We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit Better Than The First!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort at Squaw Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Second Visit Better Than The First!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Visted Squaw Creek Resort with my wife in December 2012 right before Christmas. Once again a great experience. My wife was there on business and I managed to tag along. This is our second time at the Resort. The first visit was approx 3 years prior, also in December. At that time there was no snow but still beautiful. This time we got to experience plenty of snow and all the fun. We were unable to ski (wife is expecting) but we had a great time anyways. Personally, I'm quite content reading my book by the fire in the lobby, cold drink nearby! Some likes are the proximity to lots of things to see and do and also the lake. Food at the resort is a tad pricy but overall pretty darn good. Another great perk is the friendliness of the staff and how helpful they are with advice, directions or just an extra towel or tube of toothpaste. Both my wife and I love Tahoe and when we get back we will definately stay here again. Ps. Don't miss having a drink in the outdoor hottub. One of the best experiences sitting outside in the dead of winter, christmas lights all around and the snow falling. Sign me up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
During the holiday period, when the Magical Memories holiday celebration is happening at Resort at Squaw Creek, is a terrific time to visit. We hope to see you again next year.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    471
    181
    83
    56
See reviews for
647
374
21
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed in a lodge room the first night then fireplace suite 2nd and 3rd (fireplace suite not avail the 1st night). Lodge rooms are fine for 1 or 2 but that's it - typical hotel room but with small fridge and coffee maker. Fireplace rooms are essentially 1 bedroom suites and are GREAT - about 2x the size of a lodge room (more $$ of course but for the amenities and space during a ski trip, worth it). YOu can even cook in the room which we did (breakfast) - stovetop, dishes, pots/pans, etc. You could house 4 people of 2 were willing to sleep in the main room pull out which would be fine for small kids to share. TVs in both rooms. Nice fireplace.

The resort - very nice - ice skating, very good gym, spa, restaurants, shopping, ski in/ski out, valet for your skis so you don't have to lug them around much. Ski lift takes you up from the hotel to the main mountain even though this is not in the main village - I prefer it to the main village.

I was disappointed that the good restaurant was not open. Sandy's is so-so. Cascade is great for b'fast but very pricey buffet.

We had forest view which was fine (less than valley) but 955 was our room and by the service elevator which was VERY loud . . .definately do not get a room by the service elevator.

Service great - I recommend this place - kids would love it.

Room Tip: forrest view is fine (vs. the more expensive valley); high floor is better but avoid being near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the many amenities and services we offer at Resort at Squaw Creek. However, we are sorry that Six Peaks Grille was not open during your stay. We certainly invite you to come back another time.

Regards,

Heimo Brandstatter
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fentress, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Room was average for 'resort' style - lighting in entry & bar area could be better and adding microwave to mini fridge would be helpful. No fireplace or jet tub in the room, maybe there's some on property. For winter stay, ski lockers would have been really helpful as 3 sets of ski gear takes up room. Room service available but rates are $$$ ($24 for breakfast). Sandy's Pub right on property, really good food, full bar, friendly staff. Hotel staff very friendly & helpful too. Chair lift right at the door & nice outdoor fireplace in area so easy to chill out after long day of skiing. Option to skip housekeeping for stay & they give you $5 credit to use at resort stores/eateries - cool deal!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We're glad to hear you liked the $5 credit for skipping housekeeping. We wanted to let you know that more than half of our rooms are suites, all with fireplaces. We highly recommend that option next time you visit. Also, we have a ski valet, so ski storage is offered complimentary with your stay. At the end of the day they will take your skis from you as soon as you come off the mountain. The snow has been terrific, so we hope you can visit again soon. If we can do anything to make your next stay more enjoyable, please let us know. We can be reached at guestexperience@squawcreek.com.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This resort truly has it all. We have only stayed here in the winter to ski. You can buy ski lift tickets downstairs next to the ski apparrel store. There is a lift right outside of the hotel that gives you access to ski the entire mountain. If for whatever reason the lift is not running there is a free shuttle that runs roundtrips to and from the village. It is located right on the golf course and a very quiet place. They have a great swimming pool and three hot tubs. An ice skating rink right there on the property. The lobby is huge with windows facing the mountain. There are chess and checker tables in the lobby for anyone to enjoy. A great big fireplace that always has a fire going. The rooms are spacious. The suites are one or two bedrooms, with a kitchen. We always get either the one bedroom suite or the deluxe suite. We tend to eat dinner in our room a couple nights and then out. The hotel has three restaurants. Six Peak Grille, which is fine dinning restaurant. Sandy's more like a sports bar atmosphere, the menu offers anything from burgers, pasta to soups and salads. They do not take reservations but you can come downstairs and put your name on the list and then they will call you. They there is Mountain Pizza. We did not dine ther so I cannot say anything about the food, but it to has a bar and seems to have something for a whole family to enjoy. We have been going to this resort for the last 14 years and that really should say it all. It gets busy around the holidays, but I think that is true for everywhere you go at that time of the year.

Room Tip: We like rooms on the far end of the hotel, it puts you closer to the ski slope.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evi_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
As a return guest, we are deeply appreciative of your review. We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you during your next visit to Squaw Valley and the Lake Tahoe region.

Sincerely,

Eric Sather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here in Jan 13. Spent a lot of time in the room whilst the hubby hit the slopes.

Whilst expensive, as well as the prices of food etc at the resort ( as to be generally expected at ski resorts), i felt it was worth it.

This resort is about a 10 min shuttle away from the main village at squaw valley. am glad we decided against staying there and it is much more crowded and busy. The shuttles leave the resort every 30 minutes on the hour, and return from the village every 30 minutes on the quarter of the hour. So it is really convenient.

We had the fireplace suite and if you can, do get it. It is well worth it. The electrical fireplace added the final touch to the cosy decor of the modern and comfortable look of the room. The bedroom is separate from the living area, which has a fully appointed kitchen. We cooked breakfast every day here. (There is a small mart at the Village, which sells almost everything you need, but of course, expect the prices to be slightly higher but not much, after we compared with the safeway at Truckee, which was about 10-15 drive out which can be difficult at night)

There are also many shops along the resort itself and at the village itself. Targeted towards the snow gear of course but nice for a stroll around.

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Great views of the chair lift from room 208.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank auntieadriene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for five nights over Christmas, and we had an amazing experience. The resort was beautiful, and it was decorated appropriately for the holidays. We happened upon a deal that made if affordable (a basic room during the time period would have cost us over $400 a night but we payed half of that).

Yes, everything was expensive. It is a resort, and we expected that going in. We currently live in Monterey, so we're used to paying similar prices to the resort. However, what we don't seem to get much of is good service, but the service at the resort was fantastic! Including the restaurants, the activities, bell service, and even the management. Whenever we asked questions at the concierge desk, they were always helpful. Our original room was very nice for a basic room, I didn't expect to have a sink, refrigerator, and microwave in the basic room, it was nice to have. The bed's were so comfortable. The view of the mountain wasn't so bad, we still got to watch five feet of snow drop in Squaw that week! It wouldn't have made a difference to have a valley view those days. We had a maintenance issue in our room and the last two nights we were upgraded to a valley view fireplace suite, which made the experience even more memorable. They also have umbrellas located all over for guests use, which was a nice added touch.

There was so much going on during the time we stayed, we couldn't do everything we wanted. Ski in ski out was an awesome convenience, and so was their ski check system that was right there after you got off the mountain (or out of the shuttle). The shuttle to the village itself was nice to have (especially for skiers at my level who can't quite make it down the squaw creek run), we never had to wait too long. We also rented snow shoes right on site one day. There were many dining options and we tried them all. The food was never disappointing. We ate Christmas dinner at Six Peaks Grille, and the lamb dish was so good we won't forget it.

Like I mentioned, it snowed over five feet while we were there, and I felt like they handled It really well. No, the ice rink was closed during a good portion of that time, but I'm not sure how that could have been avoided. The fires right outside (i forget exactly where) were kept going, and the hot tub's were always available for use. We do regret being cheap and not paying for valet service, because it took us hours to un-bury our truck covered with so much snow we could only see it's shape in the parking lot. Lucky the valet guys let us use one of their shovels. Oh, the parking lot isn't that far, but you do have to walk a few steps to get there.

I would recommend to anyone, especially if you can get a deal on a room. Just understand it is a resort, and prices are high, but they are definitely worth it if you want a luxury experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim23fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Resort is beautifully located, rooms are very nice and comfortable, and the amenities are superb. The ability to ski-in/ski-out at Squaw is a huge convenience. With three young children, there was also quite a bit to keep them busy: skiing, sledding, skating, free movies, game room, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms with a forest view are less expensive, but the rooms themselves are identical to those with va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oaklandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
22.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
1.0 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Property: Resort at Squaw Creek
Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing