We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great alternative to more expensive Lake Tahoe hotels”
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great alternative to more expensive Lake Tahoe hotels”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We live less than 2 hours away from Lake Tahoe, so we visit the area fairly often. We usually stay somewhere along the lake. This trip we had found a deal on the tram ride and swimming at Squaw Valley, and since we had two grand kids visiting we thought they might find that fun. We ended up booking a room at Squaw Valley Lodge at the last minute. We weren't sure what to expect, but really, really enjoyed the experience. I didn't give 5 stars because I reserve that for really fancy hotels, but this the the top rating I would give a smaller, casual hotel. We rented a "loft" room, which had a queen bed and bathroom downstairs, plus a queen bed and separate bathroom upstairs for the kids. The room had a decent sized living room with a nice big TV. The kitchenette was very nice, only downfall was the mini-fridge did not have a freezer, but this was a minor thing. Kids loved the pool and two hot tubs, and we loved that we could watch them from our hotel room window. Kids also enjoyed the ping pong, tram ride, and wandering around Squaw Village. We appreciated the fact that we were away from all of the holiday commotion in Lake Tahoe (4th of July weekend and a madhouse there). We did several day trips down to the lake, but also spent several days up at Squaw. We liked being halfway in-between Truckee and Tahoe. The hotel is definitely a nice / decent place to stay, and we plan to go back!

Room Tip: The lodge is pretty huge and has many different buildings. Some rooms look out onto the pool. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundari108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    112
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
149
75
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corte Madera, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We've stayed at this property in the summer 3 times over the course of our kids lives (now in college) because it's consistently comfortable, clean and quiet. It's a wonderful location away from the hustle and grind of daily life. There's plenty to do at this location, just steps from the lifts, hiking & dining or a quick 10 minute drive to Tahoe City or Truckee. You won't be disappointed and will be booking again and again.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom units are large and big enough to sleep 6 comfortably. Lofts are great for couples or cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sha106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Recently stayed in Building 7 at Squaw Valley Lodge- Sooo great to be near the Village but still have the privacy we needed. Had come from 4-day stay in Tahoe for wedding and was afraid we'd miss the action of the Lake. But it was a perfect combination of adventure( hiked Shirley Trail) and relaxation. Had 2 bedroom suite and there was plenty of room- perfect end to our Tahoe Vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariahdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I took an Aussie friend to SVL for a few nights and golf in the area. The lodge is beautiful, in the Olympic Village so it's close to dining and shopping, and a beautiful resort. The staff was friendly and always helpful with excellent restaurant recommendations. Loved it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Deluxe 1 bedroom condo was outstanding. Facilities are great, especially enjoyed the pool, hot tub and sauna. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Lots of nice events in Squaw and I prefer the village in Squaw to the strip in Tahoe City. Excellent hiking right outside the door and an easy drive to other destinations. This was the perfect place for our family of 4 (kids 14 and 12). Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed at the squaw valley lodge for 1 week leading up to the Western States 100. I wasn't running the race but doing research and the lodge was very accommodating. Even when I needed 15 extra informed consents they were able to print them up for me in no time.

The rooms were big and clean, the gym was great, and thy had free coffee running for most part of the day. The lodge is right next to trails that take you up to the ski runs and western states trail, and only a minute or 2 away from Squaw Village.

The main lobby at the lodge is a great place to relax, do work, read and hang out. There are plenty of comfortable couches and tables, and even a big fire place, I can only imagine it in the winter.

Over all a fantastic place!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My family (3 kids-18, 16, 8) spent a Saturday night here in June. 80's decor, rooms were clean, spacious for our family of 5. I was running a race early Sunday morning and wanted to be able to walk to the village. This property served that purpose. My kids tried to check out a couple of games from the desk-so many missing pieces we couldn't play. Again the worn out feel. It's always tough for me to plop down $250 for a nights sleep and feel that you got very little for that amount of money, but that is how I felt. I will try another place when we go for the race next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishicoudtravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
22.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Property: Squaw Valley Lodge
Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing