We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake up to Mountain Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olympic Village Inn
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Enjoy your stay in a quaint Squaw Valley complex at the base of the mountain. Rooms have small but efficient
kitchens, balcony (with storage for your skis), separate queen size bedroom with bathroom separating living room from bedroom. Comfortable bed. Sofa bed is typical hard thin mattress so if you plan to sleep on it bring a blow up mattress. TV, DVD player(movie rentals from front desk). Nicely decorated. Very comfortable for 2. Can be crowded with 4 adults but can be done. Nice pool, multiple hot tubs, good grills, exercise rm., great clubhouse with video games, full kitchen. Lot's to do any season of the year at this resort and the area is always beautiful. 20 minutes from Lake Tahoe and Tahoe City or to Truckee. Reno about 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovegoodfood58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 104 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

We booked this through our RCI timeshare at the very last minute! Luckily, someone had just canceled and we called at the right time. We were very happy to know this was a silver crown property, even though I read a couple of reviews that frightened me a bit. It turned out for the best, yes it is 60's look but very well maintained. I am a clean freak and all was nice and clean and we all slept like babys! It's very peacful and quiet and had an awesome view from our balcony of the mountains. The kitchen is pretty much fully loaded, we did some grocery shopping and cooked tasteful meals for the full week. I had never relaxed so much in my life. The staff was very nice ahd helpful, we never had to call the front desk. I just felt right at home. I would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mluca9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Great place. Tip for parents traveling with kids. If you cook dinners etc instead of eating out, ask for a room near the club house. They have a full kitchen & arcade & it's great.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichnJaclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We planned to have our Thanksgiving dinner here with our family. Stepping into the "quaint" "60's" tiny unit we quickly realized we'd made a huge mistake. Typically we stay in the "Village at Squaw" but this place was a little cheaper and had an arcade which we thought the Grand Daughters would enjoy. So, I took a chance and booked online. If you're just a couple looking for a little 1 bedroom unit with a kitchenette and a table big enough for two people and want that "60's" "quaint" feeling, you might like the Olympic Village Inn. Not us though. We returned to the check in. I Politely told the receptionist that we were checking out and asked for a refund. She was very understanding of our situation but told us that she wasn't authorized to give us a refund. We'd have to contact the manager on Monday. We went over to the Village at Squaw Valley and for just $50 more we got a luxurious 2 bedroom condo with full kitchen, dining table for 6, large living room with fireplace, and a balcony. And, we were right in the village at the base of the lifts, not a couple of blocks away, with safe underground parking.

We did contact the management of the Olympic Village Inn via the service we used to book the hotel and we did have a full refund within a few days. The management is honorable and we appreciate them for giving us a refund. There was nothing misleading on the web site for this hotel. I just mistakenly assumed that any condo unit in Squaw Valley would be spacious and modern. Had I read between the lines on the TripAdvisor comments I might have got a clue that the Olympic Village Inn wasn't for us. When someone refers to place as "quaint," "60's," or says "I liked the nice touches like coffee filters and detergent," that should have told me that the Olympic Village Inn wasn't for me and my family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachWizard4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Upon arrival, I was greeted by very kind an helpful staff. The facilities and grounds were very peaceful and well maintained. No TS pressure. The room was adorable & quaint. Draperies could bear some cleaning. Slight smell due to cleaning products but easily remedied (open windows). Loved the Sony stereo. Very neat however noted some leftovers from previous occupant in shower (shampoo bottles/hair) on first night. Still, very beautiful location. 4 stars from my wife (attended a conference in Olympic Valley). 20 yard lap pool great for workouts (~80 degrees) and four hot tubs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classof78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Everything was perfect. The staff was very helpful and friendly.We had a beautiful view of the ski area. Free ski storage and shuttle were very convenient! The white bathrobes were a nice touch when using the jacuzzi and pools. The barbecue and dining area were really special.Walking distance from the Squaw village made eating and shopping fun.We would love to stay there again! The skiing was amazing for spring with record snow!

Room Tip: 2nd & 3rd floors have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dmangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The decor obviously dated back to the 1960's but the room was well maintained. We liked the little extras like free WiFi, coffee filters and detergent supplied, and a very quiet and restful atmosphere. We particularly enjoyed the one hour presentation by a local historian presented one evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pascoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.4 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
425 reviews
23.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
#4 of 5 in Olympic Valley
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Village Inn

Address: 1909 Chamonix Place, located behind Olympic Village Lodge, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Olympic Valley
Price Range: $122 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
90 Room guest suites all including fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom and living room, 2 flat screen TVs and DVD players, Direct TV, complimentary Wi-Fi. Seasonal activities including complimentary bike rentals in summer and outdoor pool and 5 hot tubs-year round, Winter complimentary ski Shuttle to Squaw Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olympic Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Village Hotel Olympic Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing