We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing Spectacular was the view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Michigan
16
Reviewed December 26, 2005

I recenty visited the Resort at Squaw Creek for an early snowboarding trip. We were lured to the Resort with discounted room rates and 20% Spa Discounts. I will preface my review by saying the view from the resort is spactacular.

As many have noted, the resort is undergoing a remodeling process which gives it a lodge feel. We stayed in a 1-Bedroom Suite, which came complete with a fireplace, two flat screens, and a small kitchen. The suite had an adjoining door, which we figured could be opened in the event the adjoing room was rented to make the unit a two bedroom suite. The adjoining room was not rented the first evening we arrived. However, the second evening we were startled to hear a group of people who seemed to be our new roommates. We could hear everything that was going on next door - not a good thing. Coughing, sneezing, conversations, etc. We tried to cushion the sounds by placing a towel at the base of the wood door that separated us. We had the worst night of sleep that night, and were awakened by our "roommates" blarring the intros to a movie at 4:30 am. At this point we contacted the manager, who after listening to my complaints added, "that's understandable". I didn't think it was understandable for a resort that gets failrly good reviews to forget about soundproofing between rooms, especially suites. We were relocated to another 1 bedroom suite that did not have an adjoining room, which was much more comfortable.

Adding to the dissappointment of the Resort were the "Four On-site Restaurants" as the Resort advertised. Sure they may have four restaurant spaces, but none of them were open for business. The one restaurant that appeared to be open for business was not staffed. We stood in the lobby for 5 minutes and were not served. There wa sone other group eating in the restaurant, but no staff was evident. The dissappointment in the staffing at the restaurants led us to forego previous plans to attend the Spa, which we were at one time looking forward to.

Another major compliant about the resort is the the over all layout. It's a good 5-6 minute "hike" from the parking areas to the rooms. One must leave the lobby area of the resort, walk outside through the resorts shopping district and sales offices in order to enter back into the lodging facilities. If you want to go to the Spa or some of the other restaurants that weren't open, one must go outside, down several flights of stairs and back inside to the desired location. The Hot tubs looked great, the problem was, they were about a 9-iron away from the lodging areas. I don't think too many people would want to take the 5 minute walk to the hot tubs in a robe, enjoy the hot tub, then take thte 5 minute walk back to your room when its 10 degrees outside.

The Chairlift to Squaw looked like it would be a great convenience...... but it, like many other amenities of the resort was not open forcing us to go to our car every morning and drive to the base of Squaw. The resort did provide a shuttle, but we decided to maintain control of the situation. Making matters worse, the snow guns came on at 2 am (That's a great experience to have to listen to outside your window) to try to build a base for the chairlift to open.

All in all, I wouldn't go back, and wouldn't recommend the resort to anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable get away.

Avoid The Resort at Squaw Creek!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,875 - 1,881 of 1,937 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2005

We visited in early December and enjoyed some of the activities for the kids, Santa Claus and Buddy Bear skating. The rooms are much nicer than last stay due to the renovations that seem to be completed now. We stayed in a suite that had a nice kitchen, TV and bathroom. The rooms needed updating and now they are top notch. Several of the restaurants were under construction, so not sure how they turned out. Location is great for skiing, but we were too early for the snow. Ice skating rink was fun for our daughter.

Stayed: December 2005
4  Thank IlliniRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2005

We went up to RSC for the Thanksgiving weekend and had a fabulous time. The entire resort was decorated beautifully in anticipation of snowfall (it was raining when we arrived.)The impact of the floor to ceiling glass view from the lobby is breathtaking. The huge fireplace, the game tables, the oversized reading chairs made it the gathering center both day and night for our visit.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful starting with the valets who assisted my elderly mother in law from the car with her walker and my ten year old daughter with her stuffed dolls.
We had a valley view suite (#610/612)which included a fireplace/kitchenette and a drop dead, spectacular view. Thanksgiving dinner was outstanding with its food selection and attentive staff.
The rooms were very clean and quiet. We never heard footsteps/voices/tv, etc. from the rooms above or adjacent to ours.
We loved ice skating at the outdoor rink, swimming in the heated pool (the weather was 26 degrees during the day we swam but the water was 74+), and the jacuzzi was a special treat as well. Due to the rain the staff had set up and indoor badminton court, fooz ball and ping pong game in an empty conference room. We had a ball playing with each of them. Our daughter also loved making her own "Squaw" teddy bear friday evening in a special room set up for the kids. She was never bored and there was plenty to keep her entertained.
We awoke Saturday to find snow had painted the entire valley and gave a true sense of holiday magic to the scene.
We spent the afternoon playing in the snow, sledding and throwing snowballs, in between shopping and eating at the resort. We even saw a bear making its way across the snow covered golf course (that was a big thrill for our daughter - okay, me too). All in all it was a fantastic weekend for us all.
I highly recommend the Resort at Squaw Creek. As an "eBay"er would say: I give them an AAAAA+++++!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Runinfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Katy, Texas
24
Reviewed November 3, 2005

Stayed on our family vacation and would stay again!

The staff was very nice and helpful and the room was clean and very nice!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois
13
Reviewed October 3, 2005

Wonderful views, nestled in a valley surrounded by mountains. The rooms are clean and there is much to do. Stayed in the summer and the pool was warm and clean. Hiking trails were nearby. Guests can play golf, tennis, rent bikes, get a spa treatment, workout and Lake Tahoe is a 5 to 10 min. drive away. Restaurant/Bar on location is ok. Service was fine. Overall, I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2005

We have visited Squaw Creek every winter ski season, and agree with many that the place needed a facelit. We just returned, and boy were we surprised! They are converting all the rooms to 1 and 2 bed suites with fireplaces, kitchens, and gorgeous furnishings. This will be a tough place to get in when they are done, as they are selling all the units as condo/hotels. Plus they have a new management company who is doing a top notch job. We can't wait to return this winter, and hope we get in. I will have to book early, as many new owners will not be renting and with their top notch location and amenties, this will be THE PLACE to get in. I can't wait!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alexisFairOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
santa cruz, ca
13
Reviewed June 30, 2005

the resort at squaw creek was a very relaxing experience. at check in our class of room was upgraded to a fireplace suite, which was a pleasant surprise. the "suite" was a little outdated with southwestern decor (bad bedspread) and unexceptional amenities. the forest views however, more than made up for outdated and we were thrilled to have the extra space. the common rooms were on a grand scale and very mountain lodge like. the grounds were well kept and the pools and hot tubs were wonderful especially for those who have children. there were lots of activities for those so desirous, hiking, biking, golfing swimming, a fitness center and a spa with a lot to offer. we would recommend the breakfast buffet at the resort as it was very resonable and multitudious choices and small children were free (bonus). we experienced a 5.2 earthquake at our sunday brunch but i guess it just helped the digestion.
there are also several shops on the property. there is a free shuttle to the village at squaw creek every 1/2 hour that takes about 5 minutes. we dined at plumpjack at the villages-it was excellent (service & food). we also dined at the sierra grill which was less expensive and had a wide variety of menu items, good too.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
343 reviews
15 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
9.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: $230 - $656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing