We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites anywhere in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Where do I start? What do I love the most? Breathtaking views. The amazing pool and hot tubs. Consistently great food and service. Wonderful spa. The rooms might not be the fanciest but I never stay in the room very much. It's a great place any season, whether you ski or not. I have an electric car and the staff worked to allow me to plug in even though they do not have a charging station. Convenient location 10 minute drive to a walk along the river or Lake Tahoe, while not far from highway. Regular shuttle to Olympic village. I love going in the off season between summer and snow.

Room Tip: Choose valley or golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Resort Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Cazsh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Resort at Squaw Creek. Your review made our day. I am also quite happy to hear how pleased you were with the service provided to you, our wonderful spas and the great food you enjoyed. We very much look forward to your return and hope it will be soon!

Best regards,
Andre Priemer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our daughter and her husband own a 2-bedroom unit with a valley view and we always enjoy going there for a few days throughout the year. The units are well-appointed, although there is talk of upgrading the furniture, because some of them, especially the sofas, now look and feel old and bumpy. The staff is friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. There is a regular shuttle from the resort to the Village and the ski lifts there, including the Squaw Valley Aerial Tram and High Camp. If you want to use the tram, look at Travelzoo before you go, because there may sometimes be a 50% off special off the regular $32/adult tickets for the tram. The Village also has lots of nice little eating places, a grocery store, ski store, etc.

The Resort has valet parking, but you can be a cheapskate and park yourself in a big parking lot a bit further away after dropping off your luggage at the entrance. It is a rather long way walking back because you probably just drove up from lower elevations.

In the winter you can take the ski lift right behind the property and then work yourself to the other areas of the mountains. Go back down to the Village and take the shuttle back to the Resort. The resort has a skating rink, where you can twirl and impress members of the opposite sex. Or you can go early in the morning when there is nobody to laugh at you as you fall down doing the quarter-axel. Forget the double axel. You can rent a snowboard to slide down the hills behind the Resort.

In the summer you can play golf, and if it is hot you will sometimes see a lady in a cart driving to see whether you want to buy a drink, or just a bottle of water. In the summer there are the swimming pools and a slide and “hot tubs” around the main pool. It is a wonderful place for kids. The resort also has a nice gym, but you have to realize that you are at higher elevations and may not be able to do achieve the same range activities you used to do at sea level.

The resort has a high-end restaurant, the very nice looking Six Peaks Grill, which generally serves outstanding food, but occasionally also something poor, notwithstanding the haute-cuisine descriptions in the menu. It is sometimes difficult to get reservations, so get one early in the day, especially during weekends and Holidays. For a more relaxed atmosphere, go downstairs to Sandy’s Pub, where portions are larger, prices are lower, and the atmosphere is not as stiff. There the BBQ ribs are good and plentiful and you can share a single portion with your spouse and yet leave the restaurant with a full tummy.

If you rent a unit, be sure to ask for a unit with a valley view, if possible one on a jutting-out corner. The views from these units are spectacular, even more so from the higher floors. The ones with “mountain views” are less desirable, because the “mountain” is just a few feet away from your window and we all know that mountains generally look much better at a distance. On the ridge of the “mountain” are some fairways of the golf course, so you may see some errant golf balls clattering down against your unit.

Room Tip: Ask for unit with a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came to the Resort at Squaw in October for a quick weekend away. We love October in Tahoe - the weather is beautiful, the air is fresh, and the restaurants, hotels, and attractions aren't crowded. This was our first stay at the Resort at Squaw, and we would definitely stay here again. Our room (a standard king) was a bit on the small side, but it was nice, clean, and very comfortable. The staff was excellent, particularly Zach the shuttle driver and the front desk staff. We didn't eat dinner there, but the buffet breakfast was quite good. It seems like a good place for kids - everything is kid-friendly, there are two pools (only the largest was open at the time) and three hot tubs (one of which is for adults only). There are also a game room and an outdoor play area. It's convenient to everything in the Olympic Valley. Recommended for couples or families.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaileySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear BaileySF,

Thank you for staying with us at Resort at Squaw Creek. We are so glad that you and your family found your visit with us enjoyable. The Tahoe area is always beautiful and even more so in October as I find it the perfect month to enjoy the amazing change of seasons. We hope to see you soon on a return visit, perhaps during Magical Memories, our holiday family program running from Thanksgiving through New Year’s. From dog sled tours to snow man building contests, we have lots of fun activities and events planned for everyone to enjoy during the holidays and it is perfect for all ages.

Warmly,
Eric Sather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Quite between the busy periods of Summer and skiing. Room was enormous, with full kitchen, fireplace, amazing bed and bathroom so sleep quality is amazing. Surprise delivery of cheeseplate (complimentary) about 6pm was a great extra. Free wifi.
Pools and hot-tubs offered a really relaxing option. Breakfast great - especially the 9-grain hot cereal if you fancy a healthy option.
One thing that you need to know is that the main restaurant is CLOSED during the off season, so the only option for dinner is the pub, which was good but quite basic.

Room Tip: 9th floor doesn't offer a view. The central aircon unit is VERY noisy, so ask for a room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NkkLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

With all the amenities. Quiet deluxe rooms with views!
Lovely common area. Perfect base to hang at or use as a home base!
Accommodating staff. Close walk to hopping village. Magical bike ride distance to Lake Tahoe.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank adventuremama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've been to this place several times during summer and winter. There is always lots of things to do. During winter can't beat the ski-in ski-out and summer is always fun with lot's of outdoor acitivity, pool, biking etc... Service is alway top notch starting from front desk, to all the retaurants. Room are very clean and beds are super comfy.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paymon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Paymon M,

Thank you for this wonderful review - your comments are truly appreciated and I will take great pleasure in sharing your review with our team. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the winter.

With best regards,
Eric Sather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was October so the crowds of summer had gone and winter had not yet arrived. But the suite rooms were very comfortable, and the view is amazing. The bike path to Tahoe City is great, and a short walk to the village.

Room Tip: Get the view side, great sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethebeach048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
636 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
927 reviews
1 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
434 reviews
15 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: $246 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley | Alpine Meadows, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing