We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Absolutely loved staying here for Spring Break. Staff was very friendly and walk to gondola and Village was perfect. If you can remember, they have a little activity each day like s'mores and wine and cheese. Borrowing DVDs was easy and good selection. Kitchen was stocked well and we loved the BBQ grills by the clubhouse. Played foosball and used the hot tubs every day. Smaller facility than expected, and therefore it wasn't crowded and we never had an issue getting a washer and dryer. As for noise, the first night the grooming machines woke us up and the second night there was loud music coming from somewhere from 3:00-4:00, but after that nothing woke us up the rest of the week. Would definitely recommend and will stay again.

Room Tip: We had 3rd floor facing the hot tubs and parking lot plus some ski hill. View was fine, only compla...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tammi270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi tammi270,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're so happy to know we could host you during your recent spring break vacation. It's great to hear that you found our staff helpful, accommodations fun and your overall experience great. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    71
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
120
90
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I was there only for 2 nights and the location cannot be better, one flight of stairs and we were at Squaw Kids, which was ideal as our daughter was taking ski lessons there. This is a great place for families with a game room and outdoors hot tubs.
The 1 bedroom was very comfortable, clean and equipped with everything for cooking.
We did not have much interaction with the staff, but the few people we met were polite, pleasant and friendly.
We will definitively be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelBennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi TravelBennyb,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to learn that your daughter loved taking ski lessons at Squaw Kids. She'll be riding those slopes soon! It's great to know our staff was friendly and that you'll be visiting with us again in the future. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The location is fantastic! Waking up each morning with a view of Red Dog and the convenience of skiing up to the patio in the evening made for a perfect week at Squaw. Thanks to the team at RWL for making us so comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Daisy0717,
Thank you for your review. We're thrilled you found our location fantastic and enjoyed waking up to the view of Red Dog. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Red Wolf Lodge is in the a perfect location if you want the best access to the mountain and village. The studio we stayed in was perfect for 1-day to a week. The layout is a bit confusing, in terms of getting to the lobby from you room, but the amenities are admirable and the price was affordable. Even after we checked out we were able to keep the car parked in their garage and out the snow. We will definitely be back to the Red Wolf Lodge!

Room Tip: The studios are perfect if you have 4 or less people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Andrew S,
Thank you for your post. We're happy to know you found our location perfect for access to the mountain and the village. We appreciate your feedback regarding our accommodations and your overall stay. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Not a very pleasant stay for a Squaw resort lodging. For a lot of reasons:

#1 - The units are close to the Snowcat parking lot. Around midnight they start moving around and making a lot of noise.

#2 - Being located close to the ski slopes, you can hear the snowmaking machines noise during the entire night and it's extremely annoying.

#3 - We never managed to get hot water after a day out on the snow. Tried to use the "hot" tube but impossible.

#4 - And on top of that we had a water leakage on the celling in the middle of the night. Because the lodge front desk closes everyday at 7pm, there was nothing we could do rather than trying to sleep with that terrible water dripping noise.

Red Wolf is not a cheap lodge and with a few more dollars can get a way better cost/benefit in the Squaw Village that has a superior service, location and infrastructure.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Gustavo L,
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We apologize for the trouble you experienced during your visit. This definitely concerns us and we appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further. We hope to speak with you soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been at Red Wolf since late 1980's and it has continued to improve over the years. It is the best possible location especially since Squaw built out the village. The staff is great, the units are very clean and comfortable. The kids love jumping in the hot tub at the end of a great day on the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Cheryl K,
Thank you for remaining a loyal guest with us at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're so glad that with each year we keep getting better and that your stays continue to remain comfortable and relaxing. We look forward to many more years of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very nice and clean room with full kitchen. Nice club house & gym.
We just had some issues with clogged sink and toilet. We had to call office to fix them for us.
The short walking distance to the village and lifts were the main plus, although it came with the high price range!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Shan2013,
Thank you for your review. We're glad your stay with us was enjoyable. We hope that our maintenance team was able to fix the issues you had with the sink and toilet immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Property: Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Address: 2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley offers ski-in and ski-out Lake Tahoe condo rentals nestled at the base of the mountain and adjacent to the Alpine Village of Squaw Valley U.S.A. A recent multi-million dollar renovation has added a rustic charm to The Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. In the winter, Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley Lake Tahoe condo rentals treat outdoor enthusiasts to world-class skiing and snowboarding, and in the summer, experience championship golf, hiking, fishing, sailing and water skiing. Any time of year, the nearby casinos, restaurants and the region's scenic beauty make our Lake Tahoe vacation rental condos the ideal place to escape the ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lodge At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Red Wolf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing