We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time with the family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort at Squaw Creek

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Resort at Squaw Creek
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reno,NV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a great time with the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I have used Resort at Squaw Creek as our getaway for a few years. However; this was the first time we brought our two young children. Four years old and one year old. It was Labor Day weekend and very busy! We booked a one room suite and it was great. Had a kitchenette with stove burner, dishwasher, and microwave. It was outfitted w/ cups, plates, pots/pans, everything you would need for light cooking. We had a great time at the pool! It was perfect for both our kids. The food there is very expensive. For 3 adults and one kids meal, it was $77 for lunch at Sandy's Pub. Salads, fish tacos, chicken sandwich etc. We brought some of our own snacks and breakfast stuff. The deli doesn't make very good coffee drinks. They tasted burnt and weren't flavored correctly. Other than that, we had a wonderful time and will definitely return!

Room Tip: We always request a quiet room when we make our reservation and they are great about giving us one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SacTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    473
    181
    83
    56
See reviews for
651
375
21
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reno,nv.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We have been coming here for the past 20 years & still love this place...thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renotravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

great place to ride bikes, hike and relax. fun place for the weekend or a week. bring plans to spend a nice time outdoors, or just hanging out and relaxing. all of it is possibly. we loved riding the old fashioned bikes into Squaw to shop around but were vere happy to be back at the resort as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mam9190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We just returned from a two-night stay at the Resort. While the views were beautiful and the grounds were nice, the service was HORRIBLE. From the front desk, to the pool, to the restaurants, no one was friendly. We ordered the two nights from Groupon, and were repeatedly reminded that we booked through "a third-party" - from the front desk to every time we went to a restaurant to valet. It made us feel more like third class than third party. The restaurants, while priced at a 5 star level, was no better than going to a coffee shop (with the only exception being the happy hour oysters). The breakfast buffet was included in our package, and was disappointing to say the least. Tables were never bused, food was hard and/or cold, and the staff (with the exception of the hostess that seated us) was not welcoming or attentive. Also, we when we booked, we were given a king bed room, but upon arrival, we were told that because we booked through a third party, we were told by the front desk that "others had priority and were given the better rooms. The groupon gives the option for both rooms and despite our booking reservation, we were given the room that fulfilled our package." My husband is tall and had difficultly sleeping the small beds. We requested to be notified if a king size bed room became available, but were never notified if one was. After one night at the Resort, we spent the rest of our trip away from the Resort except to sleep and had a good time. For a five star resort, I would expect a higher level of service and better food for the price. Luckily, we did book through a third party and did not pay full price. We would not recommend this resort and will not be returning. Part of the reason we booked the trip was to look at the vacation properties around the area, but after finding the resort to be so unfriendly, we will look elsewhere in the Lake Tahoe area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

This was our 3rd trip to the resort. It had become a yearly summer tradition. For us it is all about the pool, which can be a madhouse so get there early. We were so flabbergasted by the absolute unwillingness of the staff to provide us customer service and thier complete lack of caring, that we checked out 24 hours early. The customer service was deplorable!!!! It was not just one staff memebr but 4. Even when we expressed our concerns to the pool manager, she could have cared less. I am so angry at the way we were treated we will never go back. Time to find a new summer tradition.
All I wanted was an umbrella by the pool-that was it. That was all I needed to be happy. All you needed to do was bring me an unbrella!!!!!! I will leave it at that. I am so peeved.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRDuesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We will be in contact with you directly. Anytime we see a review like this, which does not reflect the high levels guest service resort patrons typically receive, it is concerning. Guest service is job one for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powderly, Kentucky
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Very new, clean, in a wonderfully scenic area. Absence of fitted sheets is enough of an aggravation it keeps me from giving a 5 star rating. You have to make the bed before crawling in because both top and bottom sheets are tucked, and when you pull out the top, the bottom comes with it. Parking not very convenient. Housekeeping was not attentive to details (replaced towels daily but not washcloths. Six Peaks restaurant was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethesnow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Lovely setting and views. Food was less than expected. Room was comfortable and well equipped.

Room Tip: Ask for a Valley View, it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Portland_OregonGrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
6.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
22.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Property: Resort at Squaw Creek
Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-9778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Agoda, HotelsClick, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing