We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
211
86
18
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
86
18
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssquaw valleyred wolfolympic villagemurphy bedfull kitchencovered parkingpancake breakfastgreat locationthe kids ski schoolstudio roomski lockersexercise equipmenttahoe cityfree laundryminute walkwine and cheeseski resort
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 324 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2016

Our stay at the lodge was okay. We were disturbed every evening all night long by the snow plows clearing the parking lot next to the hotel. Not the hotel's fault, but still. Also, we arrived at night on a Wednesday when the main office was closed. Yes, there reception desk is not open all the time and we weren't informed of this fact. We had to call an 800 number in order to get someone to come check us in. It was very odd. The staff was nice though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the lot
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Hello Melanie M,Thank you for the review. One of the downsides of our "location, location, location" being right at the base of Red Dog run and a ski in / ski out facility is grooming that happens at night. The good news is, the snow season this year is good whereby grooming is necessary. We do offer comfortable ear plugs for those that need them. We apologize if you did not recieve our phone call or email advising of late check in procedures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2015

Wonderful resort in a prime location. Our experience with the office staff and Housekeeping was nothing but superb. Both my wife, my 8 year old daughter, and I had a wonderful vacation over the Christmas holidays! My daughter even made good friends with another little girl who was staying with her parents at the resort

Room Tip: best to be on the top floors with a view of the mountains
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Hello Steve R,We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree, we have one of the best teams around! Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015

Friendly service. Fully equipped kitchen, with a basket full of goodies? Yes! This is the place! 3 hot tubs. A wonderful clubhouse area, parking out of the snow, and ski lockers to boot!

Steps away from Squaw Valley's village, and the slopes. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Red Wolf Lodge if you're looking for a more affordable, fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Hello Kari M,It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that all of our amenities suited all of your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015

Everything about this place was great! It has a little of the "old school" feel, with all the amenities. Right at the base of the mountain, across from The Village. Could;t find a better place, especially for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank downriver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2015

Hello downriver11,Thank you very much for the review! We like the old school or as we call it, rustic feel as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2015

We celebrated Thanksgiving in this resort with our family. It was conveniently located between Northern CA and Reno. We loved the activities available as well as those provided by the staff. It is an especially great winter vacation resort as it is located in the Olympic Valley, conveniently walking distance to Squaw Valley Ski Park and Snow Valley.

Room Tip: Any room except room 105 have a wonderful view. 105 has an ok view partially blocked by a building.
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2015

Hello Suzanne D, thank you for the review and we agree, our ski in / out location right at the base of Red Dog run is great! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews