We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Overall, this is a good hotel. The amenities are nice but not super luxury or crappy just nice. The location is prime. It was my first time skiing so the location to ski rental and the lifts was amazing. Breakfast was included in our stay and was really nice. Plenty of hot food prepared very well. SO why does the Plumbjack get a very good rating? The staff was exceptional. From amazing ski instructor recommendations to ensuring the hot tub was working properly, the staff continued to go above and beyond to make our ski trip wonderful. So stop in and see Diego, Christa(sp), and Dave who made our weeked wonderful!

Room Tip: Request a room with a bathtub, they are of spa quality!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhawksarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 411 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

we went skiing for the first time in Tahoe at Squaw valley, and stayed at the Plumpjack for the location close to the lifts. we ended up staying at the hotel a lot, as no other restaurant in the area could measure up. great food, great options, and so close to the hill. the only drawbacks were really just that we felt a little cooped up since there wasn't much to do in the town. hot tub was great, the gym was a bit small but not very busy. Overall this was probably the best place to stay in squaw valley, but the town doesn't really compare to some of the other big ski towns so bring other things to do for the family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The title of the review sums it all up. If you'd like being right in the center of Squaw village, and would like to roll down to the lobby to the best dining in Squaw...this is the place. A short walk, < 50 yards to the high camp cable car and < 100 yards to the lower level chair lifts. Mountian concierge(ski and snowboard rentals) adjacent to the lobby...makes experiencing Squaw very convenient indeed. Likewise, < 65 yards to the only Starbucks in Tahoe.

Room Tip: If traveling with children the suites are an excellent value.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck_Lucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Those of us from the SF Bay Area think of Plumpjack as a chic luxury brand, from their restaurants to their wines, so our first stay at their lodge in Tahoe was a let down. Usually we stay at the Village at Squaw Valley when we're at Squaw, but this time we decided to try a night at Plumpjack as the Village was full. The common area/restaurant is adorable--very creative and whimsical, but the magic ended there for us. The room was freezing--literally and in terms of the vibe. They painted this entire place in a really cold color that makes you feel sad vs. warm and fuzzy. When we arrived in our room, the window had been left open even though it was 19 degrees outside. There was NO central heat, only a floorboard heater, so even though we cranked it, the room never warmed up. We got under the covers and just hid. (Interesting that a previous poster said these rooms were hot--clearly something is going on with climate control). There was very little furniture and what there was was spartan. It was not a room you wanted to hang out in, so it's a good thing we were leaving first thing in the morning. Breakfast buffet was fabulous though--no complaints there at all. Even with breakfast included, this room was expensive for what it was. I would not stay here again or recommend, unfortunately, unless everything else is booked up.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mae O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

There are good things and bad things about this hotel. The good: Overall the staff are excellent and go to no end of trouble to try and make your stay comfortable (we did have not so great service on check in, but fortunately this was an anomaly and otherwise the staff were first rate). The hotel is located literally only 50 or so metres from the main cable car which makes it super convenient to go skiing. On site is also an excellent restaurant and cafe/bar area. If you don't want to eat in the restaurant then the same kitchen cooks for the bar area (and does room service as well). The not so good things: The hotel is a refurbished older building and as such there are a number of things that even the high quality service can't overcome. The rooms are really hot (even in winter) and there is no climate control system. Even when we completely turned off the heating and opened the windows wide (and it was snowing outside!) the rooms were too hot and prevented comfortable sleep. We had to use the supplied plastic fan to try and draw some cool air into the room.
The hotel is just outside the village and half the rooms directly overlook the huge Squaw Valley car park. When it snows they spend ALL night clearing the car park with graders scraping the snow and ice off the asphalt. It is loud and unpleasant and makes it impossible to get any sleep (particularly if you have to leave the window open due to heat problems). This must be something that others find disturbing as the front desk did not seem to be surprised when we mentioned it and offered ear plugs).
Only a select few suites have a bath. The Family Suite does not have a bath.
There is no laundry in the hotel. The nearest laundry facilities are over 15 mins away.
Breakfast does not start until 7.30am. You are supposed to eat breakfast in the bar area on 1m round tables. This really did not work for us as we had a party of 6. Upon request we were allowed to eat in the dining area which was so much nicer. It really would be a better experience for everyone if they just served breakfast in the dining area.
I was disappointed by Plumpjack and wouldn't go back (unless they installed air con and double glazing).
PS We did not have a problem with dogs at all - saw one or two well behaved ones but that was it. Perhaps the new dog policy has worked?

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CastlecragCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed here in January and absolutely loved the place. It is located right at the foot of the mountian just yards from the ski lifts. The rate was reasonable and the atmosphere was just what I was looking for. PlumpJack includes a breakfast buffet which made it easy to start my day. I didn't get hungry until dinner, so it saved us some money . They have an open fireplace in the bar, which was a gathering place for the evening. I have to include a plug for the staff. They were very friendly and helpful during our stay. I researched all of the Squaw Valley properties and ended up picking a winner.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VB_Local_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Loved our stay here. Great atmosphere. Great staff. Fabulous bar & restaurant. And just a short walk to the ski lift.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jentalbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumpjacksv, Front Office Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! Our entire staff works so hard exceed our guest's expectations and we love hearing about great experiences at PlumpJack. We hope to see you again next winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
1.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
341 reviews
22.9 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
23.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Address: 1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: $246 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn in North Lake Tahoe brings new meaning to the term "peak experience."Comfortable and casually elegant, our Lake Tahoe mountain escape offers an intimate resort experience, complete with fine dining and an attentive staff that's dedicated to making your stay everything you dreamed of. From the mountains to the lake, there's ample opportunity for outdoor adventure. And with slope-side access and some of the area's best hiking, PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, near Lake Tahoe's north shore, offers more than just a getaway, but a true experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing