We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfy and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and convenient”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed at the Red Wolf Lodge while on a brief stopover. We weren't expecting much, just a no-frills Murphy bed studio. Vickie at the front desk was very kind and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised to find a spotless studio with a great kitchen, very comfortable bed, and great DVD menu from the office.

We also loved the free laundry - you only need to bring or buy detergent. Very handy after a hot and dusty trip to the desert. This hotel is just at the edge of all the Squaw activities. It was very nice being able to walk into the village for hiking and restaurants. You can't beat this hotel for location and value.

Green Features: They appeared to be trying to implement environmentally-conscious amenities, such as recycling.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modmodernist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi modmodernist,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're so happy to know that our staff was very helpful and provided you with resources to make your stay even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    75
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
124
95
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Spacious rooms and great staff. Thank you Cindy for making it a great trip. The only problem I ran into was not everyone knew where things were or other activities around. Wish front desk stayed open longer for needs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello Hank S,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're happy to hear that you found your accommodations spacious. We apologize if you had any trouble finding information on the activities hosted. We will definitely share your concerns with our team. We also look forward to having you back with us for another stay in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladewater
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel will charge hidden fees. Be prepared.they do not offer much but you get charged for all activities they do offer even if you don't attend. When we were there, someone broke in clubhouse so not very safe. Walls are super thin. The cleaning staff is the only good thing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coachaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Coachaw,
We are sorry you were not aware of the resort service fee, which is notated on your confirmation and advised of at time of booking. The resort service fee of $9 per night includes covered parking, Wifi, dvd's, bikes, backpacks, golfclubs, fishing equipment, beach chairs, board games and all the activites including a monday morning breakfast with pancakes, bacon, sausage and fresh fruit, root beer floats, s'mores, guided hikes along with other activites offered. The clubhouse closes at 10pm, but remains unlocked as key access is needed to get into the building or onto the first floor deck. The carpet in every room will be replaced this October including an underlayment and thicker pad to help cut down on the noise. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and hope to welcome you again in the future for a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Very nice and professional front desk and cleaning service.
A little bit disappointed on the free Monday breakfast started at 8:30AM, nothing left at around 9AM.
AC cannot handle 90F degrees outside the room, my baby is screaming because of in the unit is very hot.

Room Tip: On Summer, the rooms that face sun rise are terribly hot because AC may not working properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Widodo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello Sagers,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're so glad that you were able to find everything you need within our facilities and that our staff was of great help. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The rooms are spacious, the views tremendous and the staff was excellent. The only drawback was the short office hours in Spring before Summer officially started. 8 to 6pm, so you couldn't rent bikes, movies or enjoy other resort activities offered through the front desk after 6. Also no swimming pool, but there were several separate spas on the property that were great, only they had big heavy lids you had to remove and replace yourself...some in 3 huge blocks..not easy. Otherwise, we had a great time and would definitely return to this property! The manager and staff went out of their way to scan and email an important letter I needed to get out immediately, I was very impressed! I am sure in Summer and Winter the services are expanded and excellent.

Room Tip: One bedroom corner rooms are the best!
See more room tips
Green Features: They mentioned a recycle bin in room, but we did not find it:)
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krythia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi krythia1 ,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We apologize that you had a limited amount of time to enjoy some of the resort activities. We will definitely take into consideration your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great family vacation in a perfect location in Squaw Valley with beautiful views! The resort was very clean and had outstanding service from the staff. The guided hike was amazing and their beach cruisers were a big hit to check out and ride for the day. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krstejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Krstejo,
Thank you for your review. We're happy to know that you found our location family-friendly and that our staff provided you with excellent service. Can't wait to have you back with us soon, till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Excellent location, great rooms and helpful staff. We had a perfect time and had the opportunity to have enjoy a great climate with temperatures over 80F and even played with some snowing. Will be great to plan for future vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Felipe A,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're thrilled you found our location excellent, our rooms great and our staff helpful. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Property: Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing