We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Good Experience in Off Season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed a few nights here in late September. Significantly reduced off season rate allowed us to take a mountain view room with fireplace and kitchen. Did really enjoy the view from the very large bay window. Weather was perfect for golf, sitting by the pool, swimming and hiking during the day. Needed warm clothes in the evening and early morning. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Lovely setting. Hiked up to Five Lakes from Alpine Meadows, a short drive from Squaw to the trailhead, trees dripping with moss, granite everywhere, just beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

You visited Lake Tahoe and Resort at Squaw Creek during one of the best times of year to visit. We hope you can join us again for a relaxing getaway soon.

Regards,

Heimo Brandstatter
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
There are newer reviews for Resort at Squaw Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,443 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having stayed a few nights in Las Vegas prior to arriving at Squaw Valley, we were truly ready for something that was more natural, homely and personal. At the Resort at Squaw Creek we most definitely got this. The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The setting was simply stunning. The food was excellent (breakfast was a little over-priced, but thankfully this was included in our package). The rooms were pleasant, but felt a little dated in terms of decor, but very clean indeed. Tahoe city is lovely and we hired bikes one day and a motorboat another and had the most fab time. West Shore is just beautiful and there are some lovely restaurants to dine at. We would most definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over the golf course and not a room with a mountain view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayloversOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel but we visited during the off season. Service was not good. No one was rude but we were ignored by the valets and at the front desk. We had to drive about 45 minutes to get to our excursions (hot air balloon and tour). I would imagine it is a different experience during their ski season but if you really want to experience lake Tahoe I would recommend staying closer to south lake tahoe.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BM7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

I wish I would have caught you on property. There are so many things to do at Resort at Squaw Creek, in the Squaw Valley area, and in the the North Lake Tahoe region as well. It is true that South Lake Tahoe and North Lake Tahoe do have some differences. North Lake Tahoe is a bit more relaxed, with the natural, outdoorsy Tahoe experience at the forefront over 24-hour casino nightlife. On property you have access golf, one of the top fly fishing centers in the country (with private, stocked ponds on property), bike rentals with bike paths heading to Lake Tahoe and Squaw Valley, tram rides to High Camp, rafting (in season), hiking trails including Shirley Canyon and Five Lakes Trail, and all the water activities associated with Lake Tahoe. You also have quick access to historic Truckee, Donner Summit, and the quaint lakeside town of Tahoe City. That's only the beginning of the options.

Anyhow, the other issue you mentioned was service. As an award-winning Four Diamond resort, service is paramount. If any missteps occured, we truly apologize. In keeping with the Tahoe vibe, we do offer a relaxed atmosphere, but our staff is ready, willing and expected to provide the highest caliber service. If you would like to discuss these matters further, please feel free to send an e-mail to info@squawcreek.com.

We hope you will give us another try sometime.

Respectfully,

Marc Sapoznik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband booked the resort through jetsetter,com for our anniversary. He booked a fireplace suite with the forest view. We were very excited when we arrived to the resort, it does have a very nice pool and we liked the location. We did enjoy the restaurants and the property is very nice. But the service at the front desk was unacceptable. After we checked in and saw our room with the view of a parking lot and a dirty drain right under our windows, we went back to the front desk to see if we could get a different room - it was clear the hotel was not overbooked. The gentleman at the front desk flat out told us that we are in this room BECAUSE we booked through a third party and if we want the same room with a better view we can have it for additional $20 a night. He said that if we booked directly through them this would not be an issue. We were truly shocked, since we already paid for a room with a view for what was supposed to be a romantic getaway and this hotel was now trying to basically rip us off. We tried to argue and let the person at the front desk know that we are unhappy with the room, but he was not at all helpful and clearly did not care. I work in the customer service industry and this is NOT how you treat your customers. I would understand if he said that there were no other rooms available, but to say that we were put into that room only because we booked through a third party is pathetic and he really made us feel like we were punished for booking through somebody else. The attitude of the front desk staff and less than desirable view left us with a bitter taste in our mouth and killed our mood . Bottom line is..if you book this hotel through a third party and pay extra for the fireplace suite with the forest view, please don't expect to get the view that they advertise in the photos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ElleM134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We are glad to hear you booked a vacation to Resort at Squaw Creek through Jetsetter, but are disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met. It is especially unfortunate since you were celebrating a special event. At our property, we offer both Forest View and Valley View rooms and suites. Forest View rooms overlook the forest and mountain located on the more eastern facing side of the lodging tower, and the more western facing Valley View rooms offer expansive Squaw Valley views. While both views are pleasant, the Valley View rooms offer a spectacular view, and do command a slightly higher rate. This is a common practice at hotels and resorts, whether it be in the mountains, city, or at the beach. We have reviewed our records and your reservation was for a Forest View suite. Upgrades were available, and would have been offered to any guest for the standard upgrade fee. Also, please note that rooms are assigned by type, and that method of booking is not a factor. If an associate at our property misstated that fact, we deeply apologize, and will discuss the matter with that associate. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to send us an e-mail at info@squawcreek.com, or call Marc Sapoznik in our marketing department at 530.581.6684. Each and every guest experience is important to us.

Eric Sather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I try to visit Resort at Squaw Creek at least once a year for an easy getaway. We were upgraded to a Valley View and it was beautiful. We had a one bedroom suite. It was only the two of us so there was plenty of room. The food there is pretty expensive. It was $60 for two fish tacos and two Coronas at the pool. But as two busy parents of young children, we appreciate the ease and quality of the resort. We've never had a bad stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments. It is always wonderful to hear that we serve as a quick getaway location for guests such as yourself. Resort at Squaw Creek can be a world apart from life off the hill. Also, we're hoping you had fish taco plates for two, not merely two fish tacos and beers for the price you mentioned. Please come back soon.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed in the fireplace suites for a couple of nights with family. The suites looked roomier in the pictures. With a 13 year old and an 8 year old, it felt a bit cramped. Probably ok for younger kids.

The resort location and views were great but service was non-existent and staff not so friendly. The parking was quite a ways from the rooms (no understatement here) and the valets wouldn't even let us park in front for a few minutes to unload. The kids did enjoy the pool and the slide. I would explore other options if visiting the Tahoe area again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginiaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

If your coming to this resort then you are coming to be on the slopes. With that being said, the location could not be better! Ski in, ski out kind of place. And great for summer activities too. However, the service seemed like everyone was on "mountain time". They were slow and not very professional. If your going for location, then great!!! If you want location and service then consider the Ritz at Northstar.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucasntheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
341 reviews
22.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: $229 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing