We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Village At Squaw Valley
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gold Coast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“beautiful”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

A beautiful hotel with everything you need, breath taking location and plenty to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_bunnikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    165
    63
    43
    45
See reviews for
310
123
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The positive:
- Lots of stuff to do: hiking, bike rental, etc
- Good location - village has its own little shopping area with restaurants and shops
- Beautiful spot
- The condo/hotel is in good repair, and appears to be well-kept.

We stayed here during a quiet weekend in August. I'm sure that during snow season this is THE place to stay - it's literally at the base of the ski lift, and there are a ton of amenities for skiers. Also, there are some really depressing, shabby places to stay in Tahoe, so we were happy with this by comparison.

The negative:
- We booked a standard room, which was a really small for three of us (two adults and a child) even though we were gone all day during the daytime. If we stayed there again, I'd book a one-bedroom.
- The air conditioner was really loud - it was hard to sleep with it running.
- Our room overlooked a courtyard and it got pretty loud at times. The sounds of the courtyard echoed off the walls.

- No continental breakfast, probably because most of the rooms are condos with kitchens. But ours was a hotel room which meant that every morning we had to go out and find a place to eat breakfast - not a great selection of breakfast places in the complex

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillycoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Loved this resort! Went for the first time this summer, and I was amazed by the luxury and beauty. It's actually much more beautiful than the pictures imply, and it should definitely carry a 4 star rating, rather than the 3 1/2 star rating it currently holds. The lovely girl who checked us in, Michelle Smith was so gracious and welcoming. She was kind enough to upgrade us to a 1 bedroom, and it was stunning with granite counter tops and wonderful amenities. We had a balcony overlooking the village, and on the second night of our stay there was a spectacular free jazz concert . We enjoyed it tremendously from our private balcony. I can't say enough good things about what a lovely and fun place this is. Summer or winter, it's a great time :o)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffinCrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The location is perfect and the rooms nice if you are looking to spend your time right in the Village. However, the billing issues that we encountered and the incompetence in the staff in resolving these issues would keep us from ever returning. Multiple charges were made on my credit card that were inaccurate and the staff were not able to explain why this happened or what was being done about it. Mistakes are fine, but it is how they are handled. I finally had to involve my bank to dispute the unwarranted charges. It was over $200 in charges that should never have been made in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latraveler3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We got a great deal on a room here during the Art and Wine Festival in July 2010. The hotel is in a great location, right at the base of the Squaw Valley Ski Resort. You literally couldn't stay any closer to the lifts, gondola, and base camp. We stayed in the "one bedroom with den", which actually consists of one fully enclosed bedroom, 2 sleeper sofas, 1 full bath with soaker tub, one half bath, and a fully stocked kitchen. The kitchen has full size appliances, including a dishwasher. The village has restaurants, a small grocery, snow gear shops, and other apparel/trinket shops. There is a sauna and spa for use at the hotel. The hot tub is a little small, even for the slow summer season. There is a large pool and hot tub at the high camp, but you must pay to ride the gondola and pay for a pool pass, which can total more than $30 depending on the time of day. My biggest complaint about the hotel is that the rooms are not air conditioned. During the winter this would not be an issue, but it was well over 90 degrees both days we were there. We opened our balcony doors to try to let some cooler air in after dark, but the room quickly filled with mosquitoes. Overall, I would definitely stay here again, but not during the heat of the summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Went to Squaw (first time there) with my brother to do some late season skiing. Staying in a One Bedroom at the North Face Suites in the Village at Squaw made the trip an enjoyable one. The unit was clean upon arrival, steps from the cable car, funitel and KT-22 lifts. Starbucks was two flights down, and the restaurants, shops and bars were also steps away. The deck provided a great place to enjoy morning coffee or an Apres Ski drink. We went back to our condo for lunch every day, since it was so close to base lifts. When we were done skiing, our ski locker (provided with the condo at no charge) was on the first floor and was easily accessed. I slept on the couch-bed, which was surprisingly comfortable. My only complaint was that the unit got hot some nights (opening the windows or door to the deck helped) and a small stereo would have been appreciated. If you have a room facing the Village or are looking for perfectly quiet room, note that you can hear the people below, snow groomers, snow removal etc, but it didn't bother me at all. Squaw provides a first class skiing experience. Staying in the Village was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Squaw Valley ownership recently bought the Village from Intrawest. Although there were security, service and value issues previously, under Cushing control prices are goiing up, poor attitudes abound and watch out for theft. If you ski Squaw avoid anything contaminated by Ski Corp as best you can.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephen_wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
341 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
22.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
22.8 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village At Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village At Squaw Valley

Property: The Village At Squaw Valley
Address: 1750 Village East Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village At Squaw Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the Lake Tahoe action. Dining, shopping, activities, and steps from the slopes of world-class ski resort Squaw Valley. When you want to spend more time playing and less time driving this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Village At Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Village Squaw
Village At Squaw Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing