We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Happy hour special”
Review of Mamasake - CLOSED

Mamasake
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Squaw Valley Rd
Transit: TART stop at Village hotel entrance and regular shuttles from Resort at Squaw Creek.
Description: Mamasake is located at the Base of one of Northern California's most spectacular ski mountains, Squaw Valley. This all season recreation destination is the perfect background for our lively, fun atmosphere where we offer a variety of Asian inspired dishes and creative sushi. Our choices include dishes that satisfy many dietary needs and appetites. Vegetarian, Vegan, Lactose intolerant, Trans fat free, and Organic. Also many choices which are not raw or fish. We serve the highest quality fresh fish sourced from suppliers who are certified as eco-friendly.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Happy hour special”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hand roll and a beer afternoon special. It is a good deal and a quick snack before the trek through the parking lot carrying all your gear and dragging a child.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    12
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“used to be better”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

There are some great rolls here, but some are so so. I used to love this place, but the last few times I ate there I was less than impressed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JeniferH431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“small space and unfriendly staff”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Traveling w/ infant is hard. Restaurant is not very kid friendly I find. Very small space, hard to move around, almost elbow to elbow w/ your table neighbor. They do not take orders for take-out. The food is fine but I wouldn't say to die for!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank be-zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amateurish”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

First impression: Slow to seat people; bad time estimates on waiting time; poor communication; bad table management. Manager never showed her/his face.

Was hungry, but fish was not cut properly; sometimes mealy. Roll combos were creative by didn't really work. Not appetizing.

Not enough room around tables. People and servers constantly brushing by.

It's Tahoe, but still - not good for anyone who likes sushi. Overall, wouldn't recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanOneida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kampai”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Love this place. Amazing food, great staff, you won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamasake also viewed

Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing