We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Village At Squaw Valley
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Beaumont, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed a couple of months ago and it was fantastic. The room was extremely comfortable. The balcony was great also. The food, shops, hiking, biking, etc. kept us from pretty much leaving the resort grounds. We visited Tahoe once on our trip and decided it wasn't worth it. For all of the food and shopping we did, it was the least expensive trip we had in a long time. I was scared to see our bill when we got home but I was extremely surprised! Everyone was polite and we loved the outdoor movie night. We are planning to be back next year!

Room Tip: Request a room with the balcony that faces the "Movie Night". That way, you can watch from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaeteemylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    165
    63
    40
    45
See reviews for
309
122
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The building and village were great. But I assume room was 3-346 decorated by an owner. The furniture and decorations were gaudy & tacky, the place was full of figurines. There was too much furniture in the rooms, and the pieces were oversized and hard to get around. The master bedroom curtain valance that was broken and unsafe. The bedroom closet was half full of stuff, barely had room for my things. Then the living room: room stuffed with furniture and a huge dining cabinet that served no purpose other than to display even more figurines. We couldn't sit at the table bc it was too crammed, and we're not big people. The outside deck had a chair with an old shredded seat cushion. If that's your style, then great, maybe someone out there will think it's charming. Here's another mentionable: a knit blanket over the couch of a cartoonish bear with a fish in its mouth.

It must be someone's job to look the rooms and tell owners - BEFORE GUESTS STAY THERE - that their unit doesn't meet a standard and that less is more. It's not my responsibility and I resent that. I sent the mgt my feedback, but future guests should know what they are getting into.

Room Tip: Ask for one that isn't decorated by someone's granny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KMElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your insightful response. We are working with the homeowner to edit her unit and give it a more neutral feel. I hope you will come back and give The Village at Squaw Valley another chance. Please feel free to contact me when booking your next trip so we can get you a room better suited to your taste.

Christy Beck
General Manager
530-584-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Village at Squaw in May. It was "off season" and extremely quiet. We were here with a group conference and I believe most everyone stayed at this resort. I wished we had stayed for 2 nights instead of just the one. We will be back and I believe our conference next year may also be back!
Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dheard56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! May is a great time to visit when the crowds have died down and the wild flowers are blooming. We look forward to having your group back here next season!

Take care,

Christy Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2014

In the past two seasons, our family has enjoyed staying at the Village at Squaw Valley. The rooms are spacious, and the full-sized kitchen made it especially convenient for longer stays. (We have stayed in 1BR, 2BR and 3BR suites at various times.) Although the Village restaurants provide a diverse offering with many healthy choices, for longer stays, being able to stock the fridge and cook has made this a lovely retreat in the mountains for our family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AASF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. The quick walk to the slopes is one of the many perks of staying in the heart of the action. Again, thank you for sharing. We look forward to seeing you next season!

Sincerely,
Christy Beck
The Village at Squaw Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My second time at The Village at Squaw Valley. Our two bedroom was perfect for our family (mom,dad & 4 teenagers). It's amazing to be able to walk to everything you need. Restaurants, shops, and the slopes. We particularly liked the roof top hot tubs. Soaking under the stars after a great day skiing and a wonderful meal is amazing! Staff and reservations people are all very friendly. I think this is one of the best vacation values anywhere. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review! I am so glad you enjoyed the full village experience, with all the shopping and dining. Come back this summer to enjoy all the activities we have going on in the coming months.

Christy Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

For our first time ever to Squaw Valley, staying at The Village at Squaw Valley couldn't have been any better. The 3-bedroom unit we stayed at was fully equipped with everything we might need - we definitely used both the full kitchen and the washer & dryer daily. Our family of five had a wonderful five night stay, complete with four days of skiing and one day sightseeing parts of Lake Tahoe (don't miss hiking up Eagle Rock - easy 15 min. hike). Each and every member of the staff (on and off the slopes) were terrific!Two of our children were new to skiing and chose snowboarding as their mode of travel - they fully enjoyed their day of lessons with Calvin and were "experts" by the end of the week. The food and service was great all around the property. We all enjoyed the hot tubs and the kids had fun playing games in the media room. It was an incredible week for our family full of memories.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay! I am glad you were able to enjoy the Eagle Rock hike, it's one of my favorites!

We are always working hard to meet the needs of our guests!

Christy Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a beautiful three bedroom unit. The location could not be better as we could walk everywhere. The access to the mountain, rentals and restaurants could not have been better.Unfortunately, our building did not have a hot tub and we had to find our way to the others for that part of the ski experience. Little things like the Wifi were good as well, although not all the tvs were on cable. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBS5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your response! I am glad you enjoyed the room and location here at The Village at Squaw Valley. I will make sure we look in to the TV/cable issue in that room. Thanks for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
339 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
22.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village At Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village At Squaw Valley

Property: The Village At Squaw Valley
Address: 1750 Village East Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village At Squaw Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the Lake Tahoe action. Dining, shopping, activities, and steps from the slopes of world-class ski resort Squaw Valley. When you want to spend more time playing and less time driving this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village At Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Village Squaw
Village At Squaw Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing