We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure. Perhaps not any more...”
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not sure. Perhaps not any more...”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had checked all the reviews and they were all positive. But I was terribly disappointed.
1. Dishwasher overflow - thank goodness we did not leave the unit. Pretty much flooded the floor.
2. Disgusting frying pan - a maid picked it up to clean but did not return. So I called and two guys at the front desk who could have better attitude. (Dec 25 afternoon)
3. One of the spas was badly needed to be cleaned. Very foamy.

Yes, its location is good. Guest Services desk personnel was very helpful (Dec 24 evening)
But I had expected better from you with all those awesome 5 star reviews!

Room Tip: make sure to stay in the room when you use the dishwasher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disappointedDec2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFam10558, General Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We all work to provide a great experience for our guests, therefore I must apologize that you had some less than pleasant encounters. I am sorry that the dishwasher overflowed. This is a rare occurrence but with dishwashers in every one of our condominium suites it can happen. I trust there was a quick response and quick fix to the saturation problem.

Additionally we apologize our housekeeping service was not up to your expectations. In the future
if you have any cleaning needs please contact our Guest Services so we may properly communicate this to our staff and accommodate you

The foamy spa is the result of body soaps and lotions in the spa. Our spa maintenance is performed daily and more during busy times such as the Christmas holidays. I am hoping you went to a different hot tub. We have six hot tubs onsite with rotating maintenance.

Your comments regarding the Front Desk have been reviewed with the staff. They are appreciated and very helpful for improving customer service.

Our objective is to make sure our guests are more than satisfied with their stay and I am sorry that this did not occur for you. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to send me an e-mail at dant@gpeak.com or call me at (530) 583-5500, extension 4014.

Each and every guest experience is important to us. We hope you will give us another try again in the future.
Sincerely,
Dan Tester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    115
    34
    17
    8
See reviews for
153
77
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is the prettiest place ever! Amazing views, food and rooms. Stayed here several times. I got very sick with a stomachs bug and the sent a paramedic on staff up within 30 seconds then drove me to the hospital and home. Just can't say enough about the positives just go you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy0173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here during a weekend getaway without the kids. The place is very nice. We had a deluxe studio and the room was spacious. There's a large sitting area for lounging in the room. Everything was very clean. We were impressed with the gym, too. It's much larger than the typical hotel gym. Several bikes and treadmills, five ellipticals and quite a bit of weight equipment.

We slept great! It's so quiet there. Not sure if it was just the time off year, being off-season, but we both talked about how great we slept during our stay.

The location is perfect. Just a block away from The Village at Squaw Valley, which has shops and restaurants.

They don't serve breakfast here, so we just went to PlumpJack across the street for their buffet ($18/person).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAWriterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for three nights during a Fall Golf Getaway. The 2Bed/2Bath condo was outstanding. I could not have asked for better accommodations or friendlier folk... will definitely plan anothet stay in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horsey-rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a great time at Squaw Valley Lodge with friends this past weekend. Upon check in the staff was very attentive. The room and loft were very comfortable and clean. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Squaw Valley Lodge for 5 nights for the Ironman Lake Tahoe. We were thrilled to be so close to the Village and the events there. The people at the Lodge were SO incredibly nice throughout all interactions, from booking the reservation to checking out. We had a loft suite with kitchenette, perfect for our space and eating needs. Even with the big event happening, there was plenty of parking and not a lot of noise from other guests. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks!

Room Tip: Loft rooms are much warmer than the downstairs rooms. Make sure your loft has a ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckymoore, Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Squaw Valley Lodge on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you back again!
Sincerely,
Dan Tester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The lodge at Squaw Valley is a great place to visit with a group. They have condos with kitchens and living rooms so you can have a lengthy stay. We were there in the fall for a family wedding and it was perfect as we were able to get multiple accommodations close together. There are always fun activities in the Village as well as shops and restaurants. Have fun!!

Room Tip: All have good views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,840 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
622 reviews
23.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,085 reviews
22.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Property: Squaw Valley Lodge
Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing