We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why didnt I come here sooner?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alabama
1 review
“Why didnt I come here sooner?”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I was looking for the best place to ski and loved the idea of being near the lake. Squaw creek resort delivered above my expectations for location, and room for the price. Spend a little extra money and get the valley view. It is worth it. If you are a good skier you can end your day on a blue run that takes you right to the resort and somone is there to check your ski's for you. The downside to the resort is the ridiculous price they charge for food, but the food is good. We were hoping to catch up on some movie watching, but they did not have a DVD player. The concierge told us this was ttheir way to encourage us to use the video on demand service. We did at $15 for a movie. Overall we were very impressed and would come here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JleeAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    530
    209
    87
    61
See reviews for
737
404
25
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Lake Tahoe is an amazing destination and the Resort at Squaw creek is the perfect hotel to vise Squaw for skiing.

The hotel is not 5 star but a perfect 4 star. You can tell they put a great deal of thought into how they spend to keep the resort matched with guest needs - great service!!!, nicely appointed, yet small rooms work great given how little time you spend in your room, amazing pool and hot tubs, great ski concierge, ample restaurant choices with the best Margaritas we have ever had, terrific apres ski, totally great resort ski lift and shuttle, wonderful little work out room and very nice spa.

I could go on, but this resort really delivers. We went without kids and had a great time, but recognized how great the resort is to bring kids also.

Can not go on enough about the entire staff at hotel and at the resort. They totally recognize that service is what creates repeat biz!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marysusanslobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Marketing and PR Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Thank you for your compliments on our staff - and the margaritas. We strive to make the experience memorable for every guest. We hope you return with your children next time. We have a children's program called Mountain Buddies Kids Kamp that they might enjoy.

Respectfully,

Marc Sapoznik
Resort at Squaw Creek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Went here with my husband between xmas and New Year's for a couple of nights and loved it. Although the resort was full, it didn't feel full downstairs. Lift lines were non-existent, ski rentals were easy, food was good (Sandy's Pub and the deli). Seems like a great resort for families with skating, sledding, cross-country, family movies etc all on site. We plan on bringing my daughter back.

Only downside was the noise in the rooms. They are all conjoining, so if you get someone who stays up late with a loud TV, it can be a bit of a bother, particularly hard to stomach when paying top $$ at holiday time.

Rooms were fine--not wildly luxurious, but comfortable [we had a king deluxe]--and valley view was beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjlosaltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I am here with my 13 year old son. He is here to snowboard, I, to relax. This is a hotel that really caters to the skiing/outdoor traveler and knows how to take care of their guests. We arrived two days after xmas to a lovely hotel lobby decorated in holiday decor and a live piano player who could really play. There is a wealth of amenities from skiing/boarding to a spa or just relaxing in the beautiful lobby. There is no shortage of shuttle buses to the village which is really a plus with the chilly Dec weather. And a private lift right outside the door! The staff is extremely helpful and very pleasant. We have the "basic" room which is more than ample and the mini fridge stocked with dishes , sink , microwave, utensils, I must say, was a welcome surprise. The decor is well maintained with an understated elegance. I have not yet sampled the restaurant but I am pleased to say that the deli is not overpriced and has many essentials for families traveling. AND there are MANY families here. But overall a mix of people present. I would STRONGLY recommend this hotel to anyone coming to ski/snowboard at Squaw or just relax. And as a side note, the products in the room, are wonderful, the lotion, divine!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajwheeler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

My husband, daughter and myself stayed at this resort over Christmas to ski and have fun. We made full use of the amenities, shuttle service into the village, skiing in Squaw and opportunities outside the hotels scope-like dogsleeding. The dogsleding was aswesome. We went at 4:00 in the afternoon, just as the sun was setting, and although the terrain they travel is a little flat and boring and just right in the valley in front of the hotel, we still really enjoyed the experience. We felt this activity was worth the cost. The money goes into the diet the dogs consume for running the sled, so we couldn't fault the cost.
The hotel itself has one vey good restaurant, Six Peaks, and one okay restaurant, Sandy's Pub. We also ate at Cascadia and didn't feel this was too good.
Getting a Valley View room is really worth the cost. If you are able do a first floor room, which will give you ski in/ski out access.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We stayed at the hotel three times during the process of evaluating this as a potential venue for our wedding. The first time, we did not "reveal" that we were looking at the place to be sure the service would be great all the time and not just because we could be spending a lot of money there. I have to say - everything was amazing. The first time we arrived we were greeted by warm and friendly staff at every turn, the hotel lobby is stunning with a roaring fireplace, leather chairs, and chess boards set up.

Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff we encountered; so accommodating and friendly! Room service was excellent (love the BBQ chicken pizza), the rooms are great (we booked a fireplace suite each time) which comes with a kitchen, table and chairs, sofa (which is also a sofa bed) and chairs and a separate bedroom. - be sure to ask for a Valley View room which is often priced the same as the Forest View - valley view is just much nicer. We have stayed on the 5th and 6th floors which had stunning views over the pool.

The rooms were a little dark if you wanted to read, but this is a minor negative. The rooms are cozy and warm with a really wonderful atmosphere. The rooms have super cozy beds with proper duvets and plenty of pillows. The bathrooms are very nice, a great tub to soak in and a separate shower unit.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Olympic village which is handy, we took this and ate at PlumpJack (totally overrated in our opinion, expensive and tiny portions) but on-property they have a sports bar (Sandy's pub) which serves great food (love the chicken tortilla soup) and cocktails in a relaxed atmosphere.

The resort also has open fire-pits you can cluster around. My now husband and I used the gym which is very well equipped, and I also had an amazing spa treatment. Very very nice indeed. We also lounged around the pool which is heated and very quiet (we were there off-season though).

We did end up booking the Resort as the venue for our wedding, we had our welcome reception, afternoon tea, golf rounds, wedding ceremony and reception all on-site at various locations throughout the resort and it was simply amazing. The entire Resort crew and staff saw to our every need. I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough.

We fell in love with the resort, and plan to come back and stay for our 1 year anniversary next October.

Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brit_chick98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Marketing and PR Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
We always work to provide the best customer service possible, and your story is one I will share with the team. Thanks for allowing Resort at Squaw Creek to be the location for your wedding! We look forward to seeing you back next October.

All the best,

Marc Sapoznik
Resort at Squaw Creek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed in a suite with a fireplace and kitchen. The kitchen is tiny - more of a kitchenette, really. I tried to cook eggs in there and that was really stretching the limits of what I could do! But it was nice to have a refrigerator to store drinks and snacks and a toaster and kettle. Sitting by the fire was really cozy after skiing. And we never felt cramped as we had a seperate living and bedroom area. I really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would gladly stay again. I'd stay away from the valet parking as it was very expensive ($16) and the parking lot isn't that far away. Also, I never tried their chairlift as I understand it involves a fairly lengthy traverse!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanfrandlle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
622 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
341 reviews
22.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
22.3 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Property: Resort at Squaw Creek
Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing