We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall @ Squaw”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Village At Squaw Valley
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a wonderful stay in a 1 bdrm 3rd floor unit located on the mall in Squaw Valley. Everything was very nice and since it was the off season the prices were excellent. Condo was fully furnished right down to the pots and pans.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ripmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi,

I am so glad that you enjoyed our one bedroom unit at The Village at Squaw Valley. The fully stocked kitchen gives you the option to stay at home and cook a meal or you can explore one of the many restaurants located in the Village. Thank you for your review and I hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Christy Beck
General Manager of The Village at Squaw Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 632 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

We recently stayed in a condo at Squaw Village for a last summer weekend. Usually, I think ski resorts are pretty ugly in the summer , but this turned out to be quite nice. The "faux-village" is kind of cute, the condo was nothing fancy but nice enough. We hiked up to Shirley Lake and on to the high camp , which was great - pool, hot tub, lunch, drinks, then to the tram back down - no charge for it coming down the mountain. It was really nice and relaxing. My husband biked to Lake Tahoe and back, so he was happy. Great meal at Plumpjack. A little surprised that their breakfast ended so early on Sunday - 10:30. I'd go back in the summer again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hello,

So glad that you enjoyed your summer vacation at The Village at Squaw Valley! I am so happy to hear that you were able to hike to High Camp and enjoy the pool and views of Lake Tahoe. I hope that you will visit us again sooner than later!

Sincerely,
Christy Beck
General Manager of The Village at Squaw Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband, two school aged children and I stayed in a one bedroom suite with a view. There is so much to do at the Village and in the greater Lake Tahoe area. We really had a great time and took advantage of high camp, the mini golf, and restaurants. However, it was very warm in our one bedroom suite. Even though I requested a unit with air con multiple times; during reservation, confirmation and at check in, the Village was unable to accommodate our request. It was difficult to fall asleep when we had all of the windows open, fans going, and the room was still over 80 degrees. It was also very noisy in the early morning and later evening hours, especially since we needed to keep the windows open and couldn't block out the noise.

If you are going to Tahoe to have a good time and want the conveniences the Village offers, then this place is a good value. Just don't expect to get any rest :(.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bodelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that we could not accommodate your request to stay in a room with air conditioning. We always strive to meet our guests requests and I apologize that we did not have rooms with units available. We are working with our owners to install air conditioning units in their rooms. We are always striving to upgrade our amenities/accommodations for our guests. I hope that you will come back and visit us again during the summer or winter months. We look forward to seeing you!

Sincerely,
Christy Beck
General Manager of The Village at Squaw Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the resort for two midweek nights and thought it was great. The staff was attentive and curtiuous. We had reserved a standard room but when we arrived the person working the front desk had a surprise for us. He upgraded us to a studio suite at no extra charge because he knew we were on our anniversary trip. Now that is service! The hotel room was clean and we enjoyed the fully loaded kitchen. All the amenities the resort offered were really nice. It felt as if we did not have to leave the place because of all the shops and restaurants within the resort. Lastly, we enjoyed the gondola ride to High Camp where we swam in the pool and had lunch with fantastic views. Enjoy!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi Joseph,

First off, let me congratulate you on your wedding anniversary! I am so happy that you decided to stay with us for your special occasion. The Village offers a variety of shops and restaurants, which is perfect if you are looking to stay close to home. I hope to see you back at The Village at Squaw Valley very soon!

Sincerely,
Christy Beck
General Manager of The Village at Squaw Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We came to Squaw Valley for the Wanderlust festival and we came a few days ahead of our group. We stayed in a one bedroom at the Village at Squaw Valley. It was right in the heart of the village which was perfect for walking around and people watching from our balcony. We had read reviews on Trip Advisor and knew you might have to ask for a unit with AC. We didn't ask and our unit didn't have AC. It was warm when we first checked in but we left the windows open the whole time and it never got hot. It actually got a little bit cold at night! I could see where it might get hot if your unit faced the afternoon sun. We were in room 405. Ours faced the morning sun which was perfect for waking us up. There was a big thunderstorm one night and it was so pretty to listen to it while we slept! This would have been a perfect room to be in for the festival (we moved to stay at Squaw Valley Lodge with our friends in a 2 bedroom for the festival) - it was right in the heart of it all. They were setting up a stage just below our room right as we were packing up to move locations.

It was a little loud at night when the people below left the bars after midnight. There were a few dog owners that let their dogs bark a lot considering it was late at night. And I saw the other reviewer posted about the joining door being open - I think that was to our room. We could open our door but there wasn't a handle so we couldn't get into the other room. But it should have been dead bolted since we only rented the one room.

Our room did have a fire place but the gas was turned off for the summer. I was a bit chilly one night and called to ask about turning it on but the maintenance crew had already left for the evening. We had a full kitchen and wi-fi. The halls are a big small and claustrophobic feeling but that wasn't a bit deal. The parking is underground and you use your key to open the garage door. The bedspread and furniture is a little tired but not horrible. And the room is really dark even with the blinds all open and the vaulted ceilings. I think the decor and wood trim is all just dark and soaks up the light. It was hard to put on my makeup in the bathroom since the lighting was really poor.

There were hot tubs in each of the buildings and one day a big rainstorm blew in while we were sitting in the hot tub and it started to hail! In July! Being Floridians we loved it! The other hot tub users were not as amused and ran for cover - haha. The only pool is at the top of the mountain at high camp but one day of pool passes were included in our stay. We went there for an afternoon and it was great! Very windy since you are on the top of the mountain so that kept it cooler. There is an ice cream stand at the top of the tram that has ice cream bars and they dip them in chocolate and roll them in the topping of your choice. They are amazing!

We hiked the Shirley Lake trail one day - we didn't realize it would be such a hike. We overheard someone say it took them 3 hours and I was surprised. But we are not used to mountains or even hills so it took us just over 4 hours. We swam in Shirley Lake and rested on the big rock there - it was awesome! Then we finished the hike to the top and took the tram down. We met another family at the lake that hiked this trail last summer. They said the weather took a turn for the worse and they ended up at high camp and the tram was shut down for the day! They did say there was a phone there so a truck came and picked them up. I wouldn't have thought of that - I probably would have hiked the 4 hours back down!

Room Tip: If you stay in the summer and don't have a room with AC be sure and face away from the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 407Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review on our property. From what it sounds like, you had a great stay with us. Shirley Canyon is one of my favorite hikes in Squaw. If you come late spring, the waterfalls are gushing over the granite rocks in the canyon, which is absolutely spectacular. We hope that you will come back and visit us again. If you thought the hail in July was fun to see, you should see the fluffy snowflakes that fly in March!

We look forward to seeing you soon at The Village at Squaw Valley.

Sincerely,
Christy Beck
General Manager of The Village at Squaw Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just finished our annual visit to the Village at Squaw Valley. It was a pleasant stay with lots to do. The front desk staff was extremely helpful. The weather was comfortable. You can't beat Tahoe and Truckee for a vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hi,

So glad that you came back to The village at Squaw Valley. Tahoe is beautiful during the summer, especially August when the lake warms up. We look forward to seeing you next summer!

Sincerely,
Christy Beck
General Manager of The Village at Squaw Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed four nights in a one bedroom unit and none of us had a decent sleep. The air conditioning unit in the next building was so loud that the contraption next to the bed with fake ocean waves sound couldn't drown out the noise. At seven in the morning heavy trucks lumbered up the mountain and each shift of their engines could be heard in our room. The constant beeping of trucks backing up was totally annoying, not to mention one entire day of hammering. The two building are so close to each other that you can practically shake hands with the person in the other building. Everything echoes in what is being touted as a "European style village". You hear people and dogs all day long. The piped in music gives this property the atmosphere of a Disneyland in the mountains, including expensive shops and restaurants, but no atmosphere. This is commercial tourism at its worst. In addition to the extremely tired and lumpy pillows on the beds, we found the unit pretty worn down. Front desk staff was indifferent and inefficient. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,927 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.3 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
#4 of 5 in Olympic Valley
298 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village At Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village At Squaw Valley

Address: 1750 Village East Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range: $152 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village At Squaw Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the Lake Tahoe action. Dining, shopping, activities, and steps from the slopes of world-class ski resort Squaw Valley. When you want to spend more time playing and less time driving this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village At Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Village Squaw
Village At Squaw Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing