We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Recently attended Wanderlust in Squaw Valley and stayed at PlumpJack. Everything was located right outside our door and close/convenient. Their breakfast buffet was amazing - definitely our favorite feature. Pool area was also lovely. Rooms are pretty standard/nothing fancy, decent sized bathroom. Only complaint was no AC - even with a ceiling fan and two window fans the rooms remained HOT throughout our whole visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Good day Katie - Thanks for joining us during Wanderlust which is a fun, interesting event to be apart of here in Squaw Valley. Warm days and cool nights are hallmark mountain weather, but this Summer we definitely had a couple of hot spells. We look forward to seeing you again next year in July if not before.

Best,

Steve Lamb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    85
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
120
108
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Nestled at the base of the mountain at Squaw Valley sits this charm, quiet and lovely small hotel. We come as often as we can to get out of the SF Bay Area. Staff is fabulous. Room are unique and very comfortable. Walk to the village to the crowds and head back to your retreat. We have yet to have a bad experience. The restaurant and bar are wonderful. Room includes a great breakfast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigTuna94510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

What a treat this little gem at Squaw. We were welcomed by kind and thoughtful staff, who throughout our 5 day stay offered great service and wonderful local knowledge for outings and dining. The quirky unique decor was inviting and the property is well maintained. Lovely breakfasts on the patio with Renee taking extra special care made everyday start special- thank you! Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for joining us recently. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Enjoy Summer,

Steve Lamb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great room. Got a one bedroom suite and it was nice with upgraded amenities. Full kitchen granite counters, balcony. I went in May so most of the resort was closed. Stopped in at the plump jack restaurant it was a little pretentious but beer and pub food was ok.
Try the cantina, it got crazy late in the evening!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fishkilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a ski vacation in Squaw Valley during a period when there was virtually no snow, so overall we were disappointed with the trip so you might want to read this review in that light. When we arrived at the Plumpjack with our two families and large entourage of children we were engaged almost immediately in a spat with the front desk over the smoking policy. No one was a smoker in our group, and yet the receptionist was so insistent and scoldling about smoking she would not leave it alone. This set off my sister-in-law who didn't like being treated like an scofflaw when we're paying collectively over $2000 a night and it was a sour introduction to the Plumpjack after a long drive. The rooms at the PlumpJack are well-appointed, if a bit small, and when you pack children and ski equipment in with you, they can feel cramped. The walls are thin and they allow dogs in the rooms and raucous college students, so it can be boisterous at times to put it politely. Luxurious in-room appointments and good technology, so we were generally OK with the accomodations. The location on the slope side is great for skiing (if there was snow!) and you can walk to the lifts or anywhere else in the village very easily. The food is excellent, but the restaurant facilities are tiny for the amount of guests that stay there during the high season. I felt like every morning was a worried dance to find a table to partake in breakfast. Dinner was wonderful, but it's very expensive.

I understand that ski resort expectations have to be lowered because the price has to take into account the heavy traffic during the ski season, but overall the Plumpjack was a disappointment for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dough2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at this establishment for a wedding in May, which was perfect as we were the only group of people staying here (Off season). This beautiful hotel offers spacious rooms and a variety of amenities. The bathrooms were also very modern and spacious, offering a romantic edge to our room. Beds were comfortable as well as pillows. The wedding we were attending was next door, making it a perfect place to crash after partying the night away. Just a little too pricey to stay here, but if you are into skiing, needing a nice weekend away, or looking to splurge, this place is a good spot to do a little of everything.

Room Tip: The suites offer a little more room, especially if you are looking to get married and need a bridal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed over New Years a last minute reservation but they seemed to have plenty of rooms, maybe because the attention to detail and cleanliness is just not there. Broken blinds stains on the hallway carpet, hair in the shower. I did note this at checkout someone attempted to follow up but dropped the ball never heard from them them to top it off billing was also not correct and took almost 2 months to correct, mind you this was for a room I payed well over 400.00 because it was New Years. This was a go to place for me family and friends. You can be sure that I will chose a different local for future stays. More like a cheap motel stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Good day Tina - I apologize we missed the mark during your visit. It's our goal for guests to relax, enjoy and ultimately feel good about their visit. Please reach out to me directly at slamb@plumpjack.com prior to your next visit to Lake Tahoe and Squaw Valley. Take care and I look forward to hearing from you.

Steve Lamb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
8.1 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Property: PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
Address: 1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn in North Lake Tahoe brings new meaning to the term "peak experience."Comfortable and casually elegant, our Lake Tahoe mountain escape offers an intimate resort experience, complete with fine dining and an attentive staff that's dedicated to making your stay everything you dreamed of. From the mountains to the lake, there's ample opportunity for outdoor adventure. And with slope-side access and some of the area's best hiking, PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, near Lake Tahoe's north shore, offers more than just a getaway, but a true experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing