We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family intro to Tahoe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent family intro to Tahoe”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

-Immediate warm welcome - great valet guys, beautiful lobby

-Excellent food and service. Dinner at Six Peaks, beers at Sandy's pub, delicious, really great omelettes and breakfast at Cascades. Top-notch.

-Excellent local choices: Graham's restaurant, Plumpjack's at the mountain

-Incredible grounds, nice shops, a great deli, awesome heated pool and hot tub that was open into the night

-Shuttle bus to mountain was mostly reliable but a little slow in afternoons. Plan accordingly and if you have little kids, be sure to know where it picks up.

-Intermediate to advanced skiiers can ski from the resort's lift to Squaw and back, I believe. We did not try this as we have young beginners.

The laundry room is near room 210. Use it! Dry those clothes!

This was a pricey vacation for us. (We stayed 3 nights.) We don't regret a penny.

-Easily accessible sledding hill, ice skating rink right there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your insights and experiences regarding your stay at Resort at Squaw Creek. You have many great tips included here for others coming to the resort and Tahoe area for a vacation. We hope to see you back again soon.

Respectfully,

Heimo Brandstatter
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    508
    199
    83
    60
See reviews for
704
391
25
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our four adult children and my husband and I enjoyed a great three days at the resort. We had a fireplace suite with adjoining rooms to accommodate all six of us. We enjoyed the easy access to the chair lifts, lots of snow, and good food and drink!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outnaboutgal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

great time had by all thanks so much,tahoe never disappoints me nor do the people that work here,cant wait till summer and to go swimming in the lake,, i think my kids will love this place as well as my wife

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryseacrest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We're delighted to hear you had a great time with family at Resort at Squaw Creek, and look forward to your return for a Tahoe summer vacation.

Regards,

Eric Sather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just spent a few days at the resort with two kids (5 and 8) over holiday break.

Here are the pros and cons for the hotel. We really wanted to love this place, but have to say that the cons definitely outweighted the anticipated potential.

Cons:
- Super small suites, feel claustraphobic and way overpriced for $600 per night. You get a kitchen, dining room table, a fireplace, etc, but everything is super crammed.
- Kids club should be included. Instead they ask for $60 for 3 hrs, per kid. It seems outrageous especially when you already spent so much per night and paid resort fees.
- Staff - overall clueless. It's evident that the management is very poor. Restaurants can't accommodate all the visitors, you can't get a reservation. No good places for sledding, so lots of hotel guests ended up having to sled on the road where buses run. Not safe!
- Arcade room - super sad
- Skating rink - non-existent because the staff is not efficient in clearing up the snow.
- Entertainment program for the kids and adults - non-existent as well. You'd think they would invest in some entertainers for the kids especially during a busy season.
- Restaurants - awful wine choices and well liquor is sub-par. Again, they could invest in more high-end options; the opening of the Mountain Pizza restaurant brought a local 'pot-smoking' crowd. Ultimately, it was a bar, not a restaurant, and not appropriate for families.
- Hotel layout - clearly designed for summer, not winter especially when it snows. You have to go outside to get to the main lobby, spa, workout area and restaurants.

Pros:
- Easy to get to, beautiful location
- Comfortable beds

The bottom line: don't waste your money until the hotel management changes and they make significant improvements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We were concerned when we read your online comments and are disappointed that your expectations were not met. We wanted to clarify a few things. Your visit came at one of the busiest times of the year so, unfortunately, we did see some lengthy wait times for the restaurants. We apologize for any wait time you had. We always encourage guests to make reservations well ahead of time during the busy holiday season. As for accommodations, the suites range from 640 square feet to over 1,500 square feet depending on the suite chosen. A Deluxe Fireplace Suite may have given you the extra room you sought. These suites are slightly larger than the standard Fireplace Suites. As for sledding, we have a dedicated sled hill adjacent to the ski lift. Often it is groomed, but it always provides a safe place to sled. We do not recommend that guests sled near the bus loop. The ice rink was closed for slightly more than a day during the peak of the storm, which dropped 4-7 feet of snow over thecourse of a week. We aplogize for delays reopening the rink, but hope you understand that weather can impact the operations of an outdoor rink. Our rink happend to be the first one to reopen in the region once conditions permitted. Also, since your visit came during Magical Memories, our annual holiday celebration, we were surprise to hear that you did not find enough entertainment. From stories with Mrs. Claus to live music, kids crafts, breakfast with Santa and numerous other activities, we offered a wide variety of activities. Anyhow, we are happy to discuss further if you would like. Please feel free to reach out to us at info@squawcreek.com.

Regards,

Heimo Brandstatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A little bit of snow and you'd think these people can handle it. But nooooo they can't. Snow on the walkways and on the ice rink. Where is that pretty picture of people skating in an holiday scene as they show on their website? It does not exist. They can barely clear it and have smooth out the ice for skaters. For food, look else where the restaurants here are terrible. Sweet Potatoes will save you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Don't even try Six Peakes. Go to Plump Jack's for a good meal. This place can and should do better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We noticed your review on TripAdvisor. I will be more than happy to discuss the matter further if you would like. It is important to point out that we received 4-7 feet of snow in Squaw Valley during a relatively short period of time. Our staff worked diligently to clear the ice rink and other areas. In fact, we were the first ice rink in the region to reopen after the storms came through. We acknowledge that the rink was closed for nearly a day and half during the height of the storms. We apologize that you were not able to ice skate during that time frame, but hope you understand the issues surrounding the operation an outdoor ice rink in the mountains. As for the comments regarding food, I would like to discuss further. We typically receive positive comments on food quality at every outlet we have, so this clearly is a concern. Please feel free to e-mail me at email@squawcreek.com.

Respectfully,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have so many wonderful things to say, that this may get long but bottom line--if you are looking for a place for your family, look no further, this is it. Our kids are 5 & 7 and we sledded, skated, had breakfast with Santa, played games, went to the arcade and made a gingerbread house all within the resort. The ski lift and sledding area is literally steps from the hotel and rentals of sleds are inexpensive and right there. The skating rink was fabulous and when I went to the fitness center (which was well maintained and stocked), I continued to watch my spouse and kids skate right outside the window. Nothing I say will fully convey how great this place is, not that there isn't cons but the pros far outweigh them. From the time we called to say we would be arriving early to the last valet, the service was amazing, it really made the trip to be treated so well. Special thanks to Ross at the front desk for the early check-in, the great view and our requests on Family Movie Nights--we watched movies on a huge screen in the hotel conference rooms, our kids brought their sleeping bags and we watched movies on our ipad. Jennifer who works at both the newly-opened pizzeria and Sandy's Pub is a gem (as a good employee should, she suggested Sandys Pub for happy hour while we were having lunch at the pizzeria and we went for happy hour and back for dinner). Our kids gave both Jennifer and Steven who was brought in to open the pizzeria, one of the cookies they decorated at the "cookie decorating workshop" (yes they have that too). Any employee who can put smilies on kids faces deserve some praise. I should mention that Sandys Pub doesn't quite convey the most delicious food they serve, we ate there several times during our stay and were never, not even a little, disappointed. The suites also have fully stocked kitchenettes which helps when kids want cereal, fruit, snacks. I have to mention the cons to be fair: we stayed in a fireplace suite which was smaller than most suites we have stayed in (fairmont, intercontinental) but you spend so little time in your room that it is fine, especially with the amazing views; I hate to say it but the furniture smelled a little and the sofa bed had not been changed. One last oddity is that all of our allergies acted up in the room and I don't know if it is an air quality issue or dust but we were sneezing and had to take allergy medicine. I know this all sounds bad but when you get to vacation in a postcard outside and receive amazing service, this other stuff just fades. Oh, forgot the mention the continuous shuttle service to Squaw Valley which makes visit over there simple without all the hustle and crowds of the area. We will be back, probably can't wait till next winter so we'll try for the summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in 410, fireplace suite. It is worth asking for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyontheMove_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments on the family-friendly aspects of the resort, especially during the annual Magical Memories holiday celebration. I will share you post with our team. The one comment about allergies is a bit curious to us. If you would like, please let us know what type of allergies you have. We will be happy to discuss further. You can contact us at email@squawcreek.com.

In any case, we certainly look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Heimo Brandstatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is our 4th-5th year we have visited Squaw Creek during the Magical Memories holiday period. The decor is incredible and gets our holiday spirit going. And thankfully the Magical Memories Breakfast Package allows our family of four to have this little indulgence. We even were able to afford a e-upgrade this time and enjoyed a 1 bedroom fireplace suite - good for parents & kids to have some separate space. As usual Mr & Mrs Santa Claus did not disappoint. They are amazing. Saturday night's solo guitar player was a change from years past and the more traditional carolers. But his wonderful voice and song selection quickly made up for my initial disappointment. However, lacking in the lobby for a Saturday night during the holidays was any cocktail service. So one adult missed out a bit as they traveled to one of the restaurants and competed with waitstaff and large parties for the bartenders attention. But overall another wonderful year and we look forward to the holidays at Squaw Creek in 2013.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NorCalSkiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
As always, hearing positive comments about our Magical Memories program is fantastic. Like you, many families make it an annual Tahoe vacation tradition. As for your comment about lobby bar service, we do offer it on a variety of evenings. We are sorry it did not take place on the particular evening that you desired. I will pass this note along to our food and beverage team.

We hope to see you again next year, or sooner if you are eager to try out all the new snow.

Respectfully,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
615 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
870 reviews
22.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,070 reviews
22.3 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Property: Resort at Squaw Creek
Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing