We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room with no guest care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Ontario
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast is average, but they were out of syrup and nuts for oatmeal. parking pot is small so we had to park in the mall parking lot each night. We originally had a reservation at a different Hampton, but chose this one because they had a hot tub. On the first full day of our stay we were gone from 8:30 am- 1:30 am because we went to a theme park. Before leaving I asked that we get some clean towels as we didn't need the room cleaned. We returned after a long day to find the same dirty towels and no clean ones. The next morning we went to go use the hot tub. I turned on the jets and nothing was coming out of them, which was due to all the baskets being full of leaves. My feet were still sore enough to get in and not care about the jets, but the hot tub had cold water as cold as the pool. So I might as well have kept my reservation at the Covina hotel since I got no use out of the hot tub. That hotel also doesn't charge for fridge and micro and this one does...diabetics beware. Upon talking to the front desk manager he gave us one free night for the inconvenience apart of their 100% satisfaction guarantee, but that didn't make it any more worth the trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

I am so sorry that we did not meant your expectations during your stay. I sincerely appreciate your feed back as this helps us to grow and become stronger at not only the service we provide but the ability to rectify a situation before someone else has to experiance it. Our spa has been fixed and the jets are on their way! I would love a moment to speak with you in person if possible. I left a messag with my contact information yesterday, so whenever you have time, I am available for you. We want every guest's stay to be perfect, and work hard each day to try to make that happen. I am very sorry that we were not able to make it right before you left our hotel. I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 472 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Hampton Inn & Suites is located in the parking lot of Ontario Mills. There are several restaurants within walking distance as well as a good outlet mall right across the way.

The rooms are a good size, the beds are comfortable with a choice of pillow firmness. Most importantly, everything was clean and well maintained.

I always enjoy the added benefit of breakfast in the morning, and this Hampton is no different. You have a choice of cereals, oatmeal, toast, and a hot selection (pre-made omelet, sausage, potatoes, etc.) The coffee is always hot and plentiful. There are also cookies upon check-in and several servings of coffee in the room. The breakfast hostess was also very pleasant and friendly. Always nice to be welcomed with a smile.

Rooms seem to be on the mall side and street side. I stayed on the street side and could hear some traffic. The AC is also fairly loud as it cycles on and off, so if you're sensitive to noise, this may not be the hotel for you. I personally prefer the buzz of AC to hearing people talk.

My only complaint about the hotel is the TV. Compared to others, the screen was small, and the picture was not very good. The wifi worked well, though, and comes with the room at no additional charge.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the mall side rather than the street side for less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyanhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words about our hotel and the team. I really appreciate your feed back regarding the television channel quality. We actually just upgraded to the new HD channels and have added a few additional channels like HGTV, The Food Network and more. We do understand that sleepig at a hotel is never as quiet as home so we offer ear plugs at the front desk an would be more then happy to accomodate any request you might have regarding a room location if that helps. Let us know what we can do to ensure your comfort. Thanks again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stay at lots of Hampton Inn's across the Country on business. I chose this one due to closeness to airport, but wish I had arrived earlier to enjoy walking around the Mills Outlet mall. Outback Steakhouse right across street and lots of other options for eating. Room is very typical Hampton Inn, minus the frig. No airport noise - which isn't always the case near airports. Agree was odd to have to park in mall parking lot, but wasn't a long walk, just odd - and felt very safe. Did find it a bit odd that they don't have an airport shuttle - but they are an exit away from airport. Wasn't an issue as had a car - but for those who count on shuttles, you should know this. Overall, very predictable Hampton Inn - which is a good thing.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Our location at the mall and three miles from the airport allows us to cater to all types of travelers. I appreciate your kind words and I hope to have you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stay at hotels about 40-50 nights per year and typically use Hiltons for two reasons. One, they typically have a pretty good quality, fair pricing and treat their Honors members pretty good. I have a standing request on my reservations that I be given a room on a high floor away from any elevators. This hotel placed me in the room directly next to the elevator. At first, I didn't notice, but after the hotel got quiet about midnight, I heard the hum and rattle of the elevator all night long..and I mean ALL NIGHT LONG...no sleep. Of course, discovering this around midnight does not make for a good time to ask for another room. You could be wondering if I was given this room because the hotel was full, but no...the hotel was almost empty.

This could also be the reason that the breakfast was nasty. Every hot item either I or my daughter tried was rubbery and chewy. It's very obvious that there is no quality control and the eggs and turkey sausage were placed in the warmer at 6 in the morning and never changed...they just sat there until someone took a bite and then threw them away. I have never been in a hotel where every single person at breakfast complained about the food. We went there at 8:30AM and I'm sure the food was there since before dawn..it was, as my daughter put it, the "most gross thing" she's ever attempted to eat.

The room itself had its own problem. The a/c which was a wall unit, cranked out the air so hard that you were either incredibly hot or near hypothermic from coldness. It cycled constantly all night long. Overall a horrible experience. After we checked out, I immediately cancelled my upcoming reservation that I had for this hotel for the next week and booked the hotel next door. Hopefully, they will actually take the time to read requests and at least pretend to try to make their guests comfortable.

Room Tip: Best tip is to look at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAuna W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Jon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I understand that you did not get the experience you deserved. I value each and every guest, Hilton Honors or not, that stays at our property and the feedback that I received from your review will help me to improve our property. I hope to have you stay with us again and I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We travel to the west coast every October from the UK and for the last 8 years we have stayed at least one night here. Great stop over location on the way to/ back from Vegas, plenty of shopping nearby, some good family restaurants and as usual for a Hampton this is always clean, staff always friendly and helpful and always make you welcome. Queen suites rooms are good value for money, only slight gripe is car park is small, but you can always park in the adjacent mall car park. Hopefully will be back in 5 months

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAuna W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I greatly appreciate all your kind words and I am so happy to have you return every year. The staff at this hotel creates a bond with our guest that is rarely seen and I am proud to have them. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We just stayed 2 nights at this hotel. I don't agree that it is outdated and needs to be updated. We have stayed at Hampton Inn's all across the country and I think this one ranks close to the top, as far as condition goes. We had a nice room that looked fairly new. The carpets looked new. I was impressed. Granted, the rooms are smaller than most Hampton Inn's (including the bathroom) but it was fine.

The surrounding area is great! Lots of places to eat. It's on the "circle" to a mall that has Gap Outlet, Marshall's, Polo and many more stores. You can walk behind the hotel to Outback's or go one exit NORTH on 15 and be at a LOT of places at Victoria Gardens (outdoor mall). Very convenient to the interstate.

The only drawback.... parking. There are only a small number of cars that can fit in the front spaces. You have to cross the 4 lane "circle road" and park in the mall parking lot. Not a big problem unless it's raining like it was today in sunny CA. ha!

Overall... I was impressed with the hotel. The staff was MUCH friendlier than most.

Stay here! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debtoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAuna W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

WOW! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you plan another trip that will lead you in our direction. It was so wonderful to read your comments. I will share your posting with my entire staff. We hope to see you soon and please continue to stay with the Hilton Family of hotels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I recently stayed here for 2 nights this past January and was satisfied with my stay, but like others have reported, I did expect more from a Hampton Inn, this place is show its age! However, the service was wonderful, and it was clean, the WIFI was ok, and it was quiet. Easy access to freeways as well as restaurants and shopping. Parking is a little annoying though.

They did indicate at check-in they were in the process of updating, so I would likely stay again to see how it all turned out!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAuna W, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It was a pleasure to read about how you enjoyed your stay. We have recently finished our renovation and I would love to have you back to see all the wonderful upgrades! We hope to see you soon!

Le'Auna Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ontario hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Ontario / Rancho Cucamonga
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Ontario-Airport
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ontario at Ontario Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Azure Hotel & Suites Ontario, A Trademark Collection Hotel
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Ontario Airport
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ontario Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario

Address: 4500 Mills Cir, Ontario, CA 91764-5219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ontario
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ontario
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ontario
#7 Business Hotel in Ontario
Price Range: $128 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the Ontario Mills Mall and only minutes from LA/Ontario International Airport, our hotel offers the modern amenities and signature service to make the most of Southern California trips. Sink into a clean Hampton bed® and browse free wi-fi in any of our spacious rooms or suites. Prop up the laptop on a well-lit, ergonomic work desk and brew some in-room coffee. Enjoy a delicious start to your day with Hampton's free hot breakfast and lounge near the lobby fireplace or grab an On the Run® Breakfast Bag to go. No rush to get caffeinated - hot coffee is served round-the-clock. Our property also features a 24-hour Fitness Center for those looking to break a sweat, or a heated indoor pool and spa for those trying to skirt the sun. Whatever the weather, we can't wait to have you here at Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Ontario
Hampton Inn Ontario
Ontario Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing