We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Stay”
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“September Stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Squaw Valley Lodge for 5 nights for the Ironman Lake Tahoe. We were thrilled to be so close to the Village and the events there. The people at the Lodge were SO incredibly nice throughout all interactions, from booking the reservation to checking out. We had a loft suite with kitchenette, perfect for our space and eating needs. Even with the big event happening, there was plenty of parking and not a lot of noise from other guests. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks!

Room Tip: Loft rooms are much warmer than the downstairs rooms. Make sure your loft has a ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckymoore, Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Squaw Valley Lodge on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you back again!
Sincerely,
Dan Tester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    113
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
150
76
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The lodge at Squaw Valley is a great place to visit with a group. They have condos with kitchens and living rooms so you can have a lengthy stay. We were there in the fall for a family wedding and it was perfect as we were able to get multiple accommodations close together. There are always fun activities in the Village as well as shops and restaurants. Have fun!!

Room Tip: All have good views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was here two years ago and stayed in the three bedroom suite. At that time I would have given it four or five stars. The price was great for the location and it had suites necessary for our family travel. Also a decent pool and hot tubs.
I was happy to book here again this year. But this time we stayed in another building in a one bedroom suite. And it is a different experience. First off, they put us in a big traffic next to the pool room. So there are all kinds of noises coming from all directions. Clomping above, hallway traffic, pool sounds, vibrating sounds.....And I don't see a reason they had to put us here. The hotel is far from fully booked. Add to that the spotty housekeeping. Some days it's good, some days not.
All in all it is still a pretty good place to stay if you are careful about where they place you. But I won't be so quick to book here without researching other possibilities.

Room Tip: don't accept a room near the pool. Get in the building that has the larger suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFam10558, General Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your Squaw Valley Lodge review. We are sorry you experienced noises that impacted your stay and we wish that we would have been able to speak to you while on property. Never hesitate to contact our staff in if this occurs. They are more than happy to move you to another room and/or to speak to your upstairs neighbors to remind them to be considerate of the other guests.

Additionally we apologize our housekeeping service was not up to your expectations. The rooms are vacuumed daily along with beds being made, towels changed, and dishwashers loaded. On the third day we provide a full room clean. However, if you have any cleaning needs or the room was not cleaned as you expected please contact our Guest Services so we may accommodate you.

If you would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to send us an e-mail at info@squawvalleylodge.com, attn: Dan Tester or call me at (530) 583-5500, extension 4014. Each and every guest experience is important to us. We hope you will give us another try again in the future.
Sincerely,
Dan Tester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family stayed for 2 nights. The condo room was small but very nice. The kitchenette had everything we needed and every thing was clean. This was quite important, because the restaurant selection in the area was limited. The television was oddly placed, but since we did not spend much time in the room anyway, it was a minor thing. The area is beautiful and we would like to return during ski season. The staff at the desk were quite nice, but I can't say the same about the clerks in the shops. The staff at NorthFace were quite rude and downright hateful. The clerk acted as if black families had no business even being there (yes, there are black people in America with the means to stay at ski resorts on vacation). Other than this one incident, the stay was generally quite enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

August of 2013 my famiy stayed at the Lodge and we had a nice visit. The service was prompt and friendly. The room was clean and kitchenette well stocked with dishes and a few amenities. Our one bedroom "suite" came with a convertable couch that was erfect for our toddler and guest services provided us a pack and play for our infant.

I felt that the onsite pool, hot tubs, suana, and fitness room were high caliber. Unfortunately, we only got to enjoy the pool.

The location was amazing--less than a 15 minute drive to Tahoe City and a group of restaurants/shops within walking distance.

Mhy only complaints would be that the room didn't have AC and was a little dated. Otherwise, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 days at the Squaw Valley Lodge. The lodge is situated in the valley which is spectacular! It has easy access to Tahoe City (10 minutes) and Truckee (15 minutes). The lodge consists of individually owned units - so each one is a bit different. Unit 514 had 2 bedrooms (one with 2 twins) and a sleeper sofa in the large living area, and a fully equipped kitchen (including a blender, coffee maker, etc). It was perfect for our family of 5 - large, spotlessly clean, 2 full bathrooms and plenty space for 3 teens to hang out when not exploring the area (including 3 flat screen TVs and a DVD player!). The lodge has a large, well equipped gym, tennis courts, steam room , sauna and nice pool area with hot tubs. Our family likes to explore, so we spent most of our time enjoying the Tahoe area - there is so much to see and do that we will have to return another time. The lodge is also in walking distance of several restaurants if you don't want to cook. Our highlights were biking along the river and taking a river raft from Tahoe City.

Room Tip: Buildings 4, 5 and 6 are well situated - easy access to the amenities, but not overlooking them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I'm spending one night at the Squaw Valley Lodge while on a business trip. It's not really a hotel - but condos that are rented out. Nice enough but in the summer the rate here last night was way too high given the low occupancy and how little there really is to do. Worst of it was that check-in wasn't until 4 p.m. and check-out is at 11 a.m. I asked for a noon check-out - NO WAY - THE OWNER IS COMING. "BUT YOU HAVE TIL 4 PM. TO CLEAN THE ROOM" NO LATE CHECKOUTS. So you're paying a high rate to use the room for 19 hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoxClamantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFam10558, General Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Creating a great experience for our guests is priority #1. Unfortunately, late check-outs are not always possible, especially on high turnover days. Condominium Hotels such as ours require significantly more housekeeping labor than a traditional hotel.

We are sorry a late check-out was unavailable to you, and we are sorry your stay was less than satisfactory.
Sincerely,
Dan Tester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,754 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
615 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
872 reviews
22.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,070 reviews
22.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Property: Squaw Valley Lodge
Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Vacatia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing