. The cafe looked great and seemed busy at night. Wanted to go and sit on the outdoor patio but didn't have enough time. The "cafe" menu did look a little unusual to me. Maybe us being from Wisconsin, we don't know Cali cuisine? The complimentary hot breakfast buffet was exceptional...complete with bacon, eggs, hash browns, pancakes, fresh fruit, bagels and toast. We had a slight problem with our room not being cleaned in error. The manager took it upon herself to help make it up to us without us even requesting anything. She was so generous and really cares about the image of this property! The night desk manager let me print my boarding passes and was really friendly. If hotel management reads this review...I would leave the breakfast up at least 10 miniutes after 9am for those people who are running a little late. It really is disappointing to miss it by only a few minutes. I did see a few disappointed guests come in a couple minutes after 9am only to find the food trays taken out. The chef and one other person looked angered as they removed the trays to the kitchen. Seemed as if they were upset that people were still in the dining area after 9am when they were shutting it down. For many guests the last impression of their stay is breakfast so I think that could use some improvement to gain even more repeat business. :) With all this said, I still think this was one of our best hotel stays we have ever had. I appreciate that they really care about this property and understand why they are rated one of the best!



  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Widad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We really do care about our guests!! It was our pleasure having you stay with us. Here at Ayres Inn Orange, we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and by the looks of it, it seems like we did just that! We thank you for advising us of the behavior from our breakfast team. We assure our guests, this will not happen again. Thank you for your recent stay. Please visit us again, when your travels bring you to the Orange/Anaheim area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las vegas, nevada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable. I forgot the toothbrushes and tooth paste at home. I told the front desk staff and they gave us complimentary brushes with tooth paste! Thank you so much for that. The breakfast was very good. I loved loved the oatmeal. The cookies and fresh lemon water were a bonus after a long day at Disney. The shuttle picks up right out front. The shuttle on this route was never over crowded. Housekeeping went above and beyond. What a treat to come back to our room with our Disney pillow pets and blankets placed so sweetly on the bed. Wifi was easy to get on and worked great for our needs. We loved it so much we tried to book for Thanksgiving but they only had a 1 king left :(. We our however coming back for winter break!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1955mickeyfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are thrilled to read we exceeded your family's expectations! Thank you for taking the time to have breakfast with us, use the ART shuttle and have some our cookies! Like you advised our reviewers, in case our guests forgot some things at home, we do have toothbrushes, toothpaste, shaving kits, combs, sewing kits and a few more things. We thank you for booking your December reservation with us! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Ayers is a great stay for a good price when visiting Disneyland. I don't mind the ten minute or less drive, either. The ART stops here, so you can use the shuttle to go to the theme park if you want to avoid extra parking fees,

Rooms are nice and spacious, but the bathroom seems just a tad small, yet it's the right side to do the basics and enough counter room for your toiletries. The restroom is clean too to bottom, and uv light inspection showed no serious residue in the bathtub.

The living area is quite lovely and spacious. The room passed our white glove and bed sheet exam. Also, no dust was found in the whole room, so their cleaning is impeccable. They provide enough channels for entertainment, a large room fridge for your needs, and a cute closet dresser to hang clothes. They provide 10 hangers for clothing and have a laundry option. Full iron board with iron is available, along with one extra pillow and fluffy sheet. There are ample outlets in the room as well, so plug away.

The overall experience has been nice. Their front desk staff in the day is quite friendly. The graveyard staff person was quiet and did not greet us upon late night entry, which we found a bit strange. Being in the hotel industry, we expect all staff and all times of day or night to greet warmly and be attentive. This one just paced around and looked up without acknowledging us.

The complimentary full breakfast provides sausage, scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, orange juice, milk, coffee, pancakes and fruit. Quite a spread. It's free and tastes good, so you can't go wrong with what they provide. In terms of room service, they schedule it only from 5-9pm, which I found strange, because boutique hotels usually offer room service all day or they do not offer it at all. Still, you can order a nice dinner and eat in the room during this time.

The cookies they advertise to (I assume) compete with doubletree across the way was it present or even mentioned. I did send an email today to the hotel to inquire to see what they say. It sounds ridiculous, but those small touches matter to many visitors. I hope that they do provide it even through their construction phase at this time.

Parking is interesting. Th construction blocks off one access way to the rear parking lot, and the closer parking is of course first come first serve. They have ample room in the rear lot, but the only access point from here is the main entrance. This will probably improve after the construction is done.

With Wendy's and Starbucks right next door, Block at Orange across the street and the freeway exit right next to the hotel, this is a great choice for any traveler, especially those visiting Disneyland and trying to save money.

It's been a good experience. I gave the hotel four stars for the amenities, room cleanliness, free parking, and complimentary full breakfast. Service was good in the day, but their graveyard front desk people really need to work on their happy face.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor to avoid noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karidaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed review! We thank you for advising our reviewers of our hotel's cleanliness, breakfast and restaurant hours. We appreciate your feedback regarding our Front Desk team and parking. We are sorry that a member of our staff was not friendly. We assure you this is not typical of our staff. Our entire staff's goal is to exceed our guests' expectations. Regarding parking, we suggest for our guests to contact us ahead of time, so that we may advise them the best way into the hotel and the best place to park. As you stated, it will definitely improve after the construction is finished. Thank you for your recent stay and we hope to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Ayres Inn in Orange during our trip to Disnyeland. We chose it because they offer free parking and a cheap suttle to the park. We had no problems with our room; it was comfortable, clean, odor-free and quiet. The property was nice and the staff was very polite. Being able to get to and from the park for $4 round-trip on the ART system was great. The only things we'd like to see improved are more than one person staffing the front desk - there were a couple of times we had to wait in line behind lengthy transactions - and improve the complimentary breakfast, which was disappointing considering the many great reviews here. The coffee was brackish, there was no bacon, the eggs and pancakes were dry. We were also kinda disappointed that there were no movies available on the TV, and it only offered very basic cable stations (not even the Weather Channel, which we really missed during Hurricane Sandy). Despite these minor inconveniences, we would stay here again when visiting Anaheim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary parking, the ART shuttle and your clean, quiet and comfortable room. We are also happy to read that our staff was very polite.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the Front Desk staffing, breakfast quality and TV channels options. We will further look into how we can improve all these areas, to provide a greater experience to our future guests.
We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you once again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 117 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Property: ALO Hotel
Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orange
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing