We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant is great but the rooms are not at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mill Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The restaurant is great but the rooms are not at all.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

To put it bluntly, the restaurant is great but the rooms are not at all. Especially considering what you pay for them.

Walls are paper thin, rooms were small, low ceilings, noisy, no closet, just shower, not very clean, stained and worn out carpets, and non professional room service. Now admittedly we were in one of the 'dog friendly' rooms downstairs but still, if we are paying $425/night + $150 for the dog plus resort fees for a Superior King room I expect something much better. Maybe during summer when the pool and patio is open it's different...

On the other hand the restaurant was excellent. If you have to stay there, for the convenience or whatever, make sure you ask for something on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pvives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Our building was constructed prior to the 1960 Olympics here in Squaw Valley. It definitely posses some inherent quirks and charm. But, it has been our goal to maintain some of the rustic character and history. With 56 guest rooms, including 8 suites, our set up and room style is that of a “classic hotel”. Standard room size is 300 square feet. Select rooms do have bathtubs and each has a space to hang clothes, but not a standard closet. In recent years, we’ve welcomed dogs to the hotel and our team really enjoys hosting all members of the family. Of course, cleaning and supplies are factors in this decision hence the dog fee. Our food and beverage offerings are a big part of the hotel as well. Guests have come to appreciate and enjoy the hearty breakfast in the morning, lunch or après ski by the fire in the bar or dinner in the dining room. It’s ultimately our goal for guests to enjoy their stay whether it’s to relax and refresh or get outside and engage in all the outdoors and the bustling village have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    95
    36
    18
    10
See reviews for
137
114
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in a standard /two queen bed room. it was OK. On the plus side: Clean and comfortable bed On the minus side: Very sterile and odd decorations - you can tell this was a dormitory at one time; ridiculously overpriced snacks in the room - if you go BRING YOUR OWN. View of the street is not very inviting.
There is a "club fee" that is supposed to cover "parking, breakfast & Internet". The breakfast is a buffet and of fair/poor quality. It consists of cold cereal, some cut up fruit and yogurt, bread that did not appear to be fresh, some "snackin cake" looking cakes, scrambled eggs, bacon and frozen/cooked hash browns. There were juices, coffee and tea also. But, to charge someone for this was silly (given the room prices and the lack of amenities). Also - charging for PARKING? And, we never even used the internet? Ridiculous.
On an overall plus side - the staff was extremely nice/helpful.
Just be aware that if you go/stay here, you may not get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Unkown how to pick a good room here - they are "dormitory style". You probably have to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at PlumpJack Inn. Our room was lovely with a view of the back lawns and pool. The atmosphere was serene, very peaceful and quiet. The staff was especially friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was excellent and most hearty.

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic king. I would have preferred a superior king, but my husband is in a wheel c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is one of several in the area, but it’s also one of the best. Small in size (especially compared to many of the others) this hotel is warm and inviting. The café/bar has a great menu that is well priced a fabulous wine list and the food is creative and fresh. Complimentary breakfast is included and is hearty. On Sunday’s the café serves up a menu of various Bloody Mary’s and appetizers and there are several televisions which make it a perfect place to watch a game. The rooms are clean, bright and well appointed. During the summer there are several excellent hiking trails just steps from the hotel entrance. We took a hike to Shirley Lake (the hotel provided a map) and then continued on to High Camp. If you hike up, you can take the tram down for free. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend to anyone for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmig222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with the family. The location is really great with scenic view of the mountains. This is place where the olymics were held in 1960. The hotel itself is a bit pricey for the quality of rooms they provide. I expect better quality at that price. Overall the hotel could be better in its appearance.
The floors were squicky and the bathroom not really up to the expectation for this price. The service was good and the food was good also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and had a superior king bed room on the second floor. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is excellent with a nice variety of breakfast items and very helpful staff. The staff at the front desk was very helpful in answering questions and quickly provided me with non-feather pillows upon my arrival (allergies!). I ate lunch at the hotel and found the food to be excellent, but a little on the pricey side. There is a nice mini-fridge stocked with items, but I used it to keep a couple of bottles of water cold.

A quick run down -
Pros - quiet space, really nice quality of bedding/towels
Cons - no A/C, but windows that open with fans; no dresser drawers, but baskets for your clothes; as others have mentioned, in my room I had concrete floors, with area rugs and lots of metal decor. It's not as plushy or warm as some other high end hotels are.

One other thing that might be good to know - this is a very dog-friendly hotel! Treats and water for the dogs are available at the front desk.

While this is not the most luxurious hotel I have stayed at, it was clean and close to where I needed to be, plus the staff was very good!

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MplsTravelKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good place to just relax in the summer. Quiet in spite of the kids and dogs allowed. A bit pricey, but hey! this is a resort area. Food's top notch, but also pricey. Included breakfast is great, especially their granola.
Squaw Valley Village is a few steps away, with pubs, coffee shops, etc.
Rooms on the 2nd floor facing pool appears to be the most relaxing and generally quietest.
This was built in 1959 for the Olympics - no elevator, air conditioning (open the window and enjoy the cool mountain air), or other amenities included in the concrete cell blocks around.

Two hot tubs and an ample sized kids pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7711a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
8.2 mi away
Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Property: PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
Address: 1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn in North Lake Tahoe brings new meaning to the term "peak experience."Comfortable and casually elegant, our Lake Tahoe mountain escape offers an intimate resort experience, complete with fine dining and an attentive staff that's dedicated to making your stay everything you dreamed of. From the mountains to the lake, there's ample opportunity for outdoor adventure. And with slope-side access and some of the area's best hiking, PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, near Lake Tahoe's north shore, offers more than just a getaway, but a true experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing