We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great disneyland trip”
Review of ALO Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ALO Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My family and I stayed at ayres inn during our trip to disneyland. We loved the hotel.
Every morning we had a lovely breakfast for free, eggs, bacon, potatoes cereal ,bagels, pancakes, assorted juices, milk and coffee.
The room was great for our family, one king bed and a pull out couch for the kids. It was very clean.
The pool was great, the hot tub with jets was a plus.
To get to disney the art bus drives right infront of the lobby. You do have to pay, but worth every penny so you dont have to deal with traffic and parking. The receptionist can sell you the passes, add them to your room. It comes by every half hour, there are really only 2 stops along this route (#14).
Overall I can see why ayres inn is #1. Ps the cookies at night are yummy!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lluvia0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you very much for letting our reviewers know why you loved our hotel! You gave great details about our complimentary breakfast buffet and the ART service. We are also glad you enjoyed the comfort of our king room, the pool and our cookies! We hope to have you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for about a month and it was superb!! I cannot stress how wonderful and accomodating the hotel staff were. It was always a pleasure walking in the front doors with a welcoming smile from the staff. We got to know Luis, Cory, Sandra and Christopher from the staff throughout our stay and they were wonderfully friendly and accomodating to all our questions. If we needed any extra sheets or toilet paper late in the night, they would always attend to our needs. The rooms were great as was the pool and jacuzzi. Plus, there were cookies on the front desk at various times during the day so that was always a nice treat. Our stay, which was about a month long, was extremely pleasant and we will return again when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rircardao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

It was our pleasure having you! Thank you for choosing us to be your home away from home. Thank you for your kind feedback. We are thrilled to read that Luis, Cory, Christopher made a lasting impression on you. We are really fortunate to have team members that truly care about our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved the Ayres Inn, Orange from our first glimpse of the lit up palm trees on the patio at night to everything else that followed. The hotel has lovely decor and is very inviting. The staff were always very helpful and accommodating and there was no wait time in regards to service. The courtyard outside is beautiful and the pool looked very inviting but since it was a business trip, there was no time to enjoy that feature. We did however enjoy the scrumptious hot breakfast in the morning and the hot and fresh breakfast cookies at reception! Our room was spotlessly clean and inviting and everything was up to par. We loved the Ayres Inn, Orange and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SportsMama88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love reading you had a wonderful stay! We are glad you got to enjoy our freshly baked cookies and that you took advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness and lovely decor of our hotel. We thank you for highly recommending us to everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Free breakfast, free wifi & free parking? What more could you ask for? I am amazed at any bad review regarding customer service here. I have been here for 3 days now, have 3 more to go. These people go above & beyond to be friendly & helpful. Luis & Cory checked us in & were very accommodating & got a portable crib for our baby, even offered to bake us fresh cookies since we missed them. They offered cabs for us, towels for the pool and gave info on where to buy supplies for our baby. We have always been greeted by every employee, even all the cleaning staff. We have really been made to feel at home here. They have a laundry room on our floor which has been very handy as well as a microwave on the 2nd floor for us to use. We have a larger than typical fridge in our room & the overall decor is warm & pleasant. The room is ultra clean & the bed & pillows are very comfortable. The onsite restaurant is where we have breakfast & it is so nice to eat outside on the patio. The breakfast will suit anyone. There are eggs, hash browns, sausage, pancakes, cereal, fruit, bagels & breads with jams, peanut butter & cream cheese. Coffee, tea, juices & milk. Yes it is the same everyday but considering the variety, you could eat something different every day. Our room is facing the pool which is also facing the busy road & the hospital but this has not been a problem at all. We have heard very few sirens & we have never been woken up by one. Yes there is construction going on beside the eating area during the week but again no issue to us at all. The pool is heated & the hot tub is nice & hot & there are nice table & chairs to sit at our lounge chairs for sunning. The location to us is ideal, 5 minute walk to the Orange Outlet shops, 15 minutes to Von's grocery & 20 mins to Target. There are great restaurants around & Starbucks is right next door. I could go on & on about the positives but there really have not been any negatives for us. And for the people who booked through Hotwire, no you are not treated any different. We booked Hotwire and can't believe the price we paid for such a great little boutique hotel. We have used Hotwire 11 times this year alone, this has been our favourite hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlieduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

We love hearing from our guests! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with our other reviewers! We are really happy to hear that our Cory and Luis were friendly and helpful. We will make sure to celebrate their outstanding customer service! Thank you for mentioning how clean, quiet our rooms are and how great our breakfast is! It really is a great value for our guests. We thank you for your recent stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Ayres to attend an Anaheim Angels game. We arrived at around 11 a.m. and had no problem checking in early in the same type of room we had reserved. The front desk clerk gave us easy and clear directions to walk to the game and nearby shopping. Everyone was polite and very helpful - we got extra coffee from a housekeeping staff member in the hallway. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. Really no complaints at all. We did take advantage of the free breakfast buffett and it was more than a continental breakfast as there were hot eggs, sausages and potatoes. However, they ran out of coffee and I had to go to the lobby to get some. Also, they got a bit behind on keeping the tables clean in the dining area and the patio. I don't consider this any kind of deal breaker for staying there again because most times I don't even eat at the hotel, but we had to be somewhere. And I think they went above and beyond anyway as many of the other mid-range chains only have cold cereals, fruit, yogurt and pastries. Very nice hotel and staff.

Room Tip: There is construction going on adjacent to the property so you might want so ask for a room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing with our reviewers, the great value our hotel has! We are happy to read you found our rooms to be comfortable, our quality of our breakfast to be great and our Front Desk staff to be friendly. Thank you for staying at Ayres Inn Orange. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I booked a room months in advance needing a room with 2 beds for ourselves and our teenage neice and her friend. When we checked into the room, we only had 1 bed. So I called the front desk and told him we booked a room for 4 people and needed 2 beds. When I suggested getting a different room, he was rude and told me that all the rooms were booked for the night as well as for the rest of our stay. When I informed him that we booked the room months in advance and we were from out of state, His only suggestion was to book another room with 2 beds at a different hotel and to get a refund from hotwire. I informed him there were no refunds from hotwire, his attitude was take it or leave it. When I informed the hotel management after we returned home about the poor service we received from the front desk.
The assistant manager was apologetic, but the general manager basically said it was our fault for using hotwire to book a room. They would not even try to work with us. Bad service, bad hotel. never staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMShiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly apologize that you had such an experience. During your visit, we were sold out unfortunately. The option of changing you into a room with two beds, was not possible. I would like the privilege to follow-up with you in more detail to prevent this from happening again. At your earliest convenience, please contact me at: 714-978-9168 or by email at: szuno@ayreshotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The best part of my stay was the close proximity to the Orange County attractions and the reasonable price for a weekend stay with parking, breakfast and internet included. The downside of this place from my perspective was the lack of cold air coming from the room's a.c. unit as well as the musty smell throughout the hallways and room. It generally lacks the charm and tidiness of other Ayres locations and it was pretty cramped too. The free breakfast is a plus but it, like a lot of hotel breakfast set ups, is understaffed so items sometimes weren't being refilled or cleaned up promptly enough. Overall, this place would work if you really don't plan on spending too much time at the hotel and want to be within ten minutes of anything in Orange County. It wouldn't hurt to shop around, however.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike-in-bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Z, Assistant General Manager at ALO Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We love reading that you are a loyal Ayres guest! We are very sorry that our hotel didn't exceed your expectations. Please know we take our guest feedback very seriously. I'd like to have the opportunity to review your concerns with you. At your earliest convenience, please contact me directly at 714-978-9168 or szuno@ayreshotels. We thank you for your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
#1 of 15 in Orange
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Anaheim - Orange County
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
1.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
2,228 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#6 of 119 in Anaheim
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALO Hotel

Address: 3737 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868-1608 (Formerly Ayres Inn Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Orange
#1 Family Hotel in Orange
#2 Business Hotel in Orange
Price Range: $111 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALO Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALO Hotel! Our boutique-inspired hotel combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at ALO Hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, televisions, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. Stay in and eat at the delicious Anepalco’s Cafe, our Mexican French Fusion restaurant located right in the hotel. Just moments away, enjoy sports events at Angel Stadium and the Honda Center. If you're in need of a wardrobe update or want to catch a movie, the Outlets of Orange are a mere 3 blocks away. Looking to visit Disneyland Resort? Anaheim Resort Transit provides affordable shuttle service to the resort right from the hotel! UCI Medical Center and Chapman University are our neighbors for those visiting their students. And you'll be glad to know that John Wayne Airport is just a short drive away. At ALO Hotel, your options are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ALO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Inn Orange / Disneyland Hotel Orange
Ayres Hotel Orange
Orange Ayres Hotel
ALO Hotel Orange, CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing