We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski lift, spa, huge pool, relaxing resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ski lift, spa, huge pool, relaxing resort”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Relaxing resort with all the amenities, spa, golf, fitness, gift stores, restaurants, pools, bar and incredible views of the mountains. When you go, ask for a room facing the pool which also faces the mountains and higher up floor (although the elevators can get crowded which means lots of walking up stairs). The backside faces cars and trees (better than just staring at another building!). The service is wonderful, charming staff, and accomodating. The rooms are in need of updating - seems old and out of style - yet comfortable.

Room Tip: Face the pool, ski lift golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tstangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    508
    199
    83
    60
See reviews for
704
391
25
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN FRANCISCO
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Pros:

+ Great facility: beautiful location, golf, pool, lobby, mini mall with cafe and restaurants
+ Great location: just a little away from the zoo that is Squaw valley proper; you can always go there on free shuttle or just walk
+ Well kept (older style) rooms with good quality material, get a room on upper floor with valley view if you want a view - lower floor and/or non-valley view = no view
+ Amenities: mini kitchen and good free WIFI; nice (a bit cramped) shower and tub
+ Reasonably priced for area
+ Friendly people at check in counter
+ Resort - bike rental, tennis, fishing, golf.... you name it
+ They did a good job catering to family with kids; this is a slippery slope as we have seen many other resorts catering way too much to family with kids and seeing quality of service and state of facilities suffer as a result - this resort is doing a good job balancing the act.

Cons:
- Dog friendly (not good if you don't have dogs); our neighboring rooms dogs barked a lot!
- Self park is a bit of a walk
- No view if you are in lower floors or facing away from valley
- Didn't like the bed, a bit stiff for the bones

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCTAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Beautiful location and grounds, excellent service, and close to all Lake Tahoe has to offer. Lots of great hikes in the area for summer months; near great skiing, snow shoeing, and cross-country skiing during winter.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have stayed at the Resort at Squaw Creek 5 times, each time for around 8 nights, so in total more than a month spent in this hotel(!) and we have NEVER had a bad experience. In all that time, the staff have always been friendly, helpful and obliging, without exception. It's an utterly beautiful place, the resort lift so you can get straight from the hotel onto the slopes is a huge selling point, but so are the beautiful views (it's worth spending a little more for a valley view room!), the outdoor jacuzzi, the excellent spa, the on-site restaurants (Six Peaks Grill is just excellent, and Sandy's Pub provides great food and a fun, relaxed atmosphere), the grand lobby with roaring fire and comfy chairs...not to mention the ice rink! I could go on, this is truly one of my favourite places in the whole world. Fantastic location, great staff, wonderful facilities, comfortable and well equipped rooms.
The ONLY thing I would say as a warning, and nothing to do with the hotel itself, is to be smart about the weather if you possibly can - the only thing that could possibly ruin a ski trip to Squaw is lack of snow, which happened to us once, resulting in the closure of the resort lift which made life a little less easy. As long as you book when you're sure there'll be plenty of snow, you will fall in love with the place just like we have.

Room Tip: We always stay in the standard (2 Queen beds) style room - they're not huge, but perfectly comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derigiberble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortatSquawCreek, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Derigiberble,

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoy coming to Resort at Squaw Creek. It certainly sounds like you are taking advantage of all the resort has to offer! Thank you for the positive feedback, particularly regarding our service. Offering genuine hospitality to all of our guests is a point of pride for us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Eric Sather
General Manager
Resort at Squaw Creek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Rooms are satisfactory and beds are comfortable. The air is very dry here, but you can request a humidifier in your room. If you can get a suite do, they're pretty awesome and have the best views. Property is gorgeous! Not too far away from the village if you want to explore outside the hotel.
Food at the restaurants is just ok. Bar is really fun, very social and bartenders are friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north or west have the best views.
See more room tips
Green Features: The offer a $10 resort credit if you elect to not have your sheets washed.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chraleston, sc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Beautiful resort, well worth the drive from the Reno airport. A must see if in the Squaw Valley or Lake Tahoe area. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the food was great in all locations throughout the property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I had the privilege of attending a conference at this resort and was blown away by the setting, staff and food. They really went above and beyond to ensure we had a great time. One night they coordinated a beer garden with amazing German food and even a German band - it was a night we'll never forget! I'm looking forward to returning with my family and friends. It's an amazing place in a setting that is breathtaking. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
615 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
871 reviews
22.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,070 reviews
22.3 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Property: Resort at Squaw Creek
Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing