We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Squaw Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Solana Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Before the village was built this hotel was the "it" place to stay. I loved the hotel then but the vibe was a little stuffy, and service lacked because of it.

I'm glad I gave them another shot because its an excellent resort. The staff made us feel welcome and treated us like important guests. They upgraded our room and gave us a late check-out. I know they won't always be able to do this, but a smart hotel knows to do it when they can.

We had great food and I will always love the ski store just off the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolanabeachMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Resort at Squaw Creek. We appreciate the positive comments, and look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Lake Tahoe.

Regards,

Eric Sather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    364
    129
    56
    45
See reviews for
456
293
15
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to the Lake Tahoe area and stayed at the Resort at Squaw Creek. We had a fantastic vacation and loved the resort! Resort at Squaw Creek has an amazing outdoor pool with several hot tubs, which we were able to enjoy in April! Picture yourself sitting in the hot tub with a view of snow covered mountains! So beautiful! I also went to the Fitness Center and Spa. At the Spa I had a wonderful relaxing hot stone massage! There is a very peaceful relaxation room to enjoy before and after your appointment along with steam and sauna in the locker room. Overall a great vacation and really enjoyed our stay at the Resort at Squaw Creek!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Forest View room. It was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llaplaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Resort at Squaw Creek. We are particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed the pool, hot tubs, and spa. We hope you are able to return for a trip to the Tahoe region in the near future.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Resort at Squaw Creek for the second time this past weekend. We had a lot of fun. The main pool was open, as it is year round, and our 3 1/2 year old son had soo much fun jumping in the pool and chasing the other kids around. We ate at Sandy's Pub for all of our meals and they were are all really good. The cheeseburger was delicious as was the turkey club! Really big portions too! We also rented two bicycles and went riding around the golf course cart paths since the golf course wasn't officially open for the season. The room was just fine for the three of us. My only suggestion would be to give the room a fresh coat of paint. The walls were pretty dinged up.
Will we return, absolutely! Especially when the waterslide opens!

Green Features: I really loved that they gave us a $5 coupon to use for requesting that our room not be cleaned.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelDubCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you are a return guest to Resort at Squaw Creek. We certainly look forward to seeing you again. By the way, the guest rooms and suites are slated for the first phase of a remodel later this year, so guests will find a fresh look in the not too distant future.

Respectfully,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I just had to review the Resort at Squaw Creek after reading all the negative reviews from all the "rock stars" and "divas" who have been overly critical of such a beautiful resort. I loved our room - doors separated the bedroom from the living room area - which made it possible for the 1st person up to be able to get up, watch tv, and make coffee. Nice comfy king bed, comfy pillows, BIG bathroom. Our decor was not in "shameful disrepair" or in "desperate need of upgrading" - were the neg reviewers even at the same resort? My only criticism was that there seemed to be too much furniture in the rooms!! Would definitely recommend and would stay again! **The resort doesn't allow pets - although I saw a woman walking a lab around (and into the coffee shop) We kenneled our boy at the Truckee-Tahoe Pet Lodge which was a quick drop off on our way to the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Your comments will be valuable to other travelers making decisions regarding Resort at Squaw Creek as their best choice for lodging at Lake Tahoe. We appreciate your candor, and hope to see you at the resort again soon.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the resort, concierge was fantastic in helping with hiking options in the area.

Plenty to do if snowed in with fabulous log fires and a great selection of board games.

Sandy's pub had great food.

Beds were most comfortable I'd slept in for a while

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMKerrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are glad you chose Resort at Squaw Creek for your stay in the Tahoe region. The local hiking options in Squaw Valley and the Tahoe area are nearly endless, and the new beds in the rooms are extremely comfortable. We are happy to hear your feedback regarding their comfort. We hope you will come back to see us again soon.

Regards,

Andre Priemer
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over Christmas with family and had a very pleasant stay. The biggest plus was the location, the squaw creek resort offers ski in and out for intermediate and up skiers. The lobby had a wonderful xmas feel with carolers dressed in traditional clothing and the gingerbread house.
Food options was limited as room service included the restaurants/ deli in the resort. Six peaks grill was far the best dining option on site, we ended up eating here for 3 nights in the row and everything on the menu was very tasty.
For beginner skiers I would recommend them staying in the Valley so that you don't have to take the shuttle, which at peak hrs can be 10 min - 40 min (plus waiting in the cold). Otherwise, this resort is definitely an ideal location for a white Christmas at Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you were able to visit over the festive holiday period. Every year we run a program called Magical Memories, which runs from Thanksgiving through the New Year holiday. Aside from the decor, lights, and giant gingerbread village, Magical Memories features music, culinary events, appearances by Santa and Mrs. Claus, recreational activities and much more. It's always a huge hit with guests. Anyhow, we hope that you will join us for another visit in the future.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This so-called resort boasts in its name but does not deliver the quality that constitutes being a real resort. Room service was a huge disappointment, because they don't offer the usual fare, such as stakes and seafood, but pizza, burgers and such, AND it's delivered in a plastic bag. The word tacky comes to mind. At the pool, the towels are like sandpaper, very rough, and poolside service is not only poor, in bringing out the wrong order to us, but is sloooooooooow! The rooms along with the whole hotel are in shameful disrepair and in desperate need of upgrading. The carpets are very old, worn and stained, and the furniture is no exception. Our beds were hard as rocks and made with old, worn sheets. We later discovered that all the rooms here are time shares that the owners rent out through the hotel.There is no shopping near by nor are there any restaurants nearby, so you're stuck at this hotel. If you want a true Resort experience, my advice is for you to go to a resort that stands up to the name. Don't waste your time or money here, but actually get what you pay for somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sobelle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
22.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
22.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Property: Resort at Squaw Creek
Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing