We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Front Desk and Housekeeping”
Review of Squaw Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Squaw Valley Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California, United States
1 review
“Excellent Front Desk and Housekeeping”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Squaw Valley Lodge has highly knowledgeable, friendly, and resourceful staff. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet and relaxing. The kitchen could be a bit better equipped but overall, this is a great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alps_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFam10558, General Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of Squaw Valley Lodge.

We are glad we could create a memorable experience for you, especially by providing attentive service. You are always welcome to contact our Guest Services if you have any needs, and we will do our utmost best to meet your request.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    112
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
149
75
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great spot with excellent access to the slopes. Literally less than 50m to the Squaw One express lift and only 2 minutes easy walk to either the Aerial Tram or the Funitel gondolas

Rooms were spacious and serviced daily.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Access to the village shops was also great.

Will definitely be coming back to SVL for my next vist to Squaw / Alpine Meadows.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 days at The Squaw Valley lodge. We have stayed here twice now and plan to come back when ever possible for our ski trips. We stayed in a one bedroom, very comfortable, clean and convienient to the slopes and village. We Skied right to the door at the end of the day. The staff are friendly and helpful and accomodating. No complaints here, we will be back.

Room Tip: Building 1 and 3 are closest to the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have now stayed at this complex on 3 different occasions and keep coming back ..... the location is ideal and although the rooms can be a little noisy, we will continue to come back. The ski in/ski out is ideal and the village more than adequate. The skiing is always good. We used the gym on this occasion and it too was very good. Twice we have stayed in a studio but this time it was a 1 bedroom apartment and it was very comfortable.

Room Tip: The one bedroom is much more roomy than the studio and we shall choose this option in future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just spent 8 days in Squaw Valley and we had a wonderful stay in the lodge. Staff was very friendly and made all efforts to make our stay very pleasant. Our room was a 2 bedroom in building 5. Very confortable, with 2 big rooms and great bathrooms. Very quiet area, at the back of the hotel. We could see the tram over our balcony. Ski in/out is ideal from building 7, but too busy area. Great hot pools - inside and outside - very relaxing for the end of the day. Nice game room for kids to spend time after sky. It is a great choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed 10 days in Jan/Feb 2013. You can ski in and schlepp out very easily as it is very close to several lifts. The front desk were very helpful when asked. The condo was clean and comfortable with a good bathroom. If I had to find any fault it would be that the cooker had only two rings (we like to do our own cooking) and there was no teapot! (Well we are British.) Otherwise it was well-equipped with two TVs, DVD etc and great fast free wi-fi in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFam10558, General Manager at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of Squaw Valley Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your long stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were there for 6 nights at the end of January 2013 and our stay was mostly enjoyable. SVL has a great location although that can be affected a little by which building you are in. Lots of hot tubs and a pool although the pool did not seem to be heated when we tested it. There is no on site restaurant but we tried different restaurants in the village and never ate the same thing twice. We had a full kitchen in our condo and could have cooked if we wanted to. The people at the front desk are very nice and want to help in any way they can. I think most of the condos are owned by people and depending on the owner, the condo you stay in can be a little dated but it will be clean. While there is maid service, they did not vacuum or change the bed sheets but I think if we really wanted it, we could have requested it. They mostly changed towels and tidy up the bathroom and kitchen. Also we had free Wifi. Overall, I would return to SVL and while there are things I would change about our trip, it would not be the accomodations.

Changes-1) stop in Truckee at grocery store before going to mountain as market in village is quite expensive.
2) Would not go through Squaw Valley Central Reservations again as the hotel and ticket office don't communicate well with them and it caused a lot of problems with plans
3) Consider a rental car

Room Tip: The Premium 1 bedroom condos have a full kitchen, gas fireplace and washer/dryer. Not all condos ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFam10558, Owner at Squaw Valley Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of Squaw Valley Lodge.

We are delighted you enjoyed your 6 nights with us. We apologize our housekeeping service was not clarified upon your check-in. The rooms are vacuumed daily along with beds being made, towels changed, and dishwashers loaded. On the third day we provide a full room clean. However, if you have any cleaning needs please contact our Guest Services so we may accommodate you.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
22.9 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squaw Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squaw Valley Lodge

Property: Squaw Valley Lodge
Address: 201 Squaw Peak Rd, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Squaw Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley USA that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Squaw Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing